RACV Employee Reviews

Found 22 reviews matching the search See all 25 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team leaders just don't care
Memberline consultant (Former Employee) –  Noble Park VIC25 May 2019
Worked here and had some health issues which saw me hospital for 6 weeks.
They were made aware of what was happening. Continuously asked for medical certificates even after drs had rang them to let them know as well.
No one ever called to see if I was ok in those 6 weeks.
Recieved bullying emails threatening me to come into work or I would be terminated.
Was even sent mail to say that they will be cancelling my contract if I didn't return to work on a certain date.
Ended up being pushed into writing a resignation letter whilst I was in hospital.
High turnover of people.
I worked most public holidays including Christmas day. Hit targets and had good customer feedback all the time..... this is how they treat a good worker.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Not understanding of health issues or even trying to contact to check in, Unless you're going to make RACV your life Then i wouldnt bother, Not enough room for progression, Wont let you transfer from memberline to roadside
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
SALES AND SERVICE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Victoria, Australia13 March 2019
Great place to work and lot of encouragement to progress further. Good workplace culture and most enjoyable part of the job was see operations of contact centre
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place with friendly environment
Data entry (Former Employee) –  Noble Park VIC14 March 2018
RACV is a hard working organisation with many people working for the company. I was able to meet some friendly people. The hardest was for me to stay at my desk all day long but after a while I got use to it.
Pros
Wages were good
Cons
Repetitive work
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance - not family friendly
Roadside Assistance Consultant (Former Employee) –  Noble Park North VIC13 February 2018
definitely a business that's micro manages

you also have to crawl up and be the call centre managers best friend for a career advancement at all - favors the young crowd makes him feel good about himself but they all laugh behind his back.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going through changes, great fellow workers, some excellent team managers
Call Centre Consultant (Former Employee) –  Noble Park VIC8 December 2017
Great people, good benefits. Increasing pressure, but still an excellent employer.
Extremely supportive during my wife's cancer and its terminal re occurrence
Pros
Benefits and fellow workers making a pleasant environment and good customers
Cons
A call centre
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Battery van: exhausting job
Battery technician (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC14 November 2017
Shifts of 14 hours with no breaks. They went down to 10 hours..
Constantly on the road and pushed by your boss to sell as many batteries as possible even when the existing battery could still work.
Culture is: if you don't sell enough, you are not good.
Most enjoyable part: when you (rarely) don't get calls from members, you can chill in a car park.
Pros
14 hours shifts = decent pay per day
Cons
14 hours shifts = tired on the road, risk of accidents and no time for personal life
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good stable company with opportnity to advance yourself
Customer Service Officer (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC23 July 2017
During my employment with rhe RACV, overall the training is good & ongoing, the job is detailed with a lot to know & learn, the company does set targets for the staff & pays according to the level that you are working at! If you looking for a career driven job, this could be an opportunity for you to grow, however if you are just looking to fill your day to take home a wage this job may be to much pressure for you!
Cons
Always opportunity to do overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad computer systems
Memberline Consultant (Former Employee) –  Noble Park VIC11 June 2017
Overall, good place to work. If you like strict KPI's and pressure from management, this may be for you. Computer systems always stop working, management is poor, and work environment has changed over the past 2 years.. not so much for the better!
Pros
good people
Cons
long shifts, management, pc systems
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, great members
Customer Relations officer (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC11 May 2017
Was a rewarding environment to work in as we were all striving to provide a great member experience in a greatly changing environment
My days consisted on 8hrs of member physical, phone and email contact and responding to current members needs and introducing potential members to the Club's varied benefits both locally and internationally
Pros
Member satisfaction
Cons
Long distance from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good apart from income instability
Room Attendant (Current Employee) –  Inverloch VIC18 April 2017
No real income security as only employ casuals unless management. Workplace is pleasant enough and work is fast paced and sometimes exhausting. Great way to get fit.
Pros
Work colleagues
Cons
No income security
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Last three years not a good place to work
Manager (Former Employee) –  Victoria30 March 2017
Was a good place to work until change of management. Such a shame for a large organisation with board members to not care what happens to a company like RACV. Under the rule of a new CEO and his management team the company is no longer an employer of choice for current staff or staff who have now left the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the right health environment for me
o Retail Sales (Former Employee) –  Melbourne Eastern Suburbs VIC4 January 2017
Not the right health environment for me, insufficient training with computer software used daily.
Position required high level of sales even though it was advertised as a customer service position.
Pros
Caring team manager
Cons
highly electronic environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Telephone consultant (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC2 November 2016
Very busy atmospher handling reservation on phone or counter sales, challenging work as I dealt with people of different back grounds, specially in a different country with limited knowledge of local language. Management was good and very helpful, and my co-workers were very supportive. Hardest part was to live away from home and family.
Pros
Free airline tickets, tax free salary
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driving instructor
Driving Instructor (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC18 July 2016
I have loved my work as Driving instructor and will continue doing this until retirement. I will do this with my own compony ODOS Pty Ltd.
Pros
flexible and autonomous work schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace, culture .
Collections Officer - Personal Loans (Former Employee) –  Noble Park VIC8 June 2016
Collection of overdue personal and commercial loan matters.
Management were great, co-workers fantastic and supportive.
Pros
Great incentives
Cons
Would have liked to have continued
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work placement at RACV
pastry chef in training (Former Employee) –  Melbourne, VIC9 August 2015
a typical day at work would involve, decorating birthday cakes for RACV members, preparing danishes, cookies and chocolates for functions. preparing any mise en place for lunch or dinner plate ups. as well as helping other pastry chefs, for example, weighing ingredients, preparing trays for production, making pastry cream, anglaise etc.
i have learned many skills from working at RACV, including being organized and how to work in a small space, plating up, simple cake decorations, production work, simple chocolate work and setting up buffets to look appealing
the whole environment was very enjoyable for me, everyone that worked there was so friendly and helpful, they were able to answer any questions i had i can honestly say there were no hard parts while working there. i honestly enjoyed the early hours and long hours i was there.
Pros
free lunches, relaxed environment, clean kitchen
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
24/7 call centre
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Noble Park27 July 2015
Working in the breakdown centre, arranging service calls and tows.
The last 8yrs working in the extra care department arranging extended benefits to members who had broken down in Victoria or any other state, benefits included accommodation, hire vehicles ,towing flights to get the member to their location or back to their home address.
Working in a 24/7 call centre can become hard when you are working over xmas and Easter breaks, plus working a rotating shift mornings, afternoons and weekends can effect your family life
Pros
discounts to RACV clubs & resorts
Cons
shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Sales assistant (Current Employee) –  Melbourne, VIC31 March 2015
Work involves serving customers.Understanding customer needs and offering products to suit.
I have learned how to use listening skills and recognising sales oppertunities
Good raport with any manager that I have worked with as well as my colleagues.
Hardest part of my role is being on the front line,and dealing with irrate customers.
The most enjoyable part of my job is being able to assist and resolve customer needs.
Pros
Local to home
Cons
Quiet location, not enough sales oppertunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
-
Co-op student (Current Employee) –  Melbourne, VIC13 November 2014
Great place to work
Fantastic people, fun and friendly atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 9Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours and lots of driving
road patrol (Current Employee) –  Melbourne, VIC10 December 2013
Its not a bad job but needs a lot of work as you deal with people all
day and night so that's the positive

you are your own manager and your own decisions are the ones you own there are no co-workers you are on your own Hardest part of the job is putting up with traffic and other drivers on the road

Most enjoyable meeting people from all different levels of society
Pros
self starting
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at RACV. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 25 reviews
58
46
37
22
12

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.4Culture

RACV Reviews by Location