Rio Tinto Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive swimming pool
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Driver NT7 June 2018
safety safe enviroment great work ethics i also have freinds and family that highly recommend working for this company i get along with everybody and thats the key to a great work place is that everybody gets along and gets the job done safe
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very pleasing place to work
Process Technician (Current Employee) –  Gladstone QLD17 April 2018
Safety is one of the biggest things and always improving the way safety is and identifying and introducing safety improvements and being one of the safest places to work in the world
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a demanding but enjoyable place to work
HR Systems Co-Ordinator SAP (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD21 March 2018
Rio Tinto provide a fantastic safe environment to work in. All the up to date technology is available to do your role. Great training and career advancement is encouraged.
Pros
Large company with career advancement opportunities
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
PA to Superintendent of Mining Department (Former Employee) –  Paraburdoo WA21 March 2018
Postion was demanding but was extremely rewarding. Management acknowledge positive changes that where made and implement for enhance the department.
People I worked with where all excellent and all worked as a team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work life balance working fifo
Project Execution - Project Lead, Cape Lambert (Former Employee) –  Wickham WA18 March 2018
worked at two remote locations within the business, company support for workers working remotely and always felt valued as an employee and leader of work groups. Only left business due to downsizing of work force and requirement to relocate to Wickham with family.
Pros
great work life balance
Cons
remote location
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thru the Looking Glass
Was subcontractor employed (Former Employee) –  Pilbara W.A7 March 2018
Gleaning Company 'Reviews', by existing employees, for possible access to employment, when I noticed this 'input' ; 22/02/2018 Mining System Technician, Mesa A. 'Productive Self Motivated'. Author of review, needs to check their grammar & spelling,or, just go back to using their phone, with spell checker!
Pros
better share prices than BHP
Cons
Don't optimise their/ THE resources
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mixed bag workplace
Senior Engineer (Current Employee) –  Perth WA24 February 2018
Good salary and great teams and people to work with.
Middle management very inexperienced due to many coming from a non professional background.

Next to no training and no career advancement.
Pros
Good market salary and teammates
Cons
Clueless middle management.. If you talk the talk you get promoted.. if you work hard you dont.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive self motivated
Mining System Technician (Current Employee) –  Mesa A Pilbara22 February 2018
I work on a mine site where i am the only person looking after the Rio Tinto interests in the Mining Systrm equipment.
So i am hard working self motivated.
Pros
No one looking over your shoulder
Cons
No one else to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work life balance & remuneration
Mine Planning Engineer (Former Employee) –  Robe Valley Operations5 February 2018
Great work life balance & remuneration but slower career progression. I enjoyed the work and the challenge, but difficult to move to a city based role from a site based role.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good steady job
Mine operator (Current Employee) –  Weipa QLD10 January 2018
It's a bit hard to explain because we hardly get training on other machinery due too certain rules they don't practice what they preach, and Weipa with the lowest paying mine but the high rent
Pros
Nothing good so far
Cons
New roster
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport

Want to know more about Rio Tinto?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
benefit where going but let down by management
Process Operator (Former Employee) –  Kununurra WA6 January 2018
Management needed to better in, on the job training and experience. The roster was brilliant 2 weeks on and 2 weeks off which they no longer have. Camp facilities were exceptional,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
Business Improvement Specialist (Former Employee) –  Brockman WA30 November 2017
Great company to work for with excellent salary and benefits. Corporate exposure helps you to increase your strategy and financial skills.
The workplace culture is good. Something to improve is the tolerance to non-native English speakers which makes difficult to these people to step up in higher positions (management positions) - this is the hardest part of the job.
In the minesite, and depending on the manager, there is a bias to judge sooner than later to introvert people - this is not welcome in a competitive environment like Rio. You have to invent jokes and just pretend to be extrovert - this is a success factor to step up (apart from your English skills).
Most enjoyable part of the job is that you have challenging objectives to reach which makes you exploit your skills and knowledge in a collaborative environment.
Pros
Company to grow professionally and personally
Cons
Not an inclusive culture, lack of tolerance for non-native English speakers
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production operator
Production operator (Former Employee) –  Yandi Mine WA19 November 2017
Good company to work for. Have a good safety standard. And look after theor employees. The work accommodation is first class and always maintained. I
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome team, Enjoyable work.
Heavy Operator (Former Employee) –  Newman WA4 October 2017
I was mainly working the Wheel Dozer. So typical day was travelling around the pit pushing waste dumps and then cleaning the face shovel floors. In between all that I hot seated dumb truck drivers so that they can have there lunch twice aday.
I learnt a great deal on team work. Operating the Dozers and dumb trucks.
Management were good and very understanding.
Workplace culture was pretty cool we all got along.
FIFO life and nightshift.
Great satisfaction on the dozers. Good pay. Made some awesome mates.
Pros
FIFO life, nightshift.
Cons
Pay, good team members. enjoyable work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment with lots of opportunities
Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD27 September 2017
An enjoyable environment within a large enterprise. The culture was inclusive with plenty of team building. Management was receptive to new ideas and very supportive.
Pros
Good work
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great industry to work for
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  WA tom price24 September 2017
Great company to work for. Safety is the most important thing and experience in machine operator is an excellent path to up skill your experiences. It was a great company to work for and they do look after you.
Pros
safety is number 1
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good stable and helpful place to work
Asset Utilisation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Launceston TAS4 September 2017
Good stable company to work for.
Work provided challenges over the 20 years I worked with them. A good variety of jobs from Project Engineering, business improvement and maintenance systems development and monitoring.
Pros
Support
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Technical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Pannawonica WA13 August 2017
I have been a contractor with the company at 2 different sites since 2014.
I get paid decently by the contracting company. But am hoping that will be put onnriotinto books
Pros
8 days in 6 days off
Cons
Taking a long time to be put on permanently
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing salary.
Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Karratha WA9 August 2017
The salary and benefits were amazing, it was my first taste of a high paying job, especially for my young age. But the work I was doing can get repetitive extremely quickly. Even though the pay was good, it was not the type of job I would make my career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Friendly place to work
Administration Officer (Former Employee) –  Nhulunbuy NT5 August 2017
My day consisted of typical administration work required for Gove Operations. A great experience working at the refinery. So many learning opportunities and abilities to move around the refinery to experience different areas of work.
Pros
Great people to work with
Cons
Living in an isolated town has it's disadvantages
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport