The Reject Shop Employee Reviews

Found 334 reviews matching the search See all 336 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable workplace
Team Leader/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Perth, WA11 October 2015
Working stock, recovery, replenishment, and tills.

team work is the key!!!

management are great but need a bit more communication between both parties.

co workers were always great and fun to be around.

was locking the dodgy door at the end of each shift.

Helping the customers with anything they need, especially the oldies, always a great laugh.
Pros
free lunches at meetings
Cons
lack of team work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Main cashier (Former Employee) –  Melbourne, Australia VIC23 September 2015
I highly enjoyed working at the Reject Shop as I loved serving customers, interacting and having conversations with the customers. A typical day for me at the store would be to open up my register, make sure my registers clean and tidy, being the main cashier I was responsible to keeping the front of the store clean at all times. When it wasn't busy I would stock shelves just near the register, also would sweep the floors and wipe benches. Serve customers, speak to them friendly and ask them if they need any help
Pros
discount
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont take things on face value
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Glenelg, SA20 September 2015
I learned that if it seems un-ethical it generally is.
At times working with the staff was the hardest part.
only got along well with a couple of managers, people mainly out for themselves
Pros
life experience
Cons
manipulative culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Josie (manager) (Former Employee) –  morayfield7 September 2015
fun work place with supportive management.
not all about the numbers but how you personally grow and develop. great colleagues and a overall great workplace
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
being productive with fun people
Cashier and Recovery (Former Employee) –  melbourne VIC3 September 2015
The workers in the reject shop have a great sense of humour and are really welcoming to new employers and customers. Although the customers can be sketchy, the workers and the payment is worthwhile.
Pros
in the werribee pacific
Cons
annoying customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Happy, Enjoyable
Checkout Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Cairns, QLD25 August 2015
Loved the team efforts, management was really good, supportive people, great customer focused team. Happy workwing for such a great company.
Pros
Team Efforts
Cons
Staff Absences
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Usually fun, though the insults get to you.
Checkout Operator (Current Employee) –  Cairns, QLD23 August 2015
Most days are spent singing along to music and serving at the checkout, answering customer inquiries and restocking the shop. I have learned the basic rules on how to properly merchandise however, it being the Reject Shop we do attract some negative people, (which, yes, you do get everywhere) that come in fairly often and are easily upset. My boss I believe picks on my, saying I have a bad attitude however, I have asked other co-workers and they say I am the opposite. The hardest part of my job is to stay happy after an unhappy customer and the most enjoyable is the sense of pride I feel when the shop looks perfect again.
Pros
15% discount on stock, good co-workers
Cons
My boss and the long hours on both weekend days
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and has alots fun work at reject shop
packer (Current Employee) –  Melbourne, VIC22 August 2015
i had alots fun working at reject shop because i got important thing working at reject such as How to good serve customers and help them if they need help.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cash
Cashier (Former Employee) –  TAS20 August 2015
was good learning and fun lots of work to do and fun and easy was good help. most the time I spent doing customer service and cash handling
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never a dull moment
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Blacktown5 August 2015
Every shift was a good shift, regardless if the hours were long or not. Managers are understanding and are willing to help you reach your fullest potential. I learnt how to deal with customers and understand what they need. I also learnt how to smile and greet customers with respect regardless of the situation. My co-workers became family and it was something I always looked forward to. The hardest part of the job was leaving it because it was all in all great. I enjoyed most of my time there but then again every job has its ups and downs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was a fun place to work
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Berri, SA4 August 2015
I loved working for the reject shop it was a shame that they only had two days stock take work as would of loved to stay working there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work for
check out and Working Floor (Former Employee) –  Bendigo, VIC5 July 2015
It was pretty much the same job as the one I'm doing now. Different's was on register mainly and my first job. They had better management at this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Casual (Former Employee) –  Mount Druitt, NSW3 July 2015
Friendly and fun work place with great workers and managers. Flexible hours. Jobs are usually easy. Once assigned task is completed there will always be another task that needs to be done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting workplace
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Dandenong1 July 2015
It was an alright choice to experience in for work experience but it was not somewhere I would proceed to work at. The management was okay, except they were quite harsh as they had always put a team member and I to work together and unpack products but then complain about it. The hardest part of the job but the constant lifting boxes from shelfs as high as 2.5 Metres. The enjoyable part was the friendly staff.
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
90% of the time was lifting boxes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to gain skills
sales. (Former Employee) –  Ayr28 June 2015
I gained skills in customer service and sales which was good. The company needs to work on its management and hours policies. other than that it is a good company.
Pros
friendly staff
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Team Member (Current Employee) –  Sydney, NSW18 June 2015
It was a great experience to get to work at the Reject Shop,
If i could go back i would in a heartbeat. Great Co-Workers, Some times it can be very tiring but with the staff and management you have to help and support its overall great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment to work if I could get the hours I need
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Victoria Point QLD9 June 2015
If I could get more hours I would really love working there.
Most of the staff are great and we have a good team spirit.
The pay, when I get shifts, is really good
Pros
Reasonable pay
Cons
Insufficient hours provided
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and a fun work plus
team member (Current Employee) –  lara vic4 June 2015
work is all ways changing never doing the same stuff goes from customer service to unloading stock and ticketing the shelf,s as well
Pros
good people to work with
Cons
not enough hours for us all
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Melbourne, VIC18 May 2015
Learnt how to talk to and help customers in a polite manner, how to resolve problems, how to stock shelves, proper way to handle money. etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Sales Assistance (Former Employee) –  Sale,12 May 2015
A typical day was spent doing customer service and stock control.
Loved working with the customers and interacting with them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Reject Shop. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 336 reviews
5102
4109
390
219
116

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture