RMIT University Employee Reviews

Found 63 reviews matching the search See all 68 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teaching experience
Tutor & Laboratory Demonstrator (Casual) (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC14 March 2019
Worked here as a casual tutor/lab demonstrator, which was a good exposure to the academic career. Was a fulfilling experience helping students with their practicals and assignments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focusing on more experiential learning.
Student (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC4 March 2019
Within my time at the RMIT University, I have enjoyed the culture of learning and community around it with several opportunity provided such as career advise and personal tutoring.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learned a lot but feel unprepared as a Graduate
Alumni (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC21 January 2019
I felt like the course was interesting and challenging enough but lacked a lot of comprehensive tutoring in areas in which some of us wanted to specialize in, also because there were less experienced staff teaching us.
Pros
Enjoyable and personal learning
Cons
Lacking in many areas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
arrogant management
Senior Software Developer (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC28 November 2018
I have worked in 2 different groups where you will find arrogant managers who might differentiate people. I won't work there again. I hope things get better soon.
Pros
short hours of work
Cons
weak management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Huge cooperation, lots of opportunities
Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC29 October 2018
Great university to work for. Lots of internal positions and opportunities to move around and up. A good mix of senior supportive staff the have been part of the university for many years and younger energetic staff with fresh ideas.
Pros
City centre so close to everythung
Cons
Expensive parking if you drive in
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job experience as an international employee
Event Coordinator /Pilates instructor (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC9 October 2018
I worked at RMIT as a resident pilates instructor for two semesters during my year abroad in Australia. I loved the staff, students and environment. Would absolutely return and teach again!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, good work life balance
Admissions Assistant (Former Employee) –  Australia28 September 2018
- Need to focus more on improving and/or add more critical course contents to truly become an outstanding university.
- Good compensation
- Good working balance
- Lack of advancement opportunities
- Convenient location: City center
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Open Day Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC30 July 2018
I learned a lot from this volunteer opportunity and make new friends. I feel very fulfilled and enriched. The management is quite good and workplace culture is very relaxed. The most enjoyable part of this volunteer job is that I convey some important information related to RMIT to a significant number of visitors and I feel it worthwhile.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personal Development
Personal Development (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC15 June 2018
I studied at RMIT, I found it a great opportunity, challenging on occasions so much so it called upon my internal core to be able to prioritise, think laterally to ask questions and challenge myself.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work with my colleague
Teacher Assistant (Current Employee) –  Melbourne City Centre VIC20 May 2018
It was fun working at RMIT especially its location where is in heart of the city. Most of the academic contracts are casual in which makes it hard to feel secure of the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and learn new things
Reception/ Admin Assistant (Former Employee) –  Melbourne City Centre VIC18 May 2018
got to learn and experience different cultures and at different ages.
the hardest thing about the job was to understand different cultures and langauges.
Pros
helping students
Cons
Travelling far distance
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RMIT Awesome Place....
DATA ANALYST/TEST CONSULTANT (Former Employee) –  RMIT Melbourne9 April 2018
RMIT... Great place to Study and Great place to work. It is a great culture and people are very friendly to every culture. I was a student who started working for the University and the warmth and firendliness to me and other working students made me love the place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So sad to leave RMIT
Administrative Services Assistant (Former Employee) –  Melbourne City Centre VIC7 April 2018
Every day was fun and a challenge, and RMIT helped me grow so much in my abilities and confidence. Always plenty of PD to undertake, and friendly staff, academic and administrative, and students with whom I could relate.
Pros
So many facilities, cafes, shops, New Academic Street
Cons
They retrencheed Admin Assistant roles (HEW4)
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment to work in
Executive Assistant to Director (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC25 March 2018
Hardworking team.
Approachable manager.
Great environment to work in.
Working with internal and external stakeholders; collaborating to acheive positive outcomes.
Striving for success.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job ever
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  RMIT1 March 2018
The people were great and I learned a lot from that experience. The students are lovely and creative. We all teach and learn at the same time. The best opportunity I have ever had
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lot of pressure
PhD Graduate (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC28 February 2018
Lot of pressure
Not Australian type of Management
Good workplace, nice environment, good technical and IT background
Nice, kind, professional group of colleagues
Pros
Good work environment
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyed working with my colleagues.
Coburg - Library Officer (Former Employee) –  Bundoora VIC27 February 2018
General library officer duties on a daily basis.
I have learned library procedures .
The most enjoyable part of the job was the variety of work and working with books and serials.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
SNAP Champion (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC8 February 2018
Excellent workplace with a lot of great people. This job was really eye-opening, educational and fulfilling and I really enjoyed doing it. RMIT is excellent to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at at the start.
Senior Manager, Service Assurance (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC5 February 2018
With the advent of many restructures over the past 5 years the morale and workplace was not a nice place to work in. Management do not provide direction or support in last 2 years that I was there. Not a nice place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Complex and challenging environment, with great colleagues
Senior Manager, Communications (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC24 January 2018
Working at RMIT brings you into contact with a wide range of amazing people with great stories to tell. It's also an issues-rich environment that keeps you on your toes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at RMIT University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 68 reviews
532
423
37
24
12

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.9Culture