Sushi Train Employee Reviews

Ratings by category
Found 17 reviews matching the search See all 24 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive work place
Waiter (Former Employee) –  Cairns Orchid Plaza QLD10 June 2019
people are helping me and the boss are very positive and kindly, The boss has strict requirements for our employees and the boss has strict requirements for public health. the culture was very full of Japan-style
Pros
half price for food
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a very good work atmosphere.
Manager (Current Employee) –  Gold Coast QLD15 May 2019
Sushi Train is a restaurant that offers very fresh and great food. I have many things to do, but I gain Japanese food skills. There are many regular customers, and there is a sense of making customers happy. It's very hard to go to the shop with a small number of people, but it is worthwhile.
Pros
Free ranch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad working environment
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Gold Coast QLD11 April 2019
Bad working environment, people don’t speak english properly, coworkers are not respecful to others, managers are bad at dealing with people and with their employees, they pay really bad for all the things that you have to do there and they didn’t even give you discounts on food or drinks, we are not able to eat wharever we want, it’s just leftovers or what they want to. I would never recommend to anybody.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, clean and safe
Waitressing (Current Employee) –  Upper Coomera QLD4 December 2018
I love working at Sushi Train, It is a great job. You meet all kinds of new people. It's fast paced, friendly, superbly clean. Always have fun, and everyone is super friendly and inclusive. Hardest part of the job is during peak hours when you're already serving two customers and you need to take on more jobs. You cannot leave customers waiting for their drinks or to make orders and you need to constantly refill ice and water, seat customers, clean tables and prepare tables without making the customers feel rushed or inconvenienced, they are and will always be number one priority!
Pros
Free lunches and sometimes free dinner depending on the day
Cons
Fast paced, Busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work and consistent
Waitress (Current Employee) –  Mona Vale NSW24 November 2018
I love to work in my place but suddenly I need to give to my younger sister because, she finish her school. So, I think of searching other workplace. And get a different experience work.

Thank You.
Pros
free lunches and also some takeaway for dinner
Cons
10 hours and is soo good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
オーストラリアで最大の日本飲食チェーン
飲食店 (総務部) (Former Employee) –  オーストラリア、クイーンズランド州4 July 2018
福利厚生はオーストラリアの法律に基づき、非常に良く気軽に有給も取れますし、年金も会社から直接、給与とは別に払われるので、新入社員でもある程度余裕が出来ると思います。
社風、人間関係においても日本企業と比べると緩く、ストレスを溜めることは非常に少ないと思います。
オーストラリア永住権を目指してる方にはオススメの会社です。
Pros
気軽に有給が取得できる
Cons
ビザ取得の場合、重労働になり得る
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Work Environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Victoria Point QLD11 December 2017
A typical shift included washing copious amounts of washing dishes, taking orders and attempting to translate things into Japanese. We were not given the weeks roster until very late Sunday evening.
Pros
Free Food after closing shifts
Cons
Very late notice of shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
雰囲気もよく仕事のしやすい環境
飲食店 (Former Employee) –  coolangatta Australia18 October 2017
海外の飲食店は初めてだったのですが、社員の方々に恵まれ、半年間しか働けなかったのですがもっと働きたいと思える職場でした。
Pros
シフトの自由が効きやすい
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work efficiency
Sushi Chef (Current Employee) –  Adelaide SA3 October 2017
This job is not easy, every day we need to serve amount of customers, but how to work efficiency is the best part of I learned. Our manager encourage us do two or more things at the same time. We can make sushi by hands, greating with mouth and check by eyes.Comparing with other part time job, this job could provide a stable income.
Pros
stable incomes
Cons
high work pressure
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly staffs, good environment and good location of the restaurants
Waitress/Kitchen Hand (Current Employee) –  Randwick NSW22 July 2017
Actually i'm kinda like working here, but sometimes if the restuarant is quite the manager could ask the wait staff to clean the restaurant which I don't think it's related to the job decription. But, besides that, I'm happy working with them.
Pros
Free lunch and supper after closing
Cons
long break and cleaning restaurant
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company to work for
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Mt Sheridan QLD13 June 2017
A typical day at work - constant outside world drama getting involced at work, rude,
workplace culture: just get the job done - don't care how, all the care is about money - not staff
Management: no manager - can be confusing when your on shift and theres no manager present and the boss isn't on.
Hardest Part of the job: the job itself is very easy and enjoyable once you get to know the customers and get around the politics of the workplace
Cons
no discounts, long hours, breaks always an hour or two before shift ends
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good place for beginners
Food and Beverage Attendant (Current Employee) –  Adelaide SA12 April 2017
From the day I joined I always enjoyed working here. I have learnt so much from my managers, seniors and of course from our valued customers. I hardly ever had any issues with my rosters, working hours shifts or with the salary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Sushi Train
Waitressing (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD7 April 2016
Sushi Train uniform, and an early start at 9am and finish at 9pm. The job involved welcoming customers while seating them, taking orders, speaking Japanese, cleaning up afterwards and using the register for transactions. I learnt how to work as a team and independently. It was difficult to work with employees who couldn't speak or understand English. The most enjoyable part of the job for me was the customers and communicating with them. I got to know many regulars who were wonderful and come in sometimes 5 times a week!!
Pros
Free lunch, long hours
Cons
Language barrier
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy but fun
Waiter and Kitchen Hand (Former Employee) –  Cairns QLD18 February 2016
It gets busy throughout the day and not many people can complete their tasks, so those tasks will be handed down to me.
Co workers are great, the people there are really kind. I learnt how to be a quick waiter to go through the busy times.
Hardest part of the job was going in and out to look out for customers.
Most enjoyable part was communicating with my co workers.
Pros
free sushi
Cons
Bulk hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people but job can become tedious
Floor Staff (Current Employee) –  Adelaide SA15 November 2015
Firstly would check assigned position and then take over from whoever was there previously. Serve customers if present and if no one is there, help out others or do extra cleaning.
Dealing with complaints and working in a super fast-paced environment.
Management is good, gives people equal amount of shifts.
Co-workers make me look forward to my job- everyone is generally very friendly.
Hardest part of the job is the job. It can drag on forever.
Working together as a team with co-workers is fun especially if you've developed good relationships with them.
Pros
Free lunch and dinner if you work until last
Cons
No staff discounts if you go in and eat
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Casual Staff (Former Employee) –  Cairns17 February 2014
It's good place to work.
I learned Customer Service, Waitressing, Kitchen Hand,Dealing with Complaints.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report

See more Sushi Train reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sushi Train. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 24 reviews
58
45
39
21
11

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.5Culture