The Cutting Room Employee Reviews

Showing all 21 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible atmosphere to work.
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Rinkonkoma24 March 2019
Poor work wnvironmwnt. Most of problems stem from owner manager and her family. They talk about there employees to other employees and customers. Told would discuss raise in a few months and told can't afford, but family being paid more for same job.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderfull
Audio Engineer, Production Manager (Current Employee) –  New York, NY14 February 2019
this is a wonderful place to work where everyone is always in high spirits the boss cares the
music is amazing the staff is friendly and creativity is encouraged
Pros
family vibe
Cons
no health care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Friendly staff
Food Prep (Former Employee) –  New York, NY9 January 2019
I felt like I was at home and that the workers there were pretty much my family. We all had Laughed and joked around but when it came to start working everyone would right away get to it. No slacking whatsoever. Would recommend working here.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Really stressful during rush hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Kitchen staff (Former Employee) –  Melton Mowbray4 October 2018
i worked here for a short while before i moved away and can honestly say i enjoyed this job very much i enjoyed going to work for each shift and the staff and management made it even more enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace working
Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lake Ronkonkoma, NY22 January 2018
Normally, working at the cutting room was mostly fast pace and always very busy, especially on days there was only one assistant. All the stylists were very nice and always offered to help with anything you needed.
Pros
good tips
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Cosmetologist/Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Wilmington, OH14 November 2017
The Cutting Room is a fast pace environment, with a relaxed team of coworkers and managers. Everyone is helpful and caring. It is just like working with a family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
owner
Self Employed Hair Stylist (Former Employee) –  Tracy, CA2 October 2017
fast paced and nice if you keep to yourself. a lot of theft problems, product being taken and not returned without asking. the owner promised many things and never followed through. she told us she didn't need us to work there that she could manage the salon on her own.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional.
Salon Owner (Former Employee) –  South west scotland15 September 2017
Consistent and committed to a great customer experience.
Always try's to accommodate all clients, exstends working hours to suit customers.
Always striving to achieve 100% customer satisfaction.
Pros
Successful business
Cons
Long hour
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Hairdresser (Former Employee) –  Perth, Perth and Kinross13 September 2017
Excellent people, fun environment to work
Very busy salon and days just flew in
I loved going to work and interacting with clients and work colleagues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Work Place
Hairdressing Apprentice (Current Employee) –  Widnes, Cheshire7 June 2017
The most enjoyable part of the job is working together in a team to complete a job that has been given. I love working customer service organising peoples appointments and helping people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Saturday Girl (Former Employee) –  Widnes, Cheshire2 April 2017
Lovely people to work with, very friendly and understanding to all clients. Fun environment, lots of laughs and learnt a lot about working with all ages.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly
Stylist (Former Employee) –  Castle Bromwich, West Midlands13 March 2017
Staff very friendly clients very polite and friendly . Nice atmosphere in the work place you can always walk In and be granted to have a appoiment . The work environment was very clean and up to a good standard
Pros
Allways have your hair done as perkes of the job
Cons
Not enough clients walking through
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Receptionist/ Administrator (Former Employee) –  London17 January 2017
Learnt reception duties from true professionals. Enjoyed the part time hours but felt long term this job didn't have any advancement. Learnt how to use Sage payroll package which I really enjoyed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Sallon
Weekend Assistant (Current Employee) –  Frizington, ENG7 September 2015
The Cutting room is an excellent salon to work for and treat their workers extremely well. I have learned allot of personal skills as well as skills i would use on the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good first job.
Cleaner (Part-Time) (Former Employee) –  Manchester, ENG9 May 2015
The cutting room was a good place for my first job, the work wasn't too hard, and I never had to work a shift that was too long or too strenuous. I would most likely still be working there if not for the business shutting down.
Pros
Flexible hours, Enjoyable work, Good co-workers.
Cons
Poor working conditions, Was not made aware of the shop shutting down.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Free labor but solid place
Assistant Audio Engineer (Former Employee) –  New York, NY16 December 2014
This business has their stafff of hire engineers. It is hard to make money at this studio. I learned how to set up and break down sessions, book clients and deal with daily tasks of the office.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good atmosphere
Work Experience - School (Former Employee) –  Barnsley, ENG8 September 2014
A typical day would involve making and bringing coffee and/or tea and/or other requirements to the customers. I then would sweep up hair and use the bins provided to dispose of the waste. I would also take the initiative and clean the stock room and display cabinets. I would then run errands for the more senior staff working at the salon. The management was brilliant. They were friendly and helpful when i became stuck with the task in hand. My co-workers were also very friendly and would involve me in the conversations. The hardest part of my job was at first striking up conversation with strangers, but my shy personality went away with more and more conversation. I enjoyed all aspects of my job while i was their.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Assistant Hairdresser (Former Employee) –  Saint Helens, ENG11 January 2014
I enjoyed working at The Cutting Room hair salon because it was a fun workplace and a there was always a good atmosphere in the salon. I met a lot of people while working there and made some good friends, both staff and clientele.
Pros
Good atmosphere and nice staff
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
treat interns badly
Public Relations Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NY17 April 2013
I gave them my effort and dedication but I was repeatedly asked to wash dishes/clean bathrooms/install Air Conditioners...all things that have nothing to do with my time there. I was never told about these things up front.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Workplace
Hairdressing Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Torbay North shore12 January 2013
Was a fun environment to work in.
Great experience.
Management was great co-workers were good.
Nice place to work.
Pros
they challenged me
Cons
far travel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Cutting Room. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 21 reviews
511
46
32
20
12

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.8Culture