Skybus Employee Reviews

Ratings by category
3.3Pay & Benefits
3.0Job Security & Advancement
Found 9 reviews matching the search See all 10 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work ethic easy to get alomg with everyone that works there
Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC12 November 2019
Excelent place to work highly reconmend any one who is after a job with many options for diffrent shifts & rosters available over time if you like to work, as well as working part time , casuel or full time. Great variety of work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place I have worked
Visitor Host (Former Employee) –  Melbourne Airport VIC15 October 2018
The company is cut throat with staff and there is a high turnover and not the best culture. As a visitor host you work outside in all sorts of terrible weather. The work load is really insane, constant flow of customers, especially at southern cross. The pay is kind of average, slightly on the lower side considering the job and what other companies pay. Some customers have little respect and are really rude. Management only care about the customer experience and not staff or company morale which is really low. All front line staff are over worked, everything is literally scheduled to the second, which isn't a bad thing but can be challenging and what I especially dislike is the expectation that you are expected to be there 10 minutes early before your shift and if you aren't others will report to management you're not there, also got yelled at by a manager for not being on time, even though I was 3 minutes early... the role is very repetitive and the only positive thing it can think about this job is you get to interact (very very briefly) with a lot of different types of people who are customers. Probably some of the most diverse customers you could imagine for any company but I enjoyed that. But did come with a lot of challenges with people having all different types of expections and different ways of doing things. When customers constantly run towards you several times a day and they miss the bus and ask you why you couldn't hold it for them gives you anxiety, most of those customers don't even have a ticket either so you have to send them back to the ticket office. The  more... ticket office is so badly located at terminal 4 so every customer asks you where it is while at the same time managing the inflow of buses on the radio and scanning tickets. The signage giving information towards taxi rank and car park is poorly located so you have non customers come to you ask you questions about the airport. Also as a non smoker, there are a lot of smokers who smoke around the bus stop constantly and to make things worse the airport took all the signs down that said "no smoking" if management cared about staff wellbeing they would be more firm with the airport about such issues but they really don't care. No sunglasses are allowed outside either even on bright sunny days. And worst of all is all the fumes from being on curbside. Most of the colleagues aren't too bad, most of the vistors are completely stressed out, ticket sales get asked the same questions you need a lot of patience for that role. The bus drivers are a mixed bag, some of them are really great and super friendly, others are a bit gross and bossy.  less
Pros
Lots of work if you want it, free car parking and uniform
Cons
Terrible company culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 20NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and customer service team are great
Customer Service Officer (Former Employee) –  Australia15 July 2018
The people l work with were very good because we worked as a team. Customers can be very rude but l looked at it as they must to tried from flying. I did meet some wonderful customers while working there. We needed to know a lot of information about buses, trams, train service and also what was happening in Melbourne.
The management got to do there job and i know that it would be hard. This company run 24hours a day so you find that there is no support if your doing afternoon shift.
You do shift work so your changing form day shift to afternoon shift every two weeks and sometimes you could on a 6.30pm finished and your next shift start at 6.00am so you dont have a lot of time for family.
I love meeting people and hearing about there travel, I met a lot of interesting people and also learning about their country and culture.
Pros
Sometimes they do free lunch
Cons
it was a 24 hour company and it was shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Tullamarine25 May 2017
Used to be a great place, now new profit obsessed management headed by a car salesman. Staff leaving in droves. Drivers pushed to the max, customers rushed through quick as possible. Times shaved to the second. Like it or be sacked on the spot like so many before you.
Pros
Great new buses
Cons
Lousy roster, greedy management, substandard conditions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 35No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy environment with nice customers
Customer Service Officer / Concierge (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC22 October 2016
Giving assistance to Customers / passengers with general information about the business and how it operates.
The co-workers are very helpful and caring.
Pros
free car parck
Cons
working out side - summer, winter
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
life balance
Customer service - selling bus tickets (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC6 April 2016
a typical day at skybus was selling tickets and helping customers around the city or airport.
i learnt alot of cultural diversity.
management was good
co workers i never had a problem with
the hardest part of the job was understanding people
the most enjoyble part of the job was meeting alot of different people
Cons
shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 8Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice work place good people
Bus driver (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC30 October 2015
Was driving bus loved what i was doing i was one of the leading drivers there i was working in the long team car park but moved to the gold coast for a new start.
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 28Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work place.
Driver (Former Employee) –  Melbourne, VIC18 June 2013
Most of the time it was a clean friendly place to work at. Middle management tried there best to help you out, regarding any queries you had,,the co-workers went out of there way to help each other out if required. the hardest part of the job was, trying to stick to the time table during peek, the most enjoyable part of the job was having a cuppa with co-worker and middle management before and after the shift.
Pros
clean and friendly, great coworker, teriffic middle manament
Cons
iregular shifts eg. eairly morming 3 days 2 days late afternoons 1 day off then back to the morning.
Was this review helpful?Yes 35No 8Report

See more Skybus reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Skybus. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 10 reviews
52
44
31
22
11

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
3.1Culture

Skybus Reviews by Location