RMIT University Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work with my colleague
Teacher Assistant (Current Employee) –  Melbourne City Centre VIC20 May 2018
It was fun working at RMIT especially its location where is in heart of the city. Most of the academic contracts are casual in which makes it hard to feel secure of the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RMIT Awesome Place....
DATA ANALYST/TEST CONSULTANT (Former Employee) –  RMIT Melbourne9 April 2018
RMIT... Great place to Study and Great place to work. It is a great culture and people are very friendly to every culture. I was a student who started working for the University and the warmth and firendliness to me and other working students made me love the place.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So sad to leave RMIT
Administrative Services Assistant (Former Employee) –  Melbourne City Centre VIC7 April 2018
Every day was fun and a challenge, and RMIT helped me grow so much in my abilities and confidence. Always plenty of PD to undertake, and friendly staff, academic and administrative, and students with whom I could relate.
Pros
So many facilities, cafes, shops, New Academic Street
Cons
They retrencheed Admin Assistant roles (HEW4)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment to work in
Executive Assistant to Director (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC25 March 2018
Hardworking team.
Approachable manager.
Great environment to work in.
Working with internal and external stakeholders; collaborating to acheive positive outcomes.
Striving for success.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job ever
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  RMIT1 March 2018
The people were great and I learned a lot from that experience. The students are lovely and creative. We all teach and learn at the same time. The best opportunity I have ever had
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lot of pressure
PhD Graduate (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC28 February 2018
Lot of pressure
Not Australian type of Management
Good workplace, nice environment, good technical and IT background
Nice, kind, professional group of colleagues
Pros
Good work environment
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyed working with my colleagues.
Coburg - Library Officer (Former Employee) –  Bundoora VIC27 February 2018
General library officer duties on a daily basis.
I have learned library procedures .
The most enjoyable part of the job was the variety of work and working with books and serials.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
SNAP Champion (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC8 February 2018
Excellent workplace with a lot of great people. This job was really eye-opening, educational and fulfilling and I really enjoyed doing it. RMIT is excellent to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Complex and challenging environment, with great colleagues
Senior Manager, Communications (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC24 January 2018
Working at RMIT brings you into contact with a wide range of amazing people with great stories to tell. It's also an issues-rich environment that keeps you on your toes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Still caught in the 50s
Office of Academic Registrar Group (Former Employee) –  Melbourne City Centre VIC17 January 2018
There are some fantastic people there. The portfolio I worked in lacked leadership from the top down. People management and professional development in particular was poor. The group did not exhibit the values it publishes. There did not seem to be a focus/commitment on where the organisation is heading.
Pros
salary
Cons
lack of leadership, poor people management, lack of consistency
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
education place
Student (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC12 December 2017
Good education environment. excellent staff with amazing teaching skills. good facilities. Good working culture.
friendly atmosphere. good management.
Pros
good education culture
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place with excellent research environment
Research assistant (casual) (Former Employee) –  Melbourne13 November 2017
It was an excellent experience to work as a research assistant in RMIT University. The laboratory staff and my supervisors were very supportive and helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting project, reinvogorating the CBD Campus
Project Officer (Current Employee) –  Melbourne City Centre VIC16 October 2017
An amazing project, delivering the New Academic Street redevelopment project to the campus community. New, brave and exciting a great team environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and energetic place to work
RMIT Connect Concierge (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC2 October 2017
in a typical day, I will greet and students and put them in ques to resolve any concern. If the concerns can be resolved with my assistance, then I'll do it.
I get encouragement and appreciation from my employer for doing a good job and get positive feedback too.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Makeup artist (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC13 September 2017
Being the makeup artist for RMIT University was a fantastic experience for me. I'd recommend it for anyone, whom wants to get great experience in makeup.
Pros
Great experience
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Student Mentor (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC30 August 2017
An excellent and successful environment to work in. A typical day at work involves helping students with the particular area that they are struggling with, answer questions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vibrant and energetic work environment.
Library Officer (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC30 July 2017
A very satisfying work environment helping students launch their careers by guiding them through their learning objectives. A friendly and supportive culture with a professional focus.
Pros
Satisfying working environment and great energy.
Cons
Sometimes you might not agree with the direction, but the organisation is so big your opinion isn't valued quite as much.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice enviroment - Profesional management
Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Melbourne City Centre VIC5 July 2017
Working during night sometimes can be hard, but cleaning for GJK at RMIT University is a good experience since I could show my skills and knoledge. I could teach others how to do things well, and how important is stay alert at every single detail.
Pros
Good payment - Friendly staff and supervisors
Cons
No smoko.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace
Research Technincal Officer (Current Employee) –  Bundoora VIC15 June 2017
Challenging and great environment to learn. Learned and improved a range of laboratory skills, which consequently improved my confidence not only at work, but in every day life too.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A really great place to work
Student Wellbeing Advisor (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC1 June 2017
Enjoyed the challenges working for a great institution such as RMIT. The role had me working with both local and international students and across various disciplines. My career path was planning, therefore the change
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at RMIT University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 55 reviews
528
416
37
23
11

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
4.1Salary/Benefits
4.0Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture