Swiss Re Employee Reviews

Showing all 126 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former Employee
Former Employee (Former Employee) –  Alpharetta, GA13 May 2019
Good company to work for. Good people. Tough environment for advancement unless you are an underwriter. Great work life balance. Overall a very good company.
Pros
Good Work/life balance
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Miglior riassicuratore!!!
Life&Health Underwriter (sottoscrittore) (Current Employee) –  Bratislavský kraj12 May 2019
Azienda che presta attenzione alla formazione e benessere dei dipendenti.
Ambiente stimolante e competitivo.
Massima professionalità e life work balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy workplace with positive coworkers and environment
Business System Analyst (Former Employee) –  Alpharetta, GA23 April 2019
To pursue a challenging career and be a part of progressive organization that gives a scope to enhance my knowledge and utilizing my skills towards the growth of the organization.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly Intensive
Vice President - Underwriting Manager (Former Employee) –  Overland Park, KS22 April 2019
Difficult work atmosphere. Involved with many areas. To many meetings and not enough work time. Did not have much decision making authority. Travel across nation.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary Position
Event Planner (Former Employee) –  Windsor, CT28 March 2019
I only worked as a temporary travel coordinator. It was fun was suppose to be a 4 week position that turned into 6 months. Fun company to work for. They really care about there employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good WorkLife Balance
Vice President (Current Employee) –  Zürich, ZH26 March 2019
good work life balance
working from home
gender equility
Pros
Work Life Balance, working from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company - great prospects
Support Technician (Former Employee) –  London22 March 2019
Company looks after it's employees. Great work and social culture. Fabulous office space. Great investment in people and company. I wish I had never left.
Pros
Everything is top quality
Cons
For me - the commute.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice culture, but very Zurich centric
Consultant (Current Employee) –  Armonk, NY7 March 2019
Pros
Nice, friendly, smart dedicated people

Cons
Zurich centric, not considerate to other regions
Less opportunities in other regions outside Europe
not a lot of room for growth
structured
struggles to change
too much travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible schedule, Zurich bureaucracy
P&C Business Management (Current Employee) –  Armonk, NY6 March 2019
If you are on a global team, the bureaucracy from Zurich will make work difficult. Good work/life balance. Used to be a fun place to work but cuts over past few years and minimal raises and lower bonuses have hurt morale
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Es una excelente empresa
CLAIMS ANALYST INTERN (Former Employee) –  Miguel Hidalgo, D. F.26 February 2019
Tienen un excelente ambiente de trabajo, todos son muy amables, aprendes mucho en esa empresa
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable company, ok culture
Vice-President (Former Employee) –  New York, NY22 February 2019
Stable company, ok culture. limited advancement, as head office is in switzerland. not most dynamic. work hours were very good. great benefits and above market pay scale.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good benefits, great staff/employees, fun/sustainable culture
Claims Assessor, HSBC Direct Team (Former Employee) –  Folkestone30 January 2019
enjoyed my years orking with Swiss Re. The company is an excellent one to work for. Benefits offered to staff are good with high focus on business culture as well as charity work and sustainable business/living.
Pros
free lunch (folkestone office), fun, benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very diverse company!
Actuarial Development Program (ADP) Intern (Former Employee) –  Armonk, NY16 January 2019
- Good balance between social events and work
- Community service opportunities
- Feedback sessions
- Diversity!
- Proper training
- Networking opportunities with high-level people, including CEO
- Great Office infrastructure and Technology
- Global company
Pros
Interns Lunch & Learn
Cons
Communication before beginning of internship
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Data entry position
Claims Analyst (Former Employee) –  Overland Park, KS10 January 2019
My position was not typical compared to my prior work experience however they did challenge me with responsibilities that expanded my knowledge of reinsurance claims.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life Balance
Consultant (Current Employee) –  Bangalore Urban, Karnataka6 January 2019
Swiss Re provides better work life balance and works in Agile
Lot of scope to learn and grow and also help to explore other areas within the company and has a better succession plan
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life balance needs to be reviewed
Assistant Vice President (Former Employee) –  Overland Park, KS30 December 2018
I learned a lot while working at this company about all aspects of the insurance industry. Overtime is required to keep up with the demands of the job. The job can include lots of travel. Some of the middle managers were difficult to work with. Pay is good.
Pros
Good Cafeteria, salary, healthcare
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Senior Underwriter, Vice President (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON15 December 2018
Good work/life balance when not busy times of year. Decent co-workers however management is lacking. Benefit are decent however salary is behind industry standard.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was not fun at all
IT Analyst (Former Employee) –  New York, NY30 November 2018
When I was called a monkey and a gorrilla at the job, management did nothing about it. I am glad I do not work there anymore and I do not want a reference from them.
Pros
sccm
Cons
rude and jealous co workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is all up to you
Senior Product Specialist Energy (Current Employee) –  Zürich, ZH26 November 2018
Company encourages you to be a creator of your own career. Come up with goals and assess your own development and results.
This helps to develop more generalist specialists, without particular focus on the line of business. Sometimes you are in the meeting with people who don't know you, neither know what you are doing.
I like what I am doing - I am a technical specialist, I know the risks first hand, and I like to raise the awareness, to educate and to recommend to the clients, underwriters and the actuaries.
Pros
Energy is one of the most volatile lines of business therefore this role is very important
Cons
Oil and Gas are getting a bad publicity ( carbon footprint, etc.).
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upper management wants you to be a robot
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MO26 November 2018
Upper management wants a specific type of person and if you don’t fit that mold you will not go far. They ask for feedback and then you are penalized for giving it.
Pros
Flexible work hours
Cons
Few raises, bad culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Swiss Re. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 126 reviews
547
450
322
22
15

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture