The Reject Shop Employee Reviews

Showing all 328 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a workplace
Customer Service & Stocker (Former Employee) –  Glendale NSW30 November 2017
the manager at glendale is really rude towards all new employees, only has favourites towards older employees, the job is good for some points but not all the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hervey Bay QLD28 November 2017
Work was fun but hours were never constant and manager were rude and never happy and if jobs were not completed managers took it out on the staff in rude ways
Pros
employees got along with each other
Cons
managers were rude and hours werent constant
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very helpful as a first job, gave me experience in retail and in a workplace environment
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Deagon QLD22 November 2017
This job was my first job and I have gained a lot of experience working with customers and other employees through this opportunity. I learnt to deal with customer enquiries and responsibilities and care as an employee.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and entertaining work enviroment
staff (Former Employee) –  Perth WA16 November 2017
productive and a fun workplace with funny workmate.
while working at the reject shop i have learned and gained some valuable skills that will contribute to any future role i hold in the retail industry.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hour
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
only for work experience
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Werribee VIC16 November 2017
i worked at rejected for only 2 weeks. I gain skills from stacking up shelves and communicating with customers for the first time as it was my first time working.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and bad
Team Member (Casual) (Former Employee) –  South Adelaide SA13 November 2017
Shifts for casuals are not guaranteed, didn't get on the roster for 6 weeks, called in twice for others calling up sick. Any other time I was on the roster, I only got 3 hours a week, 5 at the max. Managers always changing which caused inconsistency with the way the store was run. Team members complained about each other behind their backs. Wasn't made to feel a part of the team, always on register by myself with a trolley of stock. Only got taught how to operate register and put out stock so if I was asked to do anything else but didn't know how, they were funny towards me and made me feel dumb for not knowing.
Pros
awesome pay
Cons
hardly any shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stimulating workplace with great employees
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Narre Warren VIC12 November 2017
- A typical day at work includes moving stock around and arranging them on shelves. Meeting new and old customers everyday that are good in nature and polite to staff.
Pros
Fun environment
Cons
Quite times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic, uncaring, progression nonexistent
Full-Time 2IC (Former Employee) –  Jimboomba QLD10 November 2017
Extremely toxic environment, everyone has something to say about everyone else but only behind their backs. Management just alienate and throw staff around
Cons
Horrible Management, No Progression Incentives, Bad Work Practices
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the reject shop
Part Time/Casual Work (Former Employee) –  Shepparton VIC31 October 2017
I got this job because when I was in school I needed money so it was quick and easy money if someone was to go for this job I wouldn't recommend it because I didn't like it
Pros
good lunch break
Cons
i didnt like it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Team member (Current Employee) –  Rockdale NSW28 October 2017
Management is not so good. I was promised to have 15 hours at least, but it never happened. I have liked the corporate culture but disappointed with the work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lovely place to work
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Wagga Wagga NSW27 October 2017
the reject shop is a great place to work offering good flexible hours and many chances to progress your career also offering a great discount available at anyreject shop australia wide
Pros
felxable hours and store discounts
Cons
very busy environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty decent company to work for
Customer service (Current Employee) –  Cairns QLD25 October 2017
Loved everyone I worked with, and was given plenty of training and opportunities to progress within the company. Would never get bored working here, theres always something to do, although this did become testing at times. Managers would constantly be under pressure to do way too much work than they should have to, and are often given no choice but to do 12+ hour days because of this.
Pros
Really great people that worked there, merchandising things how you want
Cons
un-necessarily high workload with little staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close to home
Sales Assistant, permanent part time (Former Employee) –  Woy Woy NSW23 October 2017
Good job for casual school leaver.
Pay was on par with what the workload required.
Good management but not a job for the future.
Close to home at main shops
Pros
Easy
Cons
Reject Shop
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a relaxed and fun working environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Australia17 October 2017
It was a relaxed and fun working environment . An enjoyable partime job. No stress. I learned how to stack shelves and greet customers and use a cashier.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Team Member (Casual) (Former Employee) –  Oran Park NSW9 October 2017
There’s always something new & surprising at The Reject Shop. With the lowest possible prices in every department, everyday The Reject Shop makes saving money easier. Whether you’re looking for some of your favourite grocery or cleaning brands, homewares, pet needs or party goodies … you’ll find them all and hundreds more bargains at The Reject Shop. Come on, get savvy.
Pros
good
Cons
staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working environment
MERCHANDISING (Current Employee) –  Lake Haven NSW3 October 2017
ive learnt to operate registers, merchandise, clean the shop and loss prevention
the reject shop is a fun and friendly work environment.
I have worked with the reject shop coming on now 2 years.
the staff are friendly, helpful and always happy.
at busy hours of the day the register roll can become stressful.
Pros
staff discount
Cons
shifts get cut
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was fun
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Fairfield NSW1 October 2017
decent job, had fun, got paid.
I got along with everyone i worked with, including the customers. Everyone was lovely. Thanks for letting me work with you guys even though im very clumsy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safety in the work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Wagga Wagga NSW30 September 2017
is very customer safe, issues were always dealt and resolved, staff would always greet customers with a smile and always made sure the customers were well looked after, staff would help customers even if they were on beak
Pros
friendly staff
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
always on your feet but nice company to work for
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  St Helens TAS30 September 2017
typical day at work included: customer service, stock refill, end of day recovery and cleaning. management was good, everything was fair, and everyone was treated as an equal until it came to others in the workplace who decided to bully other co workers. there wasn't really anything hard about the job as such, it was reasonably good for a first job. the most enjoyable part of the job would be the people you met
Pros
new people to meet, discounts off things you buy within the shop, good lunch breaks
Cons
bullying whenever it occurred, difficult customers, making sure the till was always right
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place, not enough hours given
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kwinana WA27 September 2017
Not enough hours given
Horrible Manager
productive workplace
Fun environment
Favouritism
Work colleagues were always kind
In all was an Ok job
Early hours were better
Pros
Long hours
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Reject Shop. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 328 reviews
596
4108
389
219
116

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture