Target Australia Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable workplace but with poor management
Floor Staff (Former Employee) –  Perth WA4 May 2018
Target was a great first job and I found it very easy to get stuck into working and learn about the culture around me, but the management was a bit poor due to them always changing casual shifts after promising multiple of us casual workers a permanent shift at least once a week. I would receive phone calls stating that I haven't come in for a shift when my name was not on the roster for that coming day/week. I also was put on the registers all weekend in peak times after only receiving 3 hours of training nearly 9 months previous.
Pros
Decent breaks, good workmates
Cons
poor management, no shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned
CUSTOMER SERVICE (Former Employee) –  Hurstville29 April 2018
Working for Target, this is where I learned the foundations for working in retail. Target offers extensive training across all areas of the retail world.
Pros
training, incentives, management, salary
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s a no from me.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD18 April 2018
Big promises, with next to no outcome. The recruitment process was torture especially for the role that I was applying for. Would not recommended working here.
Long hours and no recognition what so ever. Customer service is pretty dismal, and the team are there for the money, not the experience.
Pros
Salary
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place with environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Werribee VIC18 April 2018
A good place to work with and great people and environment also the manger is a good person and keeps the store functioning. The customers feel welcomed when at the store
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Corporate Company
Retail Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ipswich QLD17 April 2018
Its a decent place to work with good security - advancement is mostly internal and offered to people who ask for it/apply for it. Can't complain to be honest.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overworked unstructured poor culture
Design Studio Manager (Former Employee) –  geelong australia11 April 2018
this was my second stint at Target Australia

the culture was terrible
infighting between buying teams
management were not able to control negativity
design management and caliber was top notch
enjoyed my team and my direct reports
great design creativity & delivery
Pros
5% discount was poor
Cons
long days, poor collaboration, bad culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not want to work for another large retailer after my experience with them
Duty Manager (Former Employee) –  QLD, Western suburbs6 April 2018
Ridiculous expectations, and when you have performed above and beyond you receive no recognition. They require a strict adherence to policy and procedures even if they are not efficient or if they are redundant. They seem to want potatoes working for them that will dot the I's and cross the T's even if they are terrible at their role.
Pros
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Retail Assistant (Casual) (Former Employee) –  Perth WA24 March 2018
learned everything to do with customer service
knowing how to stock
manual handling things
a typical day was serving the customer and selling/ stocking products
lovely staff members
managers were bit hard as I was the new girl and sometimes unfair with my job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Retail Assistant/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Biloela10 March 2018
Love the work environment, always fun and challenging. Great leadership, positive outlook. Great career opportunities. Target has great products that make you proud to sell
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfactory
Register Operator/Hard Goods/Entry Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Westfield VIC6 March 2018
Target Airport West has some good moments and bad, but so do most jobs. I felt it was good while I was in school, but it wasn’t suitable as a long term job.
Pros
Flexible
Cons
Poor staff members and manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

Want to know more about Target Australia?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average work place
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Melbourne Northern Suburbs VIC19 February 2018
I only worked here for two weeks for work experience within the two weeks I saw that the place was under managed with the manager not even being there most of the time and by the back workers taking stock home for their own families. JKY
Pros
short hours
Cons
Not a secure job.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good, stable work
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Queensland11 February 2018
Target offers its employees stable work. There is the ability to develop further skills and progress to management roles but it didn't seem very common. Work culture was quite good but job roles are quite boring as there isn't much movement of staff between areas within the store.
Pros
Stability
Cons
Repetitive work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team to work for
Payroll Officer (Former Employee) –  Port Macquarie NSW31 January 2018
I loved my job as payroll officer/cash office manager.
I have always had an excellent relationship with management and peers
I am very resourceful in seeking information to facilitate problem solving
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, and a very learning environment
Retail Assistant- work experience (Former Employee) –  Ballarat VIC29 January 2018
I enjoyed my time here, even though it was only work experience, I gained experience in the retail field. I enjoyed the learning I did and the people that were there were very helpful. I’d recommend starting out somewhere like here as a first job, it gives you an insight of working somewhere bigger
Pros
Discounted items
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Target is a good first job.
Ladieswear and kidswear sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Pakenham VIC28 January 2018
Target didn't have many career advancement opportunities and also couldn't guarantee hours to everyone in the store. It is a good job if you are just looking for casual work.
Pros
Clean working enviroment, Uniforms provided, Friendly staff
Cons
Pay, Not having garenteed hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Work Experience Student (Former Employee) –  Wetherill Park NSW3 January 2018
Target was an amazing opportunity to experience what work is really about. Everyone had good communication skills with the employees and employer and good teamwork
Pros
Staff are great
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the most fun place to work
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Muswellbrook NSW2 January 2018
I learned customer service, management was very laid back, nothing about the job was hard, the job was boring. The customers were very friendly this was a perk the manager was not nice
Pros
lots of shifts
Cons
no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed those that I worked with, however found that promotions and advancements were hard to come by.
Sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Camberwell VIC25 December 2017
I worked with a wonderful team of people, however I found that it was difficult to advance my skills and progress in the company due to its large size.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Target is an iconic Australian retailer dedicated to making fashion, style and quality affordable for the whole family
Work Placement Student (Former Employee) –  Wetherill Park NSW18 December 2017
We're proud to be a part of over three hundred communities across Australia with stores conveniently located in both metropolitan and regional areas. Target is committed to supporting these communities and to meeting our responsibilities to our customers, team members and suppliers.
Pros
Fine experience
Cons
Staff are very rude, disrespectful, the store is very big
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no
Retail Assistant/ Duty Manager (Former Employee) –  Katanning WA10 December 2017
i worked for target australia for 8 years. i learnt alot over my time at the katanning store. i enjoyed interacting with the local customers and helping them with there shopping.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Target Australia. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 313 reviews
5103
4109
374
212
115

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture