Queensland Health Employee Reviews in Brisbane QLD

Found 55 reviews matching the search See all 200 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mediocre Management
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD14 April 2019
Poor leadership at the top, Teflon coated management, management culture is one of intimidation, inconsistency with enforcing discipline. Escalating bad toxic behaviour goes nowhere.

Most enjoyable part of the job is working with some very professional health professionals who are passionate, caring and look after each other.
Pros
Passionate health professionals
Cons
Poor leadership, don't manage toxicity and bullying
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Job Satisfaction
Endorsed Enroled Nurse (Former Employee) –  North Brisbane QLD31 January 2019
Handover from one shift to the next . Writing information of health status of residents and new medical treatment.
Organize escorts to take residents to different appointments or shopping.
Continue with all aspect of day living and wound treatment plus medications.
Sometimes help with doctors rounds and sending medications summary to Chemist.

I like to organize my day by prioritizing tasks by their importance follow by all the paper work involved.
Keep medication trolley clean, stocked up for the next team. All machines clean and available to be used in an emergency.

Workplace culture; Too much power given to the wrong people.

The hardest part of the job was death. To loose someone that I had a great friendship after many year of caring for.

The most enjoyable part of my job is to make a difference in people's lives.
Pros
8 hours with lunch paid
Cons
only tea and coffee provided
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyone is just a number
AIN (Assistant in Nursing) (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD7 January 2019
Hard work very high care nonsupport from management I enjoyed it there but staff are just a number never recognised for a job well done staffing was always a issue
Pros
Salary sacrifice
Cons
Hard work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fijne werkplek met veel variatie aan werk
Endorsed Enrolled Nurse (Former Employee) –  Brisbane, Australië30 October 2018
Een hele fijne flexibele werkplek waar ik jaren met plezier heb gewerkt.
Veel support van mijn managers en fijne collega's
Pros
flexibele werktijden
Cons
steeds verschillend team
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD24 October 2018
Queensland Health is a great company to work, all equal opportunity.
I learn't a lot of time management and being in a fast pace environment sure prepared me for future jobs.
I enjoyed working as a team and learning different aspects of the job, the environment was friendly and welcoming with so much encouragement.
Pros
Friendly workers
Cons
Absolutely Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nepotism runs in the government departments
Officer (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD4 August 2018
Overpaided incompton managers team leaders etc Dept can’t get rid of them so they just move them around.nepotism just encourages failure all round . The whole system is a failure because it never changes how to improve on addressing issues bullying etc if you are a target in the Govy Dept you are finished. They will believe what any one writes regardless if they can’t prove it.They are great on how not to address issues, managers with out skills cause major staff problems because they are incompetent.Casual pools are a dog eat dog mentality which I have seen totally destroy good co workers
Pros
Money
Cons
Toxic work place
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experienced with administration skills
Client Service Officer (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD30 April 2018
When i working as the client service officer with the MASS spectacles. I have worked client service officer doing general adminstration skills, such as answering phone calls and doing office job. During my work experienced have learnt administration roles and approving paper works and working with the team to perform with the most effective and efficient work for the clients.
Pros
Free car parking
Cons
working long hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Workplace Culture
PEER SUPPORT REHABILITATION WORKER (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD21 February 2018
Great working environment and great staff.
Excellent career development, great opportunities.
Some locations too far to travel to for some workers depending on their home location.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bullying very much apparant
Administration Officer (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD7 February 2018
Culture of wide spread practise of:
Ageism
Bullying
Lack of training of necessary skills to be competitive
or useful in other areas of facility
Loyalty - non existant
Overworked and Underpaid
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team, persistence and resilience required
Analyst Developer (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD28 January 2018
Government moves slowly. Ideas and improvements take a lot of time and energy to implement. Changes in leadership can scuttle much good work. Your team and immediate manager a will be your best support. The workplace is fun with the opportunity to apply for roles in different parts of the business. Everyone's experience will be different.
Pros
Flexible working hours and arrangements
Cons
Red tape. Risk adverse. Unwilling to move to far from the 'norm'
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Achievements
Administration Officer (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD21 September 2017
A typical day is focused. I have learnt tolerance when things do not go as planned. I have been a pivotal person in workplace relations starting with a cheery hello. Hard parts -management. Seeing people get to their optimum health.
Pros
one free lunch a year
Cons
working with a manager who is all about them
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work enviornment , with Respect and dignity
Mental Health Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD24 August 2017
I have good experinece to work there . I learn lot of thing like the professional's boundaries are important . The most enjoyable part i that you have freedom to work your own way but to follows the boundaries .
Pros
Participate in activities
Cons
Long shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Admin Officer (Former Employee) –  Brisbane Northside QLD25 July 2017
loved it, sorry i had to leave
great family life work balance, good packages.
great team environment
close to work, good social environment
open doors to managemengt
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Organization with clear process workflow
Medical Records Officer (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD18 July 2017
Working at Queensland Health is good and it has great amount of benefits to the employee. I learned about Health Information Systems and softwares. The work environment is great as they really promote respect to each other regardless your cultural background or race.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
depends on the department- highly specialised department still tends to bully outsiders
PAediatrics registrar (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD15 July 2017
-extremely busy, at times under staffed
-most enjoyable part of job is different people everyday- some days are enjoyable, some are not
-teaching sessions every week
-not far from eh tertiary centre - hence management is often very good
-hardest part of job is fairly constant evening and night shifts which disrupts health and social life style
Pros
free car park
Cons
isolated department
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Organisation with varied requirements
Biomedical Service Manager (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD11 June 2017
Typical day at work is very busy where multitasking is a standard requirement. Workplace culture is strong where all attention is focused at delivering best possible outcomes to patients.
Pros
Self satisfaction
Cons
Such a large and complex organisation, the finer details can become lost or mis managed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ever changing environment and culture.
Senior Technology Officer - Servers (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD18 May 2017
The ever changing environment and culture. Every day can be different and knowing you are assisting someone in many different ways is rewarding. Satisfaction.
Pros
Adding value to our customers.
Cons
Can be long hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meet people
Hospital Alderley (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD25 April 2017
Very busy assisting nursing staff with patients, transporting patients to appointments, and cleaning ward areas. Restored work usually seven days on two off seven on, four off.
Pros
Work environment
Cons
Parking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working enviroment
Consumer Acess to Tabacco Products (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD4 April 2017
Although I have a lot of bar experience there is no job security. I like working with people and bar work can be fun at times however drunks are another matter.

The hardest thing about bar work is not knowing how many shifts you get from week to week.
Pros
Great enviroment
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Day
Protective Services Officer (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD25 February 2017
No two days are the same, one minute you would be helping a person with directions to point in the hospital, then be wrestling with a violent mental health patient or a person who the ambulance service has brought in on drugs. As its a team environment we work very closely together forming a very close culture with each other.

The hardest part about the job is the inconsistency of management decisions, management culture is one of intimidation, inconsistency with enforcing discipline.

Most enjoyable part of the job is working with some very professional officers in the role, if one person gets into trouble there are others there to backup their team mates. Being able to help those in need as when your dealing with people in a hospital environment your dealing with people who are in pain, unwell, confused

What I have learn from my job is to not do what my current managers do, I'd be more empathetic to staff with issues, maintain open communication and confidentiality.
Pros
Great Team environment
Cons
Extremely poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Queensland Health. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 200 reviews
567
472
334
215
112

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture