Rio Tinto Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Tom Price WA16 September 2018
Wide array of clerical and administrative duties for FIFO and residential teams. Extremely varied tasks - travel, PPE, HSE involvement, reporting, etc

I learned what teamwork really is

Management is great, with a progressive attitude

Workplace culture is professional yet casual and inclusive

Hardest part of the job was probably trying to juggle so many tasks that related to people on rotating rosters. Required good use of personal notes and a sharp memory

Most enjoyable part was the camaraderie
Pros
Great place to expand skills and get paid well to do it
Cons
Mining and resources sector can be unstable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Drill Operator (Former Employee) –  Brockman WA12 September 2018
I loved working for Rio Tinto and with its employees, my only downfall with Rio Tinto was i became another statistic to infidelity while away mining and i felt i never really got proper support or understanding of what i was going through as an indigenous male working away but in no way shape or form do i blame Rio Tinto or any of its staff for my or others actions i take full responsibility for the outcome on which it was handled poorly by myself. In saying so i wish to become re-employed with Rio Tinto to become a success story to an unfortunate statistic that we where told in training before employment of such areas that mining life contributes to and takes a toll on.I believe if i do regain employment i can only further benefit the company,myself and help others in a like-wise or any unfortunate situation.
Pros
Good Co-Employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good An bad
Secondary break (Former Employee) –  Perth WA30 August 2018
Rio is a good company but some of there sites are not run to well with a few of there bosses they change things constantly An for ever updating there procedures to suit one person
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good money but its about the business and they let you know
TRAINEE - CERT II EGINEERING AND PRODUCTION (Former Employee) –  Weipa29 August 2018
Don't get me wrong I like to work here its good money great benefits but the truth is they shaft you compared to other rio sites. New people with no experience are getting paid more then guys that have been here for 3 years!!!!!!!!!
Pros
Easy place to work and make good money
Cons
management aint intouch with the groud floor
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe and friendly
Mechanical Fitter (Former Employee) –  Gove NT16 August 2018
Safe and productive work place Friendly and approachable
Beautiful place to live and work
Great community to live in
Great roster and leave
Easily the best place to live and work
Pros
Good roster
Cons
Extrem humidity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You don’t want to know
Production Operator (Former Employee) –  Tom Price WA31 July 2018
Rio do yourself a favour and run!!!......they’ll chew you up and spit you out...your just a number to the greedy beast....the best part is operating large machinery, hours aren’t good, food at camp doesn’t rate a mention, management are only there to line there own pockets and really don’t understand the conditions the ground staff are working under.....shall I go on.
Pros
Leaving
Cons
Rio Tinto as a whole
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great roster and Opportunities.
Site Based Construction Rep (Former Employee) –  Karratha WA3 July 2018
Great opportunity in the outback of the Pilbara of WA. Excellent company to work with and loads of opportunities for growth and advancement. Great culture and people along with excellent locations.
Pros
Great Company
Cons
Mining DOwnturn
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cant speak highly enough
Operator/Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Western Australia2 July 2018
Just loved the Rio attitude, excellent people excellent sites, progression within the ranks is the norm...and the supervisors are there to help in any way and every way possible
Pros
Excellent sites
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive swimming pool
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Driver NT7 June 2018
safety safe enviroment great work ethics i also have freinds and family that highly recommend working for this company i get along with everybody and thats the key to a great work place is that everybody gets along and gets the job done safe
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Mobile equipment operator (Current Employee) –  Paraburdoo6 May 2018
Opportunity learn a range of skills, in particular, working with the latest mining equipment.

Have a very good safety record.

Enjoyed mentoring other operators both in workplace operations and mental health of FIFO workers.
Pros
Safe working environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 15NoReport

Want to know more about Rio Tinto?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very pleasing place to work
Process Technician (Current Employee) –  Gladstone QLD17 April 2018
Safety is one of the biggest things and always improving the way safety is and identifying and introducing safety improvements and being one of the safest places to work in the world
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a demanding but enjoyable place to work
HR Systems Co-Ordinator SAP (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD21 March 2018
Rio Tinto provide a fantastic safe environment to work in. All the up to date technology is available to do your role. Great training and career advancement is encouraged.
Pros
Large company with career advancement opportunities
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
PA to Superintendent of Mining Department (Former Employee) –  Paraburdoo WA21 March 2018
Postion was demanding but was extremely rewarding. Management acknowledge positive changes that where made and implement for enhance the department.
People I worked with where all excellent and all worked as a team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work life balance working fifo
Project Execution - Project Lead, Cape Lambert (Former Employee) –  Wickham WA18 March 2018
worked at two remote locations within the business, company support for workers working remotely and always felt valued as an employee and leader of work groups. Only left business due to downsizing of work force and requirement to relocate to Wickham with family.
Pros
great work life balance
Cons
remote location
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thru the Looking Glass
Was subcontractor employed (Former Employee) –  Pilbara W.A7 March 2018
Gleaning Company 'Reviews', by existing employees, for possible access to employment, when I noticed this 'input' ; 22/02/2018 Mining System Technician, Mesa A. 'Productive Self Motivated'. Author of review, needs to check their grammar & spelling,or, just go back to using their phone, with spell checker!
Pros
better share prices than BHP
Cons
Don't optimise their/ THE resources
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mixed bag workplace
Senior Engineer (Current Employee) –  Perth WA24 February 2018
Good salary and great teams and people to work with.
Middle management very inexperienced due to many coming from a non professional background.

Next to no training and no career advancement.
Pros
Good market salary and teammates
Cons
Clueless middle management.. If you talk the talk you get promoted.. if you work hard you dont.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive self motivated
Mining System Technician (Current Employee) –  Mesa A Pilbara22 February 2018
I work on a mine site where i am the only person looking after the Rio Tinto interests in the Mining Systrm equipment.
So i am hard working self motivated.
Pros
No one looking over your shoulder
Cons
No one else to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work life balance & remuneration
Mine Planning Engineer (Former Employee) –  Robe Valley Operations5 February 2018
Great work life balance & remuneration but slower career progression. I enjoyed the work and the challenge, but difficult to move to a city based role from a site based role.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good steady job
Mine operator (Current Employee) –  Weipa QLD10 January 2018
It's a bit hard to explain because we hardly get training on other machinery due too certain rules they don't practice what they preach, and Weipa with the lowest paying mine but the high rent
Pros
Nothing good so far
Cons
New roster
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
benefit where going but let down by management
Process Operator (Former Employee) –  Kununurra WA6 January 2018
Management needed to better in, on the job training and experience. The roster was brilliant 2 weeks on and 2 weeks off which they no longer have. Camp facilities were exceptional,
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport