Queensland Government Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very strict work enviroment
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD17 March 2018
This one day i worked there with my school (the only day we worked there) everything was very strict what you could do what you couldn't that is too be expected with working with a government agency but i don't know the work place felt a bit of the chefs we had to work with weren't the nicest people but seemed very stressed themselves.
Pros
free lunch and work experience
Cons
no pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relief work in schools
Relief Teacher (Current Employee) –  Cairns QLD16 March 2018
Relief teaching pays well but often there is no work available at certain times of the terms. Older children can be very hard on relief teachers so it is best to be selective to what grades and schools you wish to work at. You need to come to work in the state schools with your own coffeee as they rarely provide it. Schools all have tuck shops. If you can apply to work in the Catholic schools you will find the work easier.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Difficult students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Majority of the day was just working, no extra's thrown in, normal breaks
Pick Packer, Richlands Distribution Centre (Former Employee) –  Richlands QLD16 February 2018
They were not fair with all staff, i.e if you were a favourite then you could do and say whatever. Most times they were good but they had ways to bring your productivity down by giving you orders that were impossible to complete quickly. I actually kept to myself and they didn't have anything bad against me which probably didn't help. The staff that were doing exactly what I was doing were a great bunch, obviously there were some that you wouldn't give the time of day to but on a whole I liked everyone, I just avoided trouble makers.
Pros
Free ice blocks on a hot day.
Cons
The warehouse was exceedingly hot with no reprieve to fresh air.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging professional environment
Principal Business/Risk Analyst (Former Employee) –  Brisbane CBD3 January 2018
Difficult to apply experience and theory even when required as staff do understand the complexities of the projects they are managing.
Management is poor and disorganized
Dumbing down complex topics such as Assumption Based Risk Profiling is virtually impossible as although management demand these activities they have no idea of what it means and the implications thereof
Pros
Reasonable working hours
Cons
Lack of professionalism by governing and managing staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paid to work
School Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Wellington Point QLD19 December 2017
The government is the government. It’s as simple as that. No doubt they would make the wage the legally required minimal if it wasn’t for the unions that fight for the rights of the workers. Not that they’d have many workers afterwards
Pros
Get paid
Cons
Have to work long hours and have to deal with unsavoury people
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the best enviroment
Cook/Kitchen Hand (Former Employee) –  Mareeba QLD23 November 2017
start at 7 prep for next day, start lunch cooking and desserts, I learnt how to manage my time efficiently to be able to get the meals out to their time schedule. was left alone to do my job once management realised I was capable to organise my offsiders and deligated the work where needed.The hardest part of the job was personal satisfaction of what I cooked.The most enjoyable part of the job was comments back from staff after their meal
Pros
good learning experience
Cons
not enough money
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, friendly atmosphere
Internship (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD17 September 2017
My internship was only for a week, but everyone was very welcoming and friendly when I joined. My manager was kind and understood that I was only a year 10 student at the time so she chose tasks for me accordingly.
Pros
Friendly atmosphere
Cons
Boring tasks
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 20Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Senior Service Planner (Former Employee) –  Brisbane13 July 2017
I worked for the State Government for over 5 years and loved every minute of it. I worked on a number of different projects in various roles, with staff who were very supportive
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Government Jobs
Receptionist/Administration (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD10 June 2017
Each office is different,
The job has great perks in regards to flexibility with hours, public holidays etc.
Great peers to look up to.
The temporary contracts mean you are always applying for another role
Pros
Supportive environment
Cons
Short term contracts
Was this review helpful?Yes 35No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A supportive, healthy work environment with a hard working, warm and engaging team
Project Officer (Current Employee) –  Brisbane Central Business District QLD2 June 2017
I am blessed to work in an incredibly supportive and engaging team of people who all work hard but always find time in their day to laugh and share humour and all engage with each other in a warm and friendly manner.
Was this review helpful?Yes 47No 13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environ
Community Recovery Officer AO4 (Former Employee) –  George Street Brisbane24 April 2017
There was no typical day at work and was primarily reactionary to members of the public in hardship.

The working environ was supportive and was never intended to be a long term role.
Pros
Good Pay Rate and hours of work
Cons
No future as was a temporary program.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with elderly people
Home Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Brisbane4 February 2017
Enjoyed making a difference and helping the elderly with there day to day chores around there home . I was fortunate to build trust and loyalty with my personal clients that I visited on a fortnightly bases
Was this review helpful?Yes 53No 23Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
security and work life balance
School Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Roma QLD30 January 2017
school staff is very professional. they treat me as an important member of the organization. My immediate supervisor is also fair in handling issues related to the job.
Pros
house allowance
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfactory
Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD31 August 2016
Contracted for one year to a Government Department called Queensland Civil and Administration Tribunal
Office Administration Assistant
A typical day at work would consist of Advanced Computer Skills Data entry skills team meetings book keeping and management directions from start of day morning meetings where Urgent and Non Urgent are determined by date
Pros
Multi-Tasking on a daily basis
Cons
Mountains of Work
Was this review helpful?Yes 80No 24Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great to learn
Legal Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gladstone QLD28 August 2016
Good place to learn about the law and progress into a law career, but I dropped law from university so it wasn't of much interest to me. I was a volunteer and did not earn anything.
Pros
learning experience
Cons
no pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 21Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy working as a School Cleaner
School Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD22 March 2016
I enjoyed working at the school and at Amberley Air Base. A typical day was mostly cleaning and preparing rooms ready for the next day. I learned a lot about disabled children/young adults. My co worker and I could work together when needed and also work independently. Hardest part of the job was having to leave. Most enjoyable part of the job was the interaction with the students and teachers and being satisfied I had done a good job.
Pros
Learnt a lot with disabled people
Cons
Watching the difficuty they had in just doing every day tasks
Was this review helpful?Yes 45No 29Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Casual Nurse Assistant (Current Employee) –  Townsville QLD10 February 2016
A Typical day at work is looking after the needs of elderly and mentally/physically unstable patients by assisting them with any daily tasks they require assistance with
such as
bed making
bathing
toileting
dressing
feeding
walking
moving
transferring- bed to chair/ sitting to standing/ chair to bed/
Pros
helping people who need assistance
Cons
the abuse and rudeness of patients
Was this review helpful?Yes 67No 24Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
School Based Trainee Administrator (Former Employee) –  Brisbane Central Business District QLD29 December 2015
I appreciated and value the experience of working in a such a big company. Staff are a very friendly and always understanding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 50No 31Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment with friendly staff.
Digital & Social Media Assistant (Current Employee) –  Gold Coast, QLD26 December 2015
This review requires 20 words minimum, please disregard this message.
One two three four five six seven eight nine ten eleven.
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 49Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst work culture ever
housing officer (Former Employee) –  inala22 August 2015
i am a very experieced housing officer and was treated real bad by coworkers and brought this to management attention they did nothing. basically they made me feel so uncomfortable until i made personal choice to resign#untapped talent going elsewhere.
Pros
430pm finish
Cons
work culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 194No 52Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Queensland Government. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 34 reviews
511
417
33
23
10

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture