Royal Melbourne Hospital Employee Reviews

Found 30 reviews matching the search See all 31 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ICU Department best place to work.
ICU Equipment Technician (Current Employee) –  Parkville VIC1 May 2019
My bosses are the best. My bosses always support me and they always have comment to improve my knowledge. My work days are great I only 4 days a week as full time. Working 10 hours shift
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best managers I have.
Clinical Assistant / Equipment Technician (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC8 February 2019
Most of my colleagues are team players and it is a very good place to work. Royal Melbourne Hospital is the one I can recommend to those that looking for place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC4 February 2019
to learn how to be a good security guard it was the place to learn all aspects of being not a better guard a great guard it was always very different going to work each day.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Politics
Ex (Former Employee) –  Parkville VIC23 January 2019
Too much politics. Ego and gossips. Not a good job as a Support service. Management are very bad. Wont get much shift. Too many resignations all the time.
Pros
Near to public transport
Cons
Stressful work place
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exiting place to work
Food and Beverage Attendant (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC20 November 2018
meeting different kind of people from different cultures and background.
having extra lessons of the industry
learning new things every day
able to talk to everyone friendly staff
Pros
free lunches
Cons
double shifts and good pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bullying culture
Doctor in training (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC5 November 2018
Royal Melbourne Hospital has a terrible culture of bullying and discrimination when it comes to employees. They were ordered to do something about it and nothing was done. Reported it several times to my boss and only made things worse and then he chipped in. Gotacha moments, gaslighting, abusive language and personal assaults - you name it. The other docs on my level cop it too as well as the nurses. Just a disgusting place to work.
Pros
Pays well
Cons
Bosses that perpetuate the discriminatory and horrible culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steer Clear
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC5 August 2018
This hospital has a disgusting culture of severe bullying across all wards. There is no room to advance within your career. Many people I know who work there, do not stay on very long, and seek better alternatives elsewhere.

But hey, great salary packaging options!
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organisation
Finance Manager (Former Employee) –  Melbourne City Centre VIC6 March 2018
Great organisation where the management and staff are both exemplary and work in the best interests of the organisation as a whole. Highly recommended place of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Ward Clerk/Allocations Consultant (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC27 July 2017
Being an Allocations consultant is always challenging but is great. It's a job with good work life balance. All shifts were 7 days a week from 5am to 10pm and everyone worked on a rotating roster.
Pros
Great staff
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with opportunities for growth
Pharmacist (Former Employee) –  Parkville VIC22 June 2017
A typical day at work
Working as part of a team in an efficient manner

What you learned
Multitasking and prioritising workload

Management
Excellent communication with the pharmacy team

Workplace culture
Friendly

Most enjoyable part of the job
Opportunities for growth and development
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Public Hospital with good service
Food Services Assistant (Current Employee) –  Melbourne City Centre VIC15 March 2017
The Royal Melbourne Hospital is one of the most important hospital in Melbourne in health and research area. The salary benefits for workers are good and it manages a lot of privacy and values.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work friendly enviroment
Clinical /Food/ Enviromental Assistance (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC4 March 2017
I learn a lot being intern PHA in Royal Melbourne its very friendly environment their very helpful too us so we can make our daily routine enjoyable. The management is very approachable and helpful. Hardest part of a job went someone you knew being gone
Pros
free foods when you work in kitchen
Cons
some short some long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational, energetic and encouraging place
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Parkville VIC25 February 2017
Busy with different medical and surgical patients with various care needs
I have learned Australian nursing standards, leadership
Always supportive, empathetic and has cultural affinity
unity in diversity abides in our team
Its hard to answer patients and their families when surgeries are postponed for more than 2-3 times/days.
The enjoyable part is the challenge in caring for different patients with same surgery, but different outcomes, complications and recovery process.
Pros
ward celebration on occasions like-birthdays, weddings, baby showers and supporting each other in situations of sadness
Cons
irregular bed capacity fluctuation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Computer Clerk (Former Employee) –  Parkville VIC5 February 2017
Great place to work, friendly staff, kept busy as worked in a very busy switchboard, great manager always helpful. Overall great team to work with always helping each other when needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and varied
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC17 January 2017
At that time, starting 1989 the hospital was expanding and encouraging a new approach to achieving best patient outcomes. This made the Royal Melbourne Hospital a busy and dynamic workplace.
Pros
Great morning and afternoon teas, alas were withdrawn by 1997.
Cons
Constant changes, especially protocols difficult to keep up with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very pleasant
Ward Clerk (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC13 January 2017
Great people to work with and to work for, very understanding and supportive. I have been an employee for 4-5 months now and have had nothing but positive experiences at work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inclusive even though I was bank not regular staff
Pyschiatric Enrolled Nurse (Former Employee) –  Parkville VIC18 November 2016
Some shifts were more difficult than others as to be expected but always felt part of the team. Management were less approachable.
Pros
Friendly roster on staff
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel to conferences
Senior Payroll officer (Former Employee) –  Parkville VIC28 July 2016
RMH was a large organisation with a lot goinig on. I use to assist in running the RMH charity appeal for the little time i was there. Very rewarding
Pros
canteen
Cons
parking
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rmh
Ward Clerk (Former Employee) –  6SouthWest14 November 2015
data entry
monitoring patient status
receiving and delivering paper files
receiving calls and making faxes
co ordinating with staff such as doctors and nurses
friendly staff and patients are friendly and fun
hardest part is waking up in the early AM
enjoyable part is being able to contribute to a very busy environment
Pros
friendly environment
Cons
early starts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great training
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Nurse12 August 2015
good training, good location, good management. Great teaching hospital with good facilities. Public transport nearby and good opportunities for career development.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Royal Melbourne Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 31 reviews
517
49
31
22
12

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
4.3Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
3.9Culture

Royal Melbourne Hospital Reviews by Location