Spotlight Employee Reviews

Found 168 reviews matching the search See all 190 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bullying, unreasonable expectations
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Springfield QLD8 August 2019
Literally saw a manager tell another staff member she was dead to her because the staff member had called in sick. They pick on uniforms of team members they don’t like while ones they do like get away with dressing inappropriately. They severely understaff counters and put employees under a lot of stress, even without taking into consideration the bullying
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Manager
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  West Gosford NSW4 August 2019
not an enjoyable job, horrible management team that cant write rosters and forget to give work to people. a typical day is understaffed and you have to work eight peoples jobs at once
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i have alot of fun when i do my work experience in spotlight the workers was nice,
Retail Sales (Former Employee) –  Campbelltown NSW23 July 2019
I have a lot of fun when I was in spot light for some reason I was there for just work experience in there but I would like to have a job there again cause the workers was so nice
Pros
to be honest i dident get free lunches cause i wsa working there it was just a work experience
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced retail environment with a lot of diversity
Casual Team Member (Former Employee) –  Cannington21 July 2019
If you like working in a fast paced environment, thinking on your feet and are able to work across a broad range of areas this would suit you. If you have some type of creative or crafty background or experience in homewares, etc that's a bonus as it will help you assist customers better.
Pros
You are never bored, everyday is different
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive days always something to do & serve customers
Team leader / part time sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Taree NSW19 July 2019
During the day alway service to customers main priority! but also other duties tidy stock move stock around for sales & to fit new products . Although have nightfill also to do some of this
Learn new stock & product . Some manger work more on the store floor than others .
Friendly most staff

Hardest part is running out of time to finish jobs to do
Most enjoyable is helping customers to get all the products they need to complete the project they are going to make , And love when they bring it in to show us there finished projects
Pros
Staff discounts great staff to work with
Cons
Not enough time to complete tasks as well as service customers but love my customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
craft (Former Employee) –  Parramatta NSW16 July 2019
develop some team work
good workplace culture, supportive staff
celebrating events,having good time with staffs.
friendly with new employee.
good supervising service and etc.
Pros
good
Cons
good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Perth WA16 July 2019
They were a good company to work for, hours were a little to come by but the team was excellent and the managers were very helpful and training was excellent.
Pros
exciting place to work
Cons
lack of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What a great Australian success story
General Manager - Sales & Marketing (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC13 June 2019
Spotlight are a great organisation to work in and the owners are wonderful people. Lots of amazing people throughout the whole organisation. No two days are the same which is always fun!
Pros
Location of Head Office
Cons
Not too many
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Spotlight Review
Talent and Leadership Specialist (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC2 June 2019
It a a great company to work with. I am fortunate to add value in my current job. A nice employee experience. It is a fixed term contract hence looking out for a permanent job elsewhere.
Thank you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security is good, friendly staff
Customer service and point of sale systems (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC29 May 2019
I really enjoyed my time at Spotlight, management could be improved but overall a good environment to have experience in. I loved that the work place was so versatile and was able to teach me so many skills from working in different departments of the business.
Pros
Free food, friendly staff
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was really bad
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Wetherill Park NSW13 May 2019
Worst company i have worked yet
the management was really bias and they will not train new staff instead they will forced them to work like labor like my first shift they gave me all the heavy lifting without any training at all
Pros
nothing
Cons
No Respect
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly team, though very unorganized
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Penrith NSW9 May 2019
The typical day at spotlight was great. I learnt more customer service skills, the management was alright & workers were friendly.

There wasn't really hard parts of this job it was great work, and the most enjoyable part was serving customers and helping them with their needs
Pros
Friendly staff, learning about materials.
Cons
not that many shifts, Management wasn't that responsive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Retail Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mount Druitt NSW6 May 2019
It was tough for me at first but I got the hang of it sore feets for standing to long and walking but it was WORTH IT. I had a good experience and my abilities in working retail is amazing and good for you to always keep that energy and positive vibe out there
Cons
9am to 2pm
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at Spotlight
Customer Service Consultant (Former Employee) –  Belrose/Queanbeyan1 May 2019
A typical day in my roles in Sales at Spotlight would be characteristically busy. I could be required to be deployed to another section of the store to assist a customer. Therefore I have to have a sound knowledge of all the stock; not just the stock in my department - Furnishings. My usual tasks comprise assisting customers in a timely manner as efficiently and quickly as possible. This requires me to often provide advice as the color and style selection and the ability to cut fabric accurately as well as calculate measurements for curtain making. Additionally, I have to provide advice re sizing for Ready made curtains as well and knowledge about fabric choices. I also assist with Tracks and Accessories necessary for window coverings e.g roller blinds, vertical blinds, eyelet curtains etc. I also take down particulars for customer orders and enter the information on the company website so it can be ordered over the internet. I then record the information manually to it can be tracked by other colleagues in my absence. I process all sales atthe Point of Sale terminal. The job is varied and always busy. There is constant tidying to be done and stock management such a removing all deleted products from the floor. I have to process Lay By payments and make sure it is all labelled correctly. I have to also organize Stock Transfers to other stores in the Spotlight company over the internet and keep a manual record. The most important task is to assist the general public so they can get what they require promptly and leave feeling satisfied with the service they have  more... received.  less
Pros
Friendly staff and able to be "yourself" as long as you do an excellent job.
Cons
can be very very busy when short staffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Resett (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD23 April 2019
was a fun workplace. management needs some work within the place. long hours, lots to do but worth when your work was noticed. lovely staff. always willing to help.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable workplace. Customers and Employees are always friendly
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC8 April 2019
A typical day would be finding products no one could find and asking for spotlight cards as they were paying for items.

I learned so much about a lot.
Fabrics, materials, tools etc. they have it all.

The staff are all very creative so that element brings a cool atmosphere.

Hardest part would be dealing with unduly customers. Everyone wants a discount or a refund and lots of people steal.

The most enjoyable parts are when you find the exact item someone is looking for when all hope appears to be lost.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mackay QLD4 April 2019
spotlight is a great workspace where the coworkers feel like family the environment is always fun and enjoyable. although the management system is flawed the pay is great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont really care about staff
Customer service (Current Employee) –  Rutherford NSW2 April 2019
i have worked there for over a year now and have found that although i awlays go above and beyond at work and always turn up, stay for extra hours without being paid, they dont wan to give me shifts
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Spotlight warehouse management
Senior SAP Supply Chain Consultant (Former Employee) –  Laverton VIC17 March 2019
This project involved the warehouse management elements of SAP retail. This was a challenging project as we used customer and merchandising driven goods distribution with X-docking in the design.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management and unsafe work environment.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mount Gravatt QLD14 March 2019
I worked at Spotlight for 3 years, for the first 2 years I was treated with respect and kindness etc, however, once the store went under new management the environment changed. Each staff member was treated with disrespect, the manager was unprofessional in terms of the use of his language (using profanity, especially in front of the 14 year olds), his tone, his lack of basic kindness. Each day you went to work, you wouldn't know if he would be in a bad mood or a horrible mood, if it was a bad mood the rest of your bad would be spent being treated as less of a human.
He would put people in roles and not teach them how to do said role. Over the first few month to a year, more than 10 employees, not just casuals but also part timers and full timers left this spotlight store because of him.

The store went to down hill when he started and not just employees would tell you this, customers have been vocal about this as well. He only cared about the figures, not about the employees making the sales, he doesn't understand that to do your best with the figures you need to have a happy team, good team moral.

However, the coworkers on the shop floor are lovely and supportive people and show be commended for staying at that place. I was a hard working employee and my management before him always said so, they wanted me working everyday for as long as I could. Towards the end of my employment with spotlight, before I quit, I was treated with so much disrespect, however, I still did the most I could while I was there and always completed what needed to be done. The job made me
  more... miserable, going in was the worst part of my day, the only goodish days where when he wasn't there.

I started as a casual sales assistant and ended as a part times dock supervisor.
  less
Pros
Good sales team
Cons
Worst management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Spotlight. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 190 reviews
543
468
348
216
115

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture