RSPCA Employee Reviews

Found 124 reviews matching the search See all 687 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So much fun
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD29 March 2019
I only started working here a couple weeks ago and I already love it, this volunteer position does involve a lot of cleaning but I don't mind because I get to give the animals a lot of attention.
Pros
Animals
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work environment and great place to get experience.
Retail Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Loganholme QLD8 March 2019
Low pressure workplace with lots of other positive coworkers. After cleaning up there's not much to do apart from wait for customers to show up. No pay but a great place to get experience - I was nervous going into the workforce at first but it's a fantastic place to learn how to work a till and interact with customers. You also get to play with the animals - what more could you want?
Pros
Interacting with animals, good experience.
Cons
Low work hours to begin with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Weekly Volunteering (Current Employee) –  Burwood VIC4 January 2019
The RSPCA is a great place to work and learn about animals. They are always willing to help volunteer learn and grow their skills. As an experiences volunteer I am given the responsibility to assist where ever needed.
Pros
Great staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Lonsdale SA27 December 2018
As a volunteer cleaning cat cages, assisting customers find their best suited animal, finding animal info & care info for customers - while all this is good hard work it's fun and rewarding.

You learn to deal with different personalities of both colleagues & customers.
The hardest part can be seeing the behind the scene care of abandoned or abused animals, as well as dealing with the heartfelt stories of loss some customers have as a reason for coming into the shelter to find another pet.
The best part of the position is getting to have cuddle time with the cats & to see the way animals generally make people feel better.
Pros
unconditional love from the animals being looked after
Cons
Physically demanding
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutly the best working enviroment
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Australia17 December 2018
This has got to be the best place i have ever worked at, i worked with the twilight team they were absolutely amazing. every shift was fun, and i loved how we all worked together. everyone was passionate and wanted to be there.
Pros
The animals and the people
Cons
wish i could get paid to do what i loved here
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteering with the RSPCA
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD16 December 2018
Loved Working there with the Animals, they are a fantastic organisation that really cares about what they do. Anyone with a passion for animals that wants to do this absolutely should
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
everything good
assisting people (Former Employee) –  Geelong West VIC14 November 2018
they were ok to work with, some were nice some were too stressed. Hated having to work on off hours. there was no car parking which made it difficult to be able to work.
Pros
learning new ways
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be in it for the right reasons
CUSTOMER SERVICE OFFICER (Former Employee) –  Fairfield NSW13 November 2018
This is a company that doesnt have a lot of money and therefore rely on people to be very passionate and love what they do. If you not in it for the animals then dont bother
Pros
create a life worth living for many animals
Cons
hard hours, low pay, sad place sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The opp shop.
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Marden SA28 October 2018
The best thing about the Rspca is the people I work with I work and the costumers I meet and interesting donations we receive. Also we are doing something to help animals.
Pros
The items of bric n brat
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
werty
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC21 October 2018
Voluntarily fundraised money by merchandising to the local community by door to door sales of
items and participated in the RSPCA Cupcake Day fundraiser.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer Position
Volunteering (Former Employee) –  Wacol QLD14 October 2018
I worked as a volunteer in RSPCA so I cannot state that it was a permament position with paid work. I do not know their salary for their employees as I was doing free voluntary work for work experience.
Pros
You have the priviledge to care for animals in all shapes and sizes.
Cons
There are none.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good bunch
Volunteer QLD (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD7 October 2018
yeah just a bunch of good blokes and chicks foing good things for animals keep up the good work legends. shout out to all them doggos and kittys out there
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great bunch of dedicated and friendly volunteers
BRIGHTON OP SHOP MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Brighton S.A.17 September 2018
Its so nice to work for an Organisation that raises funds to prevent cruelty to our animals all creatures great and small!!
In the Op Shop we have a variety of ages, cultures, experience and yes we do have some guys!
There are plenty of roles and jobs to do and most volunteers end up being able to rotate into the role that is most needed on the day.
Punctuality is important as is dress- closed in shoes and respectable attire is expected (no shorts, thongs, singlets etc)
Everyone is invited to contribute their ideas for store presentation, increasing sales ideas and streamlining any other processes within the Op Shop environment.
Pros
Friendly place to work -Percolated coffee and choc biscuits!!
Cons
Having to dispose of Rubbish that people have DONATED!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have experience with all tips animals dogs cats rabbits kangaroo and snakes and puppies
Work Experience female puppies and dogs (Current Employee) –  Wacol QLD8 September 2018
I have experience with all tips animals dogs cats rabbits kangaroo and snakes and puppies
Epilepsy
I feed them give them water and take them for run and walking every day and clean up the poo and wii
Vomert
Pros
Launch 12:00pm
Cons
36 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
animals
Administration (Current Employee) –  Wacol QLD7 September 2018
Helping the animals that needed it the most in the vet was the most rewarding. Doing the Ambo driving I did get to see a lot of this I wouldn't of in every day to day life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to start if you want to study in that field
VOLUNTEER (Former Employee) –  Wacol QLD23 August 2018
RSPCA is a great place to volunteer. They look after their volunteers and always express their gratitude. I learnt how to assist dogs with anxiety and dogs with special needs although that can be quite challenging and difficult at times it is really rewarding in the end knowing that you were there to help
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteering
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Great Ayton12 August 2018
I volunteered when I could and they were very flexible with my hours.

The staff were great and the training was very thorough even for volunteers.

I have no negatives about my experience. Enjoyed it.
Pros
Worked with animals
Cons
Cleaned mess
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great experience
Animal Attendant (Former Employee) –  Dakabin QLD29 July 2018
- Behaviour assessing
- cleaning pens
- Adopting Dogs and Cats to suitable homes


I enjoyed experiencing the RSPCA culture and most enjoyed adopting lovable dogs to new homes.
Cons
Low pay, Euthanasia
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Wacol QLD20 July 2018
Was great, great people and staff.
Got different jobs all the time.
Learn about different animals.
Would defently do it again, best 4 months of my life.
Pros
Learning to care for animals needs
Cons
Smelly lol
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rspca
Retail Volunteer/Animal Carer (Current Employee) –  Loganholme QLD26 June 2018
Working as a Retail Volunteer/ Animal Carer for the past few months has been a delight. Other Members are excellent work with, I find a lot of enjoyment in this type of work
Pros
animal interactions
Cons
volunteer work only
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at RSPCA. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 687 reviews
5388
4158
397
228
116

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture