Salvos Stores Employee Reviews

Showing all 101 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has its ups and downs
Shop associate (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC4 June 2019
The stress of having to deal with picky customers, stress of meeting high budget targets. Sorting through terrible donations and trying to deter customers donating rubbish. The thrill of finding something that a customer is after and making someone smile who has had a rough time. Some weeks have a lot of work as a casual other weeks can be fairly lean.
Pros
Everyday is different
Cons
Dealing with management and donations and some customers and limited staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wholesome, fun-loving working environment
Work Experience (Former Employee) –  Minchinbury NSW23 May 2019
Working at Salvos store as a volunteer had introduced me to the raw, beautiful, and kind community. It's an amazing and worth-while opportunity to take.
Pros
Amazing co-workers with high morals.
Cons
Lack of proper stock.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
taking breaks
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Keysborough VIC29 March 2019
Morning tea, lunch, afternoon tea breaks.
how to sell retail merchandise.
need to develop newer technology.
friendly staff, get along well
did not use any idea to be smart at work.
Pros
3 breaks in 1 day
Cons
Poor knowledge for being working smart
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly staff
Volunteer - 3 days per week for 6 weeks (Former Employee) –  Adelaide SA14 March 2019
Was good to work along side professionals. who were fully committed to providing the best for the community. Was good to her all of the workers unique stories and to have learnt from them
Pros
friendly staff
Cons
lack of support
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere, great people and a good cause
Retail Assistant (Current Employee) –  Baldivis WA6 March 2019
Firstly, its a volunteer position. So I can't say much about salary here. However the working environment is exemplary. The paid staff are genuine, nice and seem to enjoy coming into work.
Working at Salvos as a volunteer has been both rewarding and productive.The atmosphere is positive and you get a sense of genuinely helping the community, a real confidence booster.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and build new skills
CUSTOMER SERVICE PROVIDER (Former Employee) –  Parafield SA6 March 2019
I enjoyed working for Salvos . But looking for better job opportunities . I didn't see myself going anywhere in this business . They are very bossy with volunteers making them do a lot and not so much work on paid staff . I found this very rude .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Rewarding
Retail Assistant - volunteer (Former Employee) –  Logan Central QLD4 March 2019
My job is fun and very rewarding to see kids safe. It is very rewarding to know that I have done my job right and safely, while seeing a smile on the kids faces, morning and afternoon.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive employer with a great workplace culture and friendly, accepting staff.
Production/ Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Gepps Cross, Adelaide, SA24 February 2019
I enjoy working at Salvos Stores as I have a great team of people to work with.
My days are varied with many different tasks to complete.
The overall management of the store is fantastic without the micro managing of the staff,
I love helping people to find not only the necessities that are required but also the little treasures that we have in stock.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what i have learned
General Hand (Current Employee) –  Frankston VIC20 February 2019
working at the salvos I have learned so much
I have learned to
Taking donation bins in from the front to the back
Sorting clothes
Assisting with creating displays for store
Checking sizing of stock and returning to correct areas
Returning change room items
Customer service
Visual merchandising – setting up mannequins for store displays
Pros
grate working invorment
Cons
i dont get paid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Betrayed
Volunteer Worker (Former Employee) –  Kiama NSW20 February 2019
Never go here for anything. I worked here I trusted the people. They betrayed my trust and broke my heart. I'll never forgive Salvos for how I was treated. Don't shop here, don't volunteer here, just go somewhere else.
Pros
Making "friends"
Cons
The friends are a lie no one there really cares about you
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse and Positive team
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cannon Park QLD12 February 2019
Working at salvos was enjoyable due to the diversity in the staff. Members belonged to different groups and everyone had some great times and stories to share. However they did force me to do their religious activities even when I opted not too
Pros
Great staff
Cons
Forced religious activities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
retail good shop to get experience
VOLUNTEER PLACEMENTS (Former Employee) –  Mirrabooka WA30 January 2019
I enjoyed volunteering at slavos it gave me experience in retail, cash handling and face to face customer service experience, good people, good work ethics.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Volunteer Worker (Current Employee) –  South Nowra23 January 2019
No respect shown to volunteers by manager and female staff members. Over priced on almost everything they sell including furniture. Female staff member returning next week after being dismissed for bullying another staff member and reducing her to tears. Everything was covered up, even though the camers would have captured everything. These people think that it is a real army....but in fact its a sham.
Pros
Air conditioned
Cons
Everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice place to work
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kwinana WA12 December 2018
Good customer relations
Good management
Good employees
Was a nice place to work and i was sad that i had to leave because of a Health problem
Would go back to working for them without hesitation
Pros
Can set work times
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not enough management
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Adelaide SA3 November 2018
it is a good store but they don't have a good hygiene or the just do not care because the products are for free.. they should take the public health and safety into consideration
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fun
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Cleveland QLD29 October 2018
many people that are nice including the boss and staff, not to busy, it is really chill and calm lots of things you can do to keep busy, everything is a good price
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not volunteer here!
VOLUNTEER PLACEMENTS (Former Employee) –  Mount Barker SA26 September 2018
I was disgusted with my treatment as a volunteer doing work for the dole, the magement rude and threatening and told I was trying to avoid work by faking a back injury. READ MY FULL REVIEW at the AUEWU!
Pros
Interesting customers & stock
Cons
Poor treatment as a volunteer, good items thrown out!
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and boring at the same time
Helper (Current Employee) –  Perth WA11 September 2018
Well I have had work experienced here again because my uncle says we came here for a better life and I have learned so much working with him. I like working here because the people just made me feel welcomed and they work as a team work and I love that I love seeing people support each other because where I came from my family support each other and I loved working there
Pros
Free breakfast
Cons
8 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Please read below
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC9 September 2018
Store managers must meet monthly sales targets and all levels of management from store level as well as area managers, regional managers etc,all the way up to CEO receive monthly bonuses if sales targets are met. Never attempt to speak up about any dishonesty within senior management as you will be immediately DELETED from this organisation.
Pros
There are some beautiful retail assistants as well as volunteers who are very genuine.
Cons
Please read review
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
top heavy
Senior Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Noble Park North VIC3 September 2018
assisting the disadvantaged in our community. Raising funds to assist underprivellledged kids and the homeless. Supply of donated furniture items to Salvo Stores
Pros
job satisfaction
Cons
extremely under resourced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Salvos Stores. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 101 reviews
541
431
318
24
17

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
2.6Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture