Strandbags Employee Reviews

Found 67 reviews matching the search See all 79 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team to work with, fun environment and challenging but rewarding work.
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Baldivis WA14 January 2019
I enjoyed working for strandbags as I worked with great people and the environment was amazing. I also enjoyed how busy it kept me. My manager was patient and understanding and fair.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst workplace EVER!
Casual Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC30 September 2018
This is one of the worst companies I have ever worked for. Shifts are meant to be based on sales and yet they aren't and are just given to the women who are friends with the manager. Upper management is useless! They never care about anything until you don't make budget and then they make sure to call and tell you how disappointing you are and how you must not have tried hard enough. The store rooms are unsafe as they are way overstocked and never organised properly. I hurt myself numerous times and made incident reports and not once did the regional or manager ask if I was ok. We were treated like slaves and given numerous unrealistic tasks and high budgets to do during a 3 hour shift and if they aren't done by the end of shift we lose hours the following week. Its made harder by casuals having to compete for sales and some resorting to bullying tactics and stealing sales in order to make their budget. There is so many more things wrong with this company but I will stop there. All in all I would never recommend working here to anyone!
Pros
40% off full price stock
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 26NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Retail Assistant (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW20 July 2018
- Meeting KPI's and conversion rates
- 100% Customer Service
- Happy and fun work atmosphere
- Great staff benefits and rewards
- Social interactions with staff and customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 9Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average retail job
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Carindale QLD20 June 2018
This job is okay. The pay is average, and there are basically no bonuses unless you're a manager. There's not really any job stability as the only permanent positions are management. KPI pressure is pretty high given there's no rewards - only the punishment of losing hours if you don't make targets. Hard to progress in the company too - a lot of outside hires for management positions.

Not a bad job for a student but wouldn't consider it a career move.
Pros
Fun to talk about travel with luggage customers
Cons
No progression/benefits/stability
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing work place
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Perth WA14 May 2018
Strandbags was a wonderful company to work for,
Realistic targets, paid bonuses, area manager was absolutely fantastic! Paid Staff training sessions, they want you to be your best!
Great computer system little room for error.
Started as a casual and made my way up to store manager.
Fast paced work environment, always something to do and new things to learn!
Pros
Bonuses, great discounts, awesome team environment
Cons
No holidays over Xmas
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 9Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace
Salesperson (Former Employee) –  Mirrabooka WA5 April 2018
Customer service
teamwork
problem solving
cash handling

Great friendly, productive team. Great experience, Great Company.
I learnt a lot here and carry many skill with me for the future.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall not very good
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Brisbane Airport QLD16 March 2018
Management is terrible, regional managers or a particular one is a nightmare, unreliable, untrustworthy, childish and plain rude. No respect for casual staff. As for the general manager some like to pick and choose, rosters are supposedly based on KIP’s which is not the case as it is who she favours the most regardless of the amount of work they or others do. I would not reccomand.
Pros
40% discount off full priced items
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly competetive workplace due to budgets needing to be met to get shifts
Casual Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Campbelltown NSW3 March 2018
I worked at Strandbags for just over two years. When I began, budgets were reasonable and from that, I was not stressed at work about getting shifts as I could make my budget. As time went on, budgets went up, competitiveness between staff increased and stress increased to make budgets. No benefits for making budget. Only trouble from upper management if you were unable to make budget.
Good discount on stock, poor OH&S requirements due to overstocking in the back room and not enough space.
Pros
Discounts, varied shifts, reasonable pay
Cons
Sales focused, competitive workplace, under appreicated
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible people skills in upper management poor culture
Previous store manager (Former Employee) –  Nsw20 February 2018
Not a happy environment bullying tactics from upper management poor people skills & unprofessional
high & unrealistic targets & expectations
no support don’t believe in team focus is on individual
Pros
None
Cons
Unhappy demeaning culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible people to work for.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Perth WA27 January 2018
These girls are so nice to your face, but then say horrible things about you behind your back. Doesn't give you enough training and expects you to know everything. Not enough hours.
Pros
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 29No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of effort put in and not appreciated for your efforts
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Melbourne Eastern Suburbs VIC5 December 2017
This company has a lot of potential of being a good place to work for,If they took the time to appreciate their staff and get a manger who new their products and how to work as a team . It would put less pressure on people ,relying on other staff members to train and do their own job
Pros
Learnt alot about products
Cons
not appreciated for all the hard work you put in .
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opportunity
Retail (Former Employee) –  Dubbo NSW20 November 2017
Working at strandbags was good. I learnt quite a lot whilst my short period of working there. I was able to work individually at times which gave me confidence that I was capable of doing the job unsupervised.
I found it hard though when it came to busy times in the store as we were required to be store security as there was no security provided.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in strandbags
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW1 November 2017
Absolutely loved working in strandbags. everything from the work itself, my co workers, the atmosphere and even sometimes the customers, i felt at home when working at strandbags and had the respect from my boss and 2nd assistant. i was constantly praised for my work with enabled me to excel higher.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy sales environment which is balanced with an awesome team
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Perth WA23 October 2017
Exceptionally busy sales environment
I have learned of the importance of multi-skilling, KPIs and sales focus, customer service and boundaries at this workplace
Relaxed but professional management
Supportive and team
Pros
Great team of people, Flexible hours if you are a student, Management is professional
Cons
Shop is too small/crowded, High staff turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a good company
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Whitfords Beach WA4 October 2017
This company was goid to work for i had not to many issues only with some staff due to bad attitude but other than that fine. I wish they really learned to value there team
Pros
I had great staff
Cons
No communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bully manager
Retail Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Adelaide SA16 August 2017
the ladies i worked with were great and it was such a great environment until the bully manager comes in. worse is the regional manager knows about all these but didn't do anything about it. just as bad
Pros
great workmates
Cons
bully manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 51No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive with high expectations
Manager (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD11 August 2017
Well suited to a wide range of people including parents. Lots of training and support to attain high expectations. As usual with retail, restrictions on holidays during peak times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unrealistic expectations
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW14 July 2017
The lowest income
Unrealistic expectations
Impossible to complete tasks in time given
Regional Managers don't answer phone or return calls
Head Office over staffed
No H R department for staff issues
Pros
None
Cons
Huge amount of your own time used to keep store to company expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place
Casual Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Glen Waverley VIC5 July 2017
Very busy shops,customer driven business,physical work due to heavyweights (unpacking boxes with nested luggage)
Friendly staff,casual positions only,lot to learn on the job,once a year staff training.
Was this review helpful?Yes 29NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Pace Environment
Senior Sales Assistant, Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Casuarina NT26 June 2017
High demanding work place, decent salary, good work advancement if you are willing to commit. Long hours but you will be working at a friendly environment..
Pros
good staff discount
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Strandbags. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 79 reviews
524
421
318
25
111

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture