The Reject Shop Employee Reviews for Retail Sales Associate

Found 26 reviews matching the search See all 320 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment to work in
Retail Assistant (Current Employee) –  Burleigh Heads QLD15 March 2019
Overall great experience working there. Every staff member is well trained and mannered. However they could provide more hours as the company decreases them, they could be more generous with giving hours to their casual staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative working Experience
Retail Assistant Services (Former Employee) –  Garden City QLD17 January 2019
The reject shop, whilst a good store to shop at, the management is atrocious. Every shift I would be on edge constantly, with managers picking at every detail. It made every shift a guessing game of whether it would be a good shift or an appalling one, with no in-between.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Retail Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Roselands NSW4 December 2018
sales floor and customer service and the management is very good nice managers the workplace culture is very good, the hardest part of the job is sales floor
Pros
get a good break
Cons
long hrs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not so much fun
Retail Assistant (Current Employee) –  Dapto NSW23 August 2018
Only get three hours a shift so i manly at register or fixing up aisles. some days do get busy which is good keeps me busy. Only thing i dont like is that i am by myself all the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun busy productive work place
Retail Assistant part time / full time five years (Current Employee) –  Reject Shop Distribution29 July 2018
Slightly abit of pressure on flexiblilty, overly worked poor budgets towards rosters high demand on having the right body mobility towards lifting packing and reorganising stocked shelfs OHS matters :)
Pros
Great customers
Cons
Not flexiable enough
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pasted and interactive.
Retail Sales Rep (Former Employee) –  Morayfield QLD24 June 2018
-Serve customers at registers.
-Help customers on floor.
-Stock shelves.
-Clean floor/store and shelves.
-Face up ( Face products towards the front neatly.)
Pros
disscounts.
Cons
gets very busy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical retail job, easy and straight forward
Retail sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Pakenham VIC17 April 2018
was trained very professionally, fast paced but also relaxed environment. working with a lot of young people, lots of variety within the job. flexibility with shifts
Pros
trained professionally, variety in the job
Cons
bit of a bland environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay, poor management
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Merrylands NSW11 February 2018
I worked at this company for 2 years and found they really lacked in loyalty. They would bombard you with hours one week and then the next month or so you'd be without work/income. I tried to juggle work and uni; it was difficult. I would give up going to a lecture at uni to cover a shift they were desperate for someone to cover and they'd never appreciate your effort or hard work. The area manager came in once and told my store manager that he's never seen the registers so neatly kept and well managed how I had run then; yet she still would nitpick at my work and always have an excuse not to roster me. Plain and simple, I had gotten too old and my wage was too high so they hired lots of younger kids and gave them all the shifts. The only good things is the people you work with (besides management) are awesome and lifetime friends, and the pay is probably the best you could find.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hervey Bay QLD28 November 2017
Work was fun but hours were never constant and manager were rude and never happy and if jobs were not completed managers took it out on the staff in rude ways
Pros
employees got along with each other
Cons
managers were rude and hours werent constant
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was fun
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fairfield NSW1 October 2017
decent job, had fun, got paid.
I got along with everyone i worked with, including the customers. Everyone was lovely. Thanks for letting me work with you guys even though im very clumsy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they look after you
Retail Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Gungahlin ACT7 August 2017
Work hard and you get rewarded, never really had a problem with the work culture. Theres always a one or two people who you wont want to work with but other than that the work culture is good and managers will treat you with respect. Since i've been with the company i don't have anything really bad to say about the reject shop.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customers were Wonderful
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Port Augusta SA1 August 2017
Not well managed and policy and procedures were not up to scratch.
Needs to have better procedures for checkout operators and opening times should stay the same all year through.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff, bad hours
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Currimundi QLD15 June 2017
The staff were really nice and great to work with, training is easy although somethings do get missed. Lately the rostering has changed and hours are really stingy.
Pros
Friendly team
Cons
Short shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworker and good workplace
Retail Assistant (Current Employee) –  Penrith NSW23 May 2017
Reject shop is a great place to work, but it is hard to get shifts out of some of the managers but they are good to work with because they are very flexible an can work around if you need time off, but working at the Reject shop is a great place to learn customer service skills.
Pros
New friends
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good retail work
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Noosa Heads QLD1 December 2016
Average retail work. Doing a bit of everything, stocking shelves, stocktaking, customer service and register operator. having worked there for over 2 years i found it was a decent job and a decent source of income as a student. lost the job because i moved house and broke my clavicle, took too much time off and it was too difficult to travel to work.
Pros
Money
Cons
Clients are "always right"
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace, treat everyone who works there like family and all get on very well
Retail Assistant (Casual) (Current Employee) –  Cairns QLD27 November 2016
Everyone in the reject shop gets on so very well, we help each other out and treat each and every employee like family. Pay is reasonable and breaks are very fair.
Pros
Making customers happy
Cons
Not very many hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and a great working environment
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Burnie TAS30 August 2016
Fun and a great working environment, exceptional team and enjoyed working there for the period i did. Wouldn't have left, i only did due to moving state.
Pros
Lots
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Reject shop is a positive and productive work place.
Retail Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Adelaide SA7 August 2016
At the reject shop, it is always a positive and productive workplace, where needs are meet in customer service. The work floor and shelves are always tidy allowing a eye catching appeal for customers to shop. All co-workers have a friendly attitude towards each other and customers, management is always open to ideas on how to improve the store and customer service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
retail assistant (Former Employee) –  mt druitt11 October 2015
Great place to work, Friendly managers and work mates, lots of hours and good opportunities to progress in the business
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting workplace
Retail Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Salisbury, SA14 December 2014
Working at The Reject Shop has been a very rewarding and fulfilling experience. It has been an excellent first job that has taught me all the basics I need to know about working in the workplace and the co-workers make it a much more happy environment to be in. The most enjoyable part about working at the The Reject Shop would be putting all the stock on the shelves and doing recovery because i like to see the difference I can make on the appearance of the products.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Reject Shop. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 320 reviews
595
4105
387
218
115

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture