Tesla Motors Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could have been swell
Production Control Specialist (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CA23 April 2018
Not worth the effort.
the ppl there were very clicky, very much like in highschool
looking @ other companys, the pay could have been better
I did not like the commute
Pros
free cereal
Cons
bad attitudes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Lead Spares Technician (Current Employee) –  Sparks, NV20 April 2018
By far the best place I've worked for, it does has it's flaws a new start up but I believe it'll get better. Aside from some poor managments in some departments, the recruiting team could be better. They need alot of help, they wiffed on alot of associates. other than that its a really good company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Test Driver for Tesla - awesome job
Test Driver (Former Employee) –  arizona20 April 2018
Typical day, get Tesla from charger make sure its fully charged. drive inside shop and check tire pressure and record mileage etc. when done with daily check list, drive Tesla onto to track and drive.
What i learned, i learn a lot about the Tesla, how the batteries works and all the cool things the Tesla can do.
Management, my direct manager was really cool, cant say anything bad about them. laid back, very knowledgeable about the Tesla, I always over heard them talk about how bad their managers were and overall how bad management at Tesla was.
Workplace, the work place was alright, just a shop nothing special at all.
Hardest part of the job was.... there was no hard part, it was a great job, I love it. so i guess the hardest part was when the tests ended and the job was done.
Most enjoyable part of the job was driving the Tesla!
Pros
Driving the Tesla
Cons
Temporary Position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Associate Manager Production (Former Employee) –  Sparks, NV19 April 2018
With little to no regard of the personnel making things happen on the line, personnel are passed over for being liked.
There is little time to review mistakes. The lines never stop, so the mistakes are discarded and relived over and over again.
Having a disappointing mentality from a non production manager is a difficult situation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
café, te, capuchino gratis, cada 2 horas 15 min. de relax
rectificador linea 1 (Former Employee) –  Tilburg19 April 2018
lo mas importante es hablar el mismo idioma para comprenden los orden de trabajo...Ingles o Holandés.
Dependiendo de la área de trabajo, todo se hace con rapidez, pero muchas vez los coche que llegan de América tienen muchos problemas, debido al viaje muy largo por barco...Humedad, presentan golpes...todo esto se tiene que reparar para entregar el pedido.
Pros
trabajas siempre por los primero 6 meses por una Empresa Trabajo Temporal
Cons
mucho dinero se paga al gobierno en forma de tasas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company
Service Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Miami, FL17 April 2018
Recommends
Positive Outlook
Approves of CEO
I have been working at Tesla full-time (More than a year)

Pros

Amazing work culture centered around what's best for you. Really takes care of their employees. Surrounded by innovation and great management. People actually work as a team. Hard work is recognized.

Cons

Workplace can get hectic and long shifts can be hard to get used to. Semi strict attendance policy.

Advice to Management

Keep up the amazing work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging place which grows your skill to get things done
Senior Manufacturing Engineer (Mechanical Joining) (Current Employee) –  Fremont, CA17 April 2018
Tesla is an OK place to work. Good part is they make each person responsible which grooms one to prove his/her talent and skills. Bad part is there is no work/life balance and management does not have a certain direction, Decisions keep changing from top management on daily basis,
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Incredible Experience Growing The Company
Remarketing Manager (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CA16 April 2018
What can I say, Tesla has grown up from its start up roots to a full blown corporation. My time spent there was transformational in learning how to sell a vision to people that haven't even heard of the company to launching 4 different models over a several year span.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a alright place to work at
Production Associate (Current Employee) –  Reno, NV14 April 2018
it was good money , good people , just the management was horrible . Short breaks , rude managers, just nothing that great about it , but you do make decent money
Pros
good money
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tesla Review
Tesla Material Handler, and Forklift/ Tugger (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CA13 April 2018
Best Incorporation that i have came across with. I want to eventually come back to work for Tesla. It is actually my favorite company in the world and i love to work at their locations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
vehicle detailer (Former Employee) –  Tilburg13 April 2018
het is een nieuw bedrijf waar nog veel aan moest gebeuren dat zal in de loop der jaren wel gaan veranden.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Evenings and Weekends - Low Pay
Energy Consultant (Former Employee) –  Hawthorne, CA12 April 2018
If you like hanging out at Home Depot and selling to people that aren't interested while barely getting paid then this job's for you. Hyper-competitive, over-saturated market in SoCal where speaking Spanish will give you the best opportunity for success.
Pros
Renewable energy business
Cons
Evening and weekend work, low pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tough
Production Associate (Current Employee) –  Fremont, CA11 April 2018
The work is easy but the balance between work and personal life is tough when you get placed on graveyard shift. They wont always work around your schedule so if you're placed on graveyard you're basically stuck there.
Pros
free coffe, drink, and cereal.
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fastpaced, innovative work place.
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Fremont, CA11 April 2018
Tesla is a quick paced and stressful work place. It has amazing benefits and good pay, but you will find yourself easily working at least 60 hours per week. If you love your job at Tesla and Tesla's mission, this will not be a problem. Due to the fast pace at Tesla, you will be constantly learning new skills and will have opportunities to grow if you are a driven, quick learning individual. Aside from the stressful, long hours, Tesla is definitely one of the best tech companies to work at. There is an abundance of opportunity and growth.
Pros
Amazing benefits, great work place, opportunities
Cons
Stressful, long work hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Production Associate (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CA11 April 2018
The work is intellectually stimulating.. Great benefits. Great culture and community. Talented leadership with years of experience. challenging work that requires you to always be on your A-game.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Production Associate (Current Employee) –  Sparks, NV11 April 2018
They are a great company to work for as long as your not across of hard work. Advancement opportunities are there. The atmosphere was very positive. Everyone feels like family. They care!!!
Pros
Worked great for my lifestyle
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK job-only if you're a college student.
Product Specialist (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FL10 April 2018
Phenomenal product (for the most part), horrible management. Over 70% of management doesn't have a clue what they are talking about. Compensation is equivalent to slave wage, I am not sure how many of my coworkers were well into their 30s and were able to afford living expenses working here. As a college student, it was great as a resume-builder, but anyone with a brain and proper credentials would never work for a company that expects you to sling their $100,000 product every single quarter, and not even receive a 1% commission on it in return.
Pros
health insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no work life/personal life balance
Delivery Orientation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Costa Mesa, CA10 April 2018
Employees were expected to work 12+ hr days for more than 7 days in a row.
The management lacked qualifications to run a Delivery Center for a car company.
Pros
good health benefits
Cons
no personal life
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super, energetic place!
Senior Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CA9 April 2018
NDA- Can't talk about it

However, it is a great place to work and I believed in what Tesla is doing there to bring electric cars to the masses!

If you can find housing in the area, are single, then it should work out great for you.
Pros
Everything
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hola Tesla Applicants
Technician (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CA9 April 2018
I just want to say if your looking for a strong company Tesla is the place to be and work extreme hours from 6am-6pm then this is the place for you Good luck. I absolutely Love Tesla
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tesla Motors. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 947 reviews
5283
4275
3200
2103
186

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.4Culture