The Cotton On Group Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team
Senior Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC5 August 2018
There is always a great group of people to work with. Pretty fun and easy.
The company, however, can be quite hierarchical and the little people get left behind.
Communication is an issue as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cotton On
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Joondalup WA1 August 2018
Cotton on had good hours, good staff. Didnt always get the right break. You can have a 10 minute break on 4 hours but not all stores let you. The staff discount is good
Pros
Staff Discount
Cons
Break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
CREW MEMBER (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC29 July 2018
love working with clothes, however there can be times where customers become rude for anything, a lot learned from cotton on with promoting items that are not really as popular as others
Pros
discount
Cons
customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Acting Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Perth WA18 July 2018
working at this company is much like a family, the training and experience from working here I have been able to take on to my future employers and excel further from there.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
first in first served mentality to job progression.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Christmas casual job
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Adelaide SA6 July 2018
Great place to work as a Christmas casual. Received lots of hours and great discounts throughout the cotton on brand. Gets very hectic around Christmas time.
Pros
discount
Cons
on feet all day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment with amazing people to work for
Christmas Casual Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Northland Shopping Centre VIC1 July 2018
I worked for the cotton on group only for a short period of time and I can truly say it's it the only company I feel at home with.The people really take care of you and you and the people you work with become your family. The system is really easy to pick up so no dramas there and bonus discounts!
Pros
50% accross the whole cotton on group for you and your family
Cons
sometimes the day can go slow if there are not many people shopping
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fast paced working environment
Casual Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW22 June 2018
the management was very poor and a typical day at work would be very fast paced and working towards reaching the day's set KPIs. It was an overall good learning experience.
Pros
50% off staff discount across brands
Cons
long hours and poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing people and perks, awful management and little career advancement
Sales Assistant (Casual) (Former Employee) –  Australia9 June 2018
The culture is incredible and you typically make great friends (and the 50% discount is good), but i've been there for 2 years and i'm still in the same position as I was. Upper management doesn't listen and nothing is ever good enough. You probably will never move up. A lot of clique-y behaviour.
Pros
Discounts are neat
Cons
Soul draining
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced, busy work place.
MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Sydney, Australia31 May 2018
As a manager for Typo, a stationary store under the Cotton On Group umbrella, I learnt much about running a store, personnel management, visual merchandising, loss prevention and handling sensitive information and moneys. Always fast paced, Typo and Cotton On challenged all who work there including myself to work as hard as we could and attain our goals.
Pros
Great team environment, great discounts.
Cons
Lack of breaks, highly demanding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good welfare, Good security well-being
Pick Packer (Current Employee) –  Lara VIC14 May 2018
Nice Boss. Have free bread and stuff for toast. good friends.Have coffee tea milk sugar. Free fruits. Free water. Have table tennis and basketball. Have food truck come 2 day a week.
Pros
Free lunch and drink on special day
Cons
long hour good pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but demanding
Casual Team Member (Current Employee) –  Rockhampton QLD9 May 2018
The Cotton On Group have amazing products and try to foster a great work environment but they are very sales orientated to their detriment. They expect amazing KPIs all the time and neglect the staff member at times.
Pros
Foster a fun work culture
Cons
Sales orientated to the detriment of their staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and bubble workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Typo Glebe NSW15 April 2018
I loved working for the Cotton On Group! My store at Typo in Glebe was really fun during Christmas time. Through this role I was taught a lot of independence such as opening and closing the store by myself, meeting and exceeding sales targets and banking.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible management/culture
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Canberra ACT12 April 2018
-poor management that is ill trained and that degrades staff below them
-no work/life balance
-not enough hours, excess casual employment
-not enough permanent staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work! Really enjoyed being part of the set up of a completely new store
Casual Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Perth Central Business District WA5 April 2018
I was disappointed with the way in which I found out I would not be continuing as a casual because I enjoyed the work environment when I was there. I feel as though the management that was there at the time was extremely unprofessional which was frustrating but the culture of the store was still strong due to the other permanent staff present in the store.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workmates, bad management
Casual Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW4 April 2018
Pretty casual average retail job - not much room for job advancement. Good university casual job, decent pay but low hours. Strict management - high expectations with low acknowledgements.
Pros
Staff discounts
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing for casual!
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Perth WA31 March 2018
By far the best job ive had in terms of fun environment getting stuff done. Everyones encouraging and nice to be around. A lot of help and training. Great great people. Only thing they need is FULL TIME POSITIONS! othereise nothin to fault
Pros
People.
Cons
No full time options
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace and great working experience
Part-Time Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Malaysia29 March 2018
Plenty of work to do to keep you on your toes. A fast-paced working environment and friendly team members. Able to learn or sharpen multiple skills while working here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great shop. Awful managment. Griffith nsw
Sales Assistant (Casual) (Former Employee) –  Griffith NsW27 March 2018
High staff turn over.
Preferential treatment of staff members....
Treatment of staff members rude and unprofessional.
Untidy and messy store room often left for other staff members to have to clean up.
Alot of gossip from manager.
Overall disheartening and negative experience.
Never to return again.
Pros
Lovely products.
Cons
Too many to list. Proceed cautiously at this particular store.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work if you have a good team...
Field Visual Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Rather not say21 March 2018
A poorly run business that is struggling to make sales and therefore struggling to look after their people.

They(head office management) talk a lot about "People First" but in reality its "Money First".

Over worked physically and mentally. Poor pay for the HUGE expectations.

Can definitely make it a fun place to work if you can manage your managers to get what you want.
Pros
great discount
Cons
unorganised business
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company culture, fantastic people
Casual Retail Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Karrinyup WA19 March 2018
I worked for Cotton On for over 4 years while studying.
Overall great vibe, lovely people to work with, always learning new things.
I was a casual which is great for flexible working hours, but not so good if you needed a certain amount of hours & income.
I was given a lot of responsibility, trained how to open & close the store, run shifts managing other staff and eventually given the opportunity to manage my own store.
The management are very friendly and supportive, everyone works really hard.
Pros
Discounts
Cons
Unstable hours as casual
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Cotton On Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 759 reviews
5235
4246
3175
258
145

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.7Culture