Target Australia Employee Reviews

Found 338 reviews matching the search See all 347 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Parramatta NSW5 April 2019
Productive workplace to gain experience in retail and as well as with customer experience. As well as this, it had created a nice and calm work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cobram VIC4 April 2019
It was an enjoyable environment to work in and within the company i did various things such as; stocking the shelves, cleaning the store and helping out customers to fufill there needs
Pros
I enjoy working in retail
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and inclusive work place
Casual Employee (Current Employee) –  Blacktown NSW2 April 2019
Target Blacktown are perfectionists in the retail industry, they only expect the greatest results from their consistent upmost efforts all staff put in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Customer Service/ Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Kalgoorlie WA18 March 2019
We got to check out new stock and test some out. Overall it was a good workplace. I was working in deferent departments most of the time, but i was in charge of menswear and all footwear departments. I loved rearanging the shoes and clothing to make it look representable and tidy.
Pros
Soda Machines, Free Cofee, Tea, Hot Cocoa, Discounts throughout the store.
Cons
Longs hours on holidays.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional
Trainee Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hervey Bay QLD25 February 2019
The staff were great at instructing, well organised, very professional and helpful. The only negative things I have found about Target is that their plus size clothing for women are for those with skinny arms and legs and that they confuse the customers and sometimes even the new staff with how often they change the store around.
Pros
Great communication skills, organised, professional, helpful
Cons
Store changes around too often, plus size clothing is unrealistic
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD18 February 2019
Target can become a family, meeting new people and making bonds is one of the best parts about working there.The bonds I feel will last a very long time and will be beneficial in time to come.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work, Great people
Refunds/ Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Springfield QLD17 February 2019
Good work, I worked in refunds and customer service, sometimes found that after trying to uphold company policy management would often step over you and ignore policy just to avoid a complaint.
Pros
Team environment
Cons
Pay isn't the greatest for part time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Target
Department Manager (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD29 January 2019
As a whole Target is a great place to work and offers a career should you choose to pursue the management positions.
Target is diverse and offers a whole range of positions
Pros
making friends
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for casual work
Casual Retail Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cessnock NSW4 January 2019
Was good money and fun work but could be a negative workplace at times. Best part was meeting other casuals, worst part was requiring time off for studying.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Target
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Port Macquarie NSW1 January 2019
I loved the busy work life of a cashier. Working at Target allowed me to learn great customer communication skills that are relevant to every position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place where favouritism is rife, and hard work gets you nowhere.
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fulham Gardens SA12 December 2018
Target Australia is an anti-union environment. Bullying by store managers and dpt managers is common. If you prefer to 'kiss butt' than work hard then this is the place for you. If you believe in a fair work load for all, and would like to know that your work issues and concerns will be listened to and dealt with fairly, you will be disappointed. The grievance procedure is laughable, as the chain of people you need to talk to are unethically covering each others backs and could care less about you. If you have an ounce of integrity, you will be unhappy here.
Pros
None
Cons
Store managers, dpt managers and grievance procedures.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great work culture
Retail (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC7 December 2018
Great team cohesion. Found it easy to begin working. Expectations were clear and I found work loads to be manageable. Overall, I found Target to be a great workplace.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always striving
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bowral, NSW, AU30 November 2018
Working for Target was an enjoyable experience. There was always opportunities to learn and also work in different departments. It can be a job that requires heavy lifting but there is options for all types of people to successfully be employed here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Having to learn how to do Retail gave me abit of confidence
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gold Coast QLD28 November 2018
I’ve learned how to use the box compactor in the storage room.

The hardest part again was talking to customers considering I didn’t know where things were and having to direct them to places
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with great work life balance
Retail Assistant/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Brisbane Central Business District QLD27 November 2018
You do a range of tasks over different departments, it's a fun environment where you make friends with everyone. You have the entire store to walk around, so you'll never feel cramped. You'll hardly feel bored and never lonely.

There's always something to do if you have the initiative to undertake more than the bare minimum.
Management is easy to talk to if you'd like to work in a different area, have a problem with your shift, want to change your availability etc. Very flexible with hours, given a lot of shifts. You choose when you work.

Large tea room, and you choose when you'd like to take your breaks.

There isn't too much favouritism, anyone can be trained to be a manager, all you have to do is ask and put in the work.

Negative is that we've had a huge turnover of managers and staff over the past year. One department manager is a bully who has caused multiple team members and 2 other department managers to quit. And the store morale has greatly decreased. New team members are hired and given zero training, and are put into departments with the expectation of other team members training them.

Other negatives include - dealing with customers (in menswear) of extremely poor hygiene, frustrating theft that occurs all day everyday (though it's fun when you watch and catch them), rare occasions of gross things in the fitting rooms.
Pros
Work life balance, freedom
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work experience
Stock hand (Former Employee) –  Murgon QLD15 November 2018
work experience was different but i loved it , i learn so much stuff at targets , i wouldn't mind working there now it would be alright i guess ......
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD11 November 2018
The long hours limited at a low wage is just overwhelming. Need a rise of wage to a worthy cost. Team members are nice and welcoming, management needs to improve as in security.
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demoralized Employees and Poor Management
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  North Lakes QLD17 October 2018
A typical day at work:
For those that work for online, barely any help is provided to them. For those that work in hard goods there might be 1 or 2 people covering all the departments. Lucky to ever see 3 employees for that area. Being told how to do simple tasks that you never get wrong nor neglect. Being over worked and constantly hearing people call in sick. Work cages/rails 24/7 and never doing your other jobs other than tidy.

What you learned:
How to tidy, present and maintain a department. And how to not run a store, and of course how to run a store.

Management:
Barely on the floor. Tend to scream and belittle employees. One manager likes to tell people how to do their job all the time for the most simple of jobs. Like how to print, scan an item. Regardless of those people all ready knowing how to do it. Lack of discipline on the floor due to absence of management on floor. Regional manager also part of the problem at Target North Lakes.

Workplace Culture:
1 year ago and beyond into the past, good workplace culture. Now, toxic and demoralizing. Employees appear not interested in work due to being demoralized and management.

The hardest part of the job:
The workplace's culture and management.

The most enjoyable part of the job:
Being able to actually work in your assigned department and serving customers that need assistance instead of tidying, working palates and working cages/rails 24/7. Also includes the overloaded back dock with it's contents dating back many months and never being worked onto the floor.
Pros
Refit, Self Service Registers, Online Orders, Bonuses
Cons
Poor Management, Toxic Environment, Lack of Staff on Floor
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable experience
Work Experience Student (Former Employee) –  Cheltenham VIC13 October 2018
I chose to work here as a part of my school's work experience program. From my limited time working here, most of what I did was to help organise the clothing and put back in place what's out of place.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
having to communicate with new people
Cemo (Former Employee) –  Granville NSW11 October 2018
having to socialize with new people in the workplace at target, this is why it inspires me to work there. Also I did work experience there and it was great.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Target Australia. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 347 reviews
5112
4126
378
213
118

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture