Telstra Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disappointing experince
Area Manager (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC7 August 2018
I had great expectation when I joined the biggest Telco in the country. However the company was going through some challenging times ( ever increasing complaints, share were at $2.41...) A new management team was brought form the US and UK (Trujillo was CEO) Some of the decision made were debatable and the overall experience was disappointing
Pros
Discount and good working hours
Cons
Disagreement within the ELT affected the overall performance of the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large organisation
Rehabilitation Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD26 July 2018
This is a large organisation and developed learnings in dealing with the issues arising from dealing with a large organisation, eg policies and procedures. Always room for advancement if a competitive environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTIVE (Former Employee) –  717 Bourke st, Melbourne23 July 2018
Very customer satisfaction driven environment, which fine with me as I’m focused on that. But becomes very competitive. Which I’m not. Great company to work for.
Pros
Great company to work for and great incentive
Cons
Too far, commute to the city was a killer
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Friendly Environment
Design Specialist (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD22 July 2018
Productive and Friendly Environment, Nice place to work with all helpful colleagues, Appreciating approach from management which makes all employees happy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outsourcing
Business Specialist (Former Employee) –  Queensland19 July 2018
Telstra has and is still continuing to outsource to much work offshore. It s quickly becoming another Optus or other foreign run company, loosing to much knowledge onshore.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place for challenging work
Agile Consultant/Coach (Former Employee) –  Melbourne City Centre VIC19 July 2018
Good place to leave a mark in terms of challenging work and opportunity to make a difference. Organisation is reputed and adds good value on Resume.
Pros
Reputation
Cons
Job Insecurity
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment with table tennis.
NBN Telecommunications Specialist (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD15 July 2018
Productive and fun work environment with table tennis. Supportive networks of managers and administration stuff. Learnt to be self sourced. Great office layouts. Long hours, system requirements and never ending learning modules. Great chats with clients.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very cool place to work with
Technical Writer (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC10 July 2018
The work culture here is very cool. Teams are good with lots of creativity.
I loved to be here and work as technical writer. I am surrounded by supportive manager and good team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nothing
Sales - Customer Resolutions (Former Employee) –  Hobart TAS10 July 2018
They did not have any concern for their staff and provided no support at all they were all for the bottom line , no concern for the impacts on its customers
Pros
nil
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a well organised fun workplace
Sales Consultant/ Representative (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC9 July 2018
a typical day working with teltsra would consist of preparig the store for opening hours, maintaining a clean and organized store, providing customer service and helping those who are in need with their exsisting telstra accounts and keeping customers satisfied
Pros
great incentives
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place to work
Customer service/sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Keysborough VIC5 July 2018
the typical day at work would be a really fun day, i would talk to my colleagues and help out customers with their queries. I learnt a lot working at telstra, for example, how to speak politely to people and how to have positive communication.
Pros
awards
Cons
heat
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent team
Customer Solution Officer (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD5 July 2018
friendly coworkers, team pulls together. ridiculous red tape in getting contracts extended even when the one up manager desperately needs the staff. would love to continue working at Telstra
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
restructures
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Come for the experience but don't stay long term
Senior Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC4 July 2018
Telstra has changed so much, and not always for the best. For CBD workers, the experience is FWOW (Future Ways of Working).
You work on a crammed floor and have no fixed desk. Often the LAN is slow, and on some floors you have to get in early to secure a desk.

There are some excellent sub cultures, and there are some not so nice sub cultures - and unfortunately the leadership is focused way too much on Customer, Shareholders - and staff come last. The leadership has become quite toxic - and most staff will agree with this sentiment.
Pros
Flexibile working
Cons
Poor Leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not so fun
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC2 July 2018
a typical day at work was to answer inbound call people paying their bill for the month ,bill extensions selling up selling changing there plans i learn a lot of systems their in telstra and ware i got most of my customer service experience management was not so great why i did not get to meet most of them just the TL .
the hardest part to the job would be the case management of complaints it was the main joy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place and exciting future
Technical Project Manager- NBN TSS Program (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD2 July 2018
Telstra is a great place to work and one of the few organisations that have really embraced technology to facilitate flexible working conditions for employees.

The 2020 strategy promised to be a game changer and makes a lot of sense, sadly though it will come at a cost with 1 in 4 people losing their roles.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place to learn
Field Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD2 July 2018
Nice colleagues and source of learning. Team manager was an excellent man always cooperative and always with me when I wanted him to be around. As for as job security concerns no security at all 2 times my job abruptly ended without any fault from my end but as management decided they need fewer people and you are gone the same day. No prior intimations just pack and go
Cons
Working at home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace
Funds Manager (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC2 July 2018
Excellent place to work with fantastic colleagues. Telstra was a very supportive employer and provided flexible working arrangements which made employees extremely productive.
Pros
Flexible working
Cons
Hierarchical
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working with Telstra as there was a diversity of jobs, opportunity for advancement and an enjoyable job culture
Personnel Officer, Consumer Business (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW25 June 2018
I had a variety oj roles with Telstra however the most enjoyable was the Personal Officer
It involved supervising staff responsible for the pay and leave for around 2,500 staff
It would involve over-sighting the recording of leave and pay records,processing staff promotions and staff discipline
There was a lot lot of pride in ensuring that all staff are receiving their correct entitlements and correct income..
Pros
flexable working hours, satisfactory income
Cons
A lot of protocols and procedures.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Ashfield nsw24 June 2018
Telstra was a great company to work for, the staff where great the hours where shift work hours and the staff where fantastic. I was well organised, good time management and i was given training in a variety of different jobs. I was very happy to work their.
Pros
good location
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of innovation and many layers of management
Engineer (Former Employee) –  Melbourne City Centre VIC20 June 2018
Telstra has too many layers of management and provides little to no innovation for new solutions and it doesn't do well to maintain existing ones resulting in poor outcomes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Telstra. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 839 reviews
5297
4325
3161
233
123

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture