Target Australia Employee Reviews

Found 346 reviews matching the search See all 355 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Workplace
Hard Goods (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW25 June 2019
My manager was unprofessional, irresponsible and uncaring towards me. Denied me when i said that i was never trained properly, didn't help or care about the statement. Rude employees and management.
Cons
Rude, Uncaring, Irresponsible and Unreliable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive with very friendly staff.
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Canberra ACT20 June 2019
while working there I got along with the other staff members well. Working in the docks out back was tiring, especially on your legs, as you are constantly walking heavy boxes back and fourth.
Pros
pleasant working environment
Cons
physically tiring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at Target
Customer Service Consultant (Former Employee) –  Victoria30 May 2019
Morning briefing were one of the highlights of the day, every morning there was a briefing to identify new issue or high work volumes expected, and to give everyone the heads up on what's to expect during the day ahead.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly staff members
Target (Former Employee) –  Narre Warren VIC22 May 2019
What I learned while having work experience at target was how it was like to work in retail for example out the back unpacking boxing putting them on shelves and taking them out to the floor and placing the items such as clothing, toys, baby stuff were the belong

The most enjoyable part about working here was being able to help out customers with questions or were they could find the exact item/product
Pros
Friendly staff, breaks
Cons
Being on your feet for long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was fun and a good work enviroment
Sales (Former Employee) –  Sydney Eastern Suburbs NSW8 May 2019
It was a good first job as they were kind and understanding but still demanding in some places. However, they were able to make my hours fit along with my high school schedule, it allowed me to grow as a person.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Gladstone QLD4 May 2019
I had a blast at target, they really care about their employees and even when the store was dead there was always something to do which is always a plus
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its okay.
SALES ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Cairns City QLD28 April 2019
The general line mangers are great, however a lot of the time a lot of effort is put in simply because you care about your reputation and genuinely care about the sales, however the effort is never recognized and you feel undervalued. Mangers often expect you to get an unrealistic amount done, which can be motivating to get more done than usual, stressful and discouraging when the things aren't completed.
The team members are mostly lovely and very helpful.
Learnt that there are so many different aspects to retail, its not just selling items.
So many people from around the world come into the store, so you will always meet someone exciting
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for school students
BackDock and Onfloor Worker (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD23 April 2019
It is good for school students as they are flexible but as a maint full-time or part-time job the hours are bad, as well as the management not knowing how many staff they need and pay and benefits are bad.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Little Shifts or Oppurtunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor management
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Sale VIC13 April 2019
While I have been with the company, there has been a high turnover in management, which filters down to changed procedures and ways of working every few months.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Parramatta NSW5 April 2019
Productive workplace to gain experience in retail and as well as with customer experience. As well as this, it had created a nice and calm work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work environment
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cobram VIC4 April 2019
It was an enjoyable environment to work in and within the company i did various things such as; stocking the shelves, cleaning the store and helping out customers to fufill there needs
Pros
I enjoy working in retail
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and inclusive work place
Casual Employee (Current Employee) –  Blacktown NSW2 April 2019
Target Blacktown are perfectionists in the retail industry, they only expect the greatest results from their consistent upmost efforts all staff put in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Customer Service/ Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Kalgoorlie WA18 March 2019
We got to check out new stock and test some out. Overall it was a good workplace. I was working in deferent departments most of the time, but i was in charge of menswear and all footwear departments. I loved rearanging the shoes and clothing to make it look representable and tidy.
Pros
Soda Machines, Free Cofee, Tea, Hot Cocoa, Discounts throughout the store.
Cons
Longs hours on holidays.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional
Trainee Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hervey Bay QLD25 February 2019
The staff were great at instructing, well organised, very professional and helpful. The only negative things I have found about Target is that their plus size clothing for women are for those with skinny arms and legs and that they confuse the customers and sometimes even the new staff with how often they change the store around.
Pros
Great communication skills, organised, professional, helpful
Cons
Store changes around too often, plus size clothing is unrealistic
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD18 February 2019
Target can become a family, meeting new people and making bonds is one of the best parts about working there.The bonds I feel will last a very long time and will be beneficial in time to come.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work, Great people
Refunds/ Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Springfield QLD17 February 2019
Good work, I worked in refunds and customer service, sometimes found that after trying to uphold company policy management would often step over you and ignore policy just to avoid a complaint.
Pros
Team environment
Cons
Pay isn't the greatest for part time
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Target
Department Manager (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD29 January 2019
As a whole Target is a great place to work and offers a career should you choose to pursue the management positions.
Target is diverse and offers a whole range of positions
Pros
making friends
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for casual work
Casual Retail Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cessnock NSW4 January 2019
Was good money and fun work but could be a negative workplace at times. Best part was meeting other casuals, worst part was requiring time off for studying.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Target
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Port Macquarie NSW1 January 2019
I loved the busy work life of a cashier. Working at Target allowed me to learn great customer communication skills that are relevant to every position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place where favouritism is rife, and hard work gets you nowhere.
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fulham Gardens SA12 December 2018
Target Australia is an anti-union environment. Bullying by store managers and dpt managers is common. If you prefer to 'kiss butt' than work hard then this is the place for you. If you believe in a fair work load for all, and would like to know that your work issues and concerns will be listened to and dealt with fairly, you will be disappointed. The grievance procedure is laughable, as the chain of people you need to talk to are unethically covering each others backs and could care less about you. If you have an ounce of integrity, you will be unhappy here.
Pros
None
Cons
Store managers, dpt managers and grievance procedures.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Target Australia. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 355 reviews
5114
4127
382
213
119

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture