Play YouTube video button

Rio Tinto Employee Reviews

Found 233 reviews matching the search See all 688 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Featured review
Rio Tinto selected this as a representative review
Great company to work for
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tom Price WA16 September 2018
Wide array of clerical and administrative duties for FIFO and residential teams. Extremely varied tasks - travel, PPE, HSE involvement, reporting, etc

I learned what teamwork really is

Management is great, with a progressive attitude

Workplace culture is professional yet casual and inclusive

Hardest part of the job was probably trying to juggle so many tasks that related to people on rotating rosters. Required good use of personal notes and a sharp memory

Most enjoyable part was the camaraderie
Pros
Great place to expand skills and get paid well to do it
Cons
Mining and resources sector can be unstable
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, great work ethic
Technical Writer (Current Employee) –  Perth Central Business District WA6 April 2019
The staff are friendly and very helpful to each other and newcomers.

The facilities and outlook for everyone is continually monitored to ensure the best for every employee.
Pros
Great location in Central Park Perth (or out at the airport)
Cons
The coffee machine sometimes breaks down :-)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organisation to work for
Asset Health and Rotating Equipment Specialist (Current Employee) –  Perth Airport WA20 March 2019
Encourages work life balance, supports innovations. Provides clear pathway for career progression. Has opporutnities across the business. Can diverge into coal, iron ore, aluminium etc
Pros
Flexible work hours
Cons
High Pressure situations
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
From the time you land ,till the time you fly out it will do you head in !
Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Western Australia1 February 2019
Always watching your back from Knifes and bosses looking to better themselves by shafting employees.
Constant worry of losing your job, They ram safety down your neck 24/7 but its just Rio covering their backs with mountains of paper work which is not backed up by Management .
They are not really concerned with your safety , its the money it will cost Rio to look after you if you get hurt , and then to find another monkey to replace you .
Do it safely ,unless your on N/S and its holding up production , serious Incident's covered up in Best interest of Rio.
Major health and Safety issues ignored as would cost money which can be better spent on more production equipment .
Its all about the " Company making more Profit " { for the Directors and Shareholders } which is not finding its way down the line to the employee's busting their backs in the heat and dust.
Pros
Job for now
Cons
Everything written above and more
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good in the early days (2005) gone down hill (2017)
Fixed Plant Maintainer (Former Employee) –  Brockman WA12 January 2019
I started in 2007 with RTIO, very good company, good training and exposure to various equipment, lots of training, supported the workers and family. Sadly by 2017 very different culture, just a number, management more concerned about KPI's and bonuses than the working conditions of its staff (look up Brockman2/Nammuldi LinkForce strike, same management made its own people do the same for nearly 12 months) looking to reduce numbers of Rio staff on the tools, replacing then with contractors. Very high turnover of management (5 supervisors in 18 months, none with any practical experience) Hopefully this turns around and becomes the great place it once was
Pros
lots of training available
Cons
just a number, no career progression
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Happy to work at Yarwun
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Yarwun QLD7 December 2018
Good place to work, knew I plant inside out, enjoyed my job. Start out with the company without any competencies. Every roll I took on I was given the training to do the roll, there was always the incentive to better yourself
Pros
Time off
Cons
Working Christmas day
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked here for 5 years
Fixed Plant Process Technician - Marandoo Mine (Current Employee) –  Western Australia29 November 2018
Not a bad place to work although the management needs to be changed, I would recommend working here as a fixed plant operator, it gives you the opportunity to learn every part of the process.
Pros
Learn a lot on the job, small mine site, good camp, variety
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good culture
Serviceman (Current Employee) –  Weipa QLD1 November 2018
The work environment is good and the staff members are excellent to work with. Management are very organised and willing to train and help where necessary.
Pros
Fifo
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big company
Heavy Duty Serviceman, Advanced Rigger and ERT VC (Current Employee) –  Pilbara WA16 September 2018
Feel secure working for a big company but you do get lost in the system. Not many opportunities to grow with in a the company. They have put me through a few courses but not to any real benefit
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Drill Operator (Former Employee) –  Brockman WA12 September 2018
I loved working for Rio Tinto and with its employees, my only downfall with Rio Tinto was i became another statistic to infidelity while away mining and i felt i never really got proper support or understanding of what i was going through as an indigenous male working away but in no way shape or form do i blame Rio Tinto or any of its staff for my or others actions i take full responsibility for the outcome on which it was handled poorly by myself. In saying so i wish to become re-employed with Rio Tinto to become a success story to an unfortunate statistic that we where told in training before employment of such areas that mining life contributes to and takes a toll on.I believe if i do regain employment i can only further benefit the company,myself and help others in a like-wise or any unfortunate situation.
Pros
Good Co-Employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good An bad
Secondary break (Former Employee) –  Perth WA30 August 2018
Rio is a good company but some of there sites are not run to well with a few of there bosses they change things constantly An for ever updating there procedures to suit one person
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good money but its about the business and they let you know
TRAINEE - CERT II EGINEERING AND PRODUCTION (Former Employee) –  Weipa29 August 2018
Don't get me wrong I like to work here its good money great benefits but the truth is they shaft you compared to other rio sites. New people with no experience are getting paid more then guys that have been here for 3 years!!!!!!!!!
Pros
Easy place to work and make good money
Cons
management aint intouch with the groud floor
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe and friendly
Mechanical Fitter (Former Employee) –  Gove NT16 August 2018
Safe and productive work place Friendly and approachable
Beautiful place to live and work
Great community to live in
Great roster and leave
Easily the best place to live and work
Pros
Good roster
Cons
Extrem humidity
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You don’t want to know
Production Operator (Former Employee) –  Tom Price WA31 July 2018
Rio do yourself a favour and run!!!......they’ll chew you up and spit you out...your just a number to the greedy beast....the best part is operating large machinery, hours aren’t good, food at camp doesn’t rate a mention, management are only there to line there own pockets and really don’t understand the conditions the ground staff are working under.....shall I go on.
Pros
Leaving
Cons
Rio Tinto as a whole
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great roster and Opportunities.
Site Based Construction Rep (Former Employee) –  Karratha WA3 July 2018
Great opportunity in the outback of the Pilbara of WA. Excellent company to work with and loads of opportunities for growth and advancement. Great culture and people along with excellent locations.
Pros
Great Company
Cons
Mining DOwnturn
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cant speak highly enough
Operator/Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Western Australia2 July 2018
Just loved the Rio attitude, excellent people excellent sites, progression within the ranks is the norm...and the supervisors are there to help in any way and every way possible
Pros
Excellent sites
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive swimming pool
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Driver NT7 June 2018
safety safe enviroment great work ethics i also have freinds and family that highly recommend working for this company i get along with everybody and thats the key to a great work place is that everybody gets along and gets the job done safe
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Mobile equipment operator (Current Employee) –  Paraburdoo6 May 2018
Opportunity learn a range of skills, in particular, working with the latest mining equipment.

Have a very good safety record.

Enjoyed mentoring other operators both in workplace operations and mental health of FIFO workers.
Pros
Safe working environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very pleasing place to work
Process Technician (Current Employee) –  Gladstone QLD17 April 2018
Safety is one of the biggest things and always improving the way safety is and identifying and introducing safety improvements and being one of the safest places to work in the world
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a demanding but enjoyable place to work
HR Systems Co-Ordinator SAP (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD21 March 2018
Rio Tinto provide a fantastic safe environment to work in. All the up to date technology is available to do your role. Great training and career advancement is encouraged.
Pros
Large company with career advancement opportunities
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
PA to Superintendent of Mining Department (Former Employee) –  Paraburdoo WA21 March 2018
Postion was demanding but was extremely rewarding. Management acknowledge positive changes that where made and implement for enhance the department.
People I worked with where all excellent and all worked as a team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Rio Tinto. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 688 reviews
5236
4258
3136
230
128

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.2Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture