RMIT University Employee Reviews

Found 58 reviews matching the search See all 63 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, good work life balance
Admissions Assistant (Former Employee) –  Australia28 September 2018
- Need to focus more on improving and/or add more critical course contents to truly become an outstanding university.
- Good compensation
- Good working balance
- Lack of advancement opportunities
- Convenient location: City center
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Open Day Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC30 July 2018
I learned a lot from this volunteer opportunity and make new friends. I feel very fulfilled and enriched. The management is quite good and workplace culture is very relaxed. The most enjoyable part of this volunteer job is that I convey some important information related to RMIT to a significant number of visitors and I feel it worthwhile.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
arrogant management
Senior Software Developer (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC28 November 2018
I have worked in 2 different groups where you will find arrogant managers who might differentiate people. I won't work there again. I hope things get better soon.
Pros
short hours of work
Cons
weak management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Still caught in the 50s
Office of Academic Registrar Group (Former Employee) –  Melbourne City Centre VIC17 January 2018
There are some fantastic people there. The portfolio I worked in lacked leadership from the top down. People management and professional development in particular was poor. The group did not exhibit the values it publishes. There did not seem to be a focus/commitment on where the organisation is heading.
Pros
salary
Cons
lack of leadership, poor people management, lack of consistency
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lot of pressure
PhD Graduate (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC28 February 2018
Lot of pressure
Not Australian type of Management
Good workplace, nice environment, good technical and IT background
Nice, kind, professional group of colleagues
Pros
Good work environment
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job experience as an international employee
Event Coordinator /Pilates instructor (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC9 October 2018
I worked at RMIT as a resident pilates instructor for two semesters during my year abroad in Australia. I loved the staff, students and environment. Would absolutely return and teach again!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and learn new things
Reception/ Admin Assistant (Former Employee) –  Melbourne City Centre VIC18 May 2018
got to learn and experience different cultures and at different ages.
the hardest thing about the job was to understand different cultures and langauges.
Pros
helping students
Cons
Travelling far distance
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RMIT Awesome Place....
DATA ANALYST/TEST CONSULTANT (Former Employee) –  RMIT Melbourne9 April 2018
RMIT... Great place to Study and Great place to work. It is a great culture and people are very friendly to every culture. I was a student who started working for the University and the warmth and firendliness to me and other working students made me love the place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personal Development
Personal Development (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC15 June 2018
I studied at RMIT, I found it a great opportunity, challenging on occasions so much so it called upon my internal core to be able to prioritise, think laterally to ask questions and challenge myself.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
education place
Student (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC12 December 2017
Good education environment. excellent staff with amazing teaching skills. good facilities. Good working culture.
friendly atmosphere. good management.
Pros
good education culture
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work with my colleague
Teacher Assistant (Current Employee) –  Melbourne City Centre VIC20 May 2018
It was fun working at RMIT especially its location where is in heart of the city. Most of the academic contracts are casual in which makes it hard to feel secure of the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vibrant and energetic work environment.
Library Officer (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC30 July 2017
A very satisfying work environment helping students launch their careers by guiding them through their learning objectives. A friendly and supportive culture with a professional focus.
Pros
Satisfying working environment and great energy.
Cons
Sometimes you might not agree with the direction, but the organisation is so big your opinion isn't valued quite as much.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So sad to leave RMIT
Administrative Services Assistant (Former Employee) –  Melbourne City Centre VIC7 April 2018
Every day was fun and a challenge, and RMIT helped me grow so much in my abilities and confidence. Always plenty of PD to undertake, and friendly staff, academic and administrative, and students with whom I could relate.
Pros
So many facilities, cafes, shops, New Academic Street
Cons
They retrencheed Admin Assistant roles (HEW4)
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment to work in
Executive Assistant to Director (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC25 March 2018
Hardworking team.
Approachable manager.
Great environment to work in.
Working with internal and external stakeholders; collaborating to acheive positive outcomes.
Striving for success.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very challenging work place
Teacher/Tutor (Former Employee) –  Melbourne City Centre VIC31 August 2016
Very supportive, fun and positively challenging work place. With opportunities for professional development and career advancement.With a good working culture.
Pros
career development
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fast speeding work environment
Leading technical officer (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC20 April 2016
Fast speed and busy work environment.
Great culture
Great management
staff are friendly
great benefits
continues learning and training
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job ever
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  RMIT1 March 2018
The people were great and I learned a lot from that experience. The students are lovely and creative. We all teach and learn at the same time. The best opportunity I have ever had
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyed working with my colleagues.
Coburg - Library Officer (Former Employee) –  Bundoora VIC27 February 2018
General library officer duties on a daily basis.
I have learned library procedures .
The most enjoyable part of the job was the variety of work and working with books and serials.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging place to work
TAFE Teacher (Former Employee) –  Melbourne, VIC8 July 2014
My typical day would start with checking emails and replying including preparing for the lessons I either have or will deliver in a day or two. Searching for the latest speeches and news can be time consuming and I always asked my interpreting students for feedback and suggestions on the specific area to focus in classes. My classes were inclusive and challenging for students as I believe learning environment should be that way. I also ran workshops with my colleagues, designed curriculum for core classes on note taking and interpreting techniques based on my extensive experience. I enjoyed attending seminar run by other professors in global studies but the downfall was long hours and work on weekend which had affected my work life balance. I really wanted to continue working in my position however due to TAFE budget cuts by contract was not renewed.
Pros
Free seminars and training
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
SNAP Champion (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC8 February 2018
Excellent workplace with a lot of great people. This job was really eye-opening, educational and fulfilling and I really enjoyed doing it. RMIT is excellent to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at RMIT University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 63 reviews
530
420
37
24
12

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture