The Reject Shop Employee Reviews

Showing all 320 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Townsville QLD4 May 2018
Loved working here, management team was awesome and easy to talk to about any problems, team I was with was also great to work with and everyone works hard to reach all store goals
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On the down.
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Geelong VIC2 May 2018
The company is haemorrhaging money big time, this has led to ridiculous cuts across the board. I was left managing an undermanned store, with unrealistic expectations. I understand that you have to save money, but there is no excuse for constantly undercutting loyal managers. The amount of lies I was fed was unfathomable.
Pros
The Staff that work in store.
Cons
Expectations of extra unpaid hours, constant lies from area managers and up, unrealistic expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and productive workplace.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Australia21 April 2018
Working at The reject shop gave my a lot of experience in retail and how to give good customer service. the hardest part of my job was interacting with difficult customers and the most enjoyable was working with great team members.
Pros
Friendly team members
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Sales Assistant / Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Mildura VIC19 April 2018
Not A very nice management people.....
nice team members, /............................/////
fun place to work
good hours
easy work not a busy shop.....
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical retail job, easy and straight forward
Retail sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Pakenham VIC17 April 2018
was trained very professionally, fast paced but also relaxed environment. working with a lot of young people, lots of variety within the job. flexibility with shifts
Pros
trained professionally, variety in the job
Cons
bit of a bland environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work for the reject shop
2IC Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Horsham VIC6 April 2018
Over worked under staffed constantly wanting better but do not provide the resources needed such as staff. It's a very selfish company with no worry of stress and demand they put into the people that run the stores
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, never boring and always happy
Store Person (Former Employee) –  Jimboomba QLD5 April 2018
I loved my job and all of its aspects. But unfortunately had to move states and had to quit my job at The Reject Shop. Would love to join the team again one day
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and well organised company
TUGGERNONG (CLEANER) (Former Employee) –  Tuggeranong ACT5 April 2018
My typical day at work would consist of logging into electronic log in device, the management of the staff was good the thing I didn't like was some of the equiptment needed updating.
Pros
close to home
Cons
low pay rate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great work environment with great management and excellent staff
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Maryborough QLD22 March 2018
Was a awesome workplace, got to meet and interact with a wide variety of people either as customers, boss's or fellow employees. it assisted me in gain superior customer service skills and training was always available to insure skills were developed
Pros
Big discounts store wide
Cons
Shifts were too short
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with an amazing atmosphere.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Geelong7 March 2018
Working at The Reject Shop was a great experience for a long term job. Working with amazing people and making lifelong friends. It helped me overcome my anxiety and I now find myself feeling confident and enjoy speaking to many people.
Pros
Great team to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The pay is ok
Customer service (Current Employee) –  Fairfield QLD6 March 2018
it is busy on the weekend, I have learnt customer service . the work place is ok . the hardest part of the job is trying to keep up with the customers .
Pros
i get a break after 3.5 hours.
Cons
bad pay . little pay and not much hours available .
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place - awful upper management.
CUSTOMER SERVICE (Former Employee) –  Rosebud VIC23 February 2018
The upper management is unbelievably corrupt - often restricting my shifts to no more than 3.75 hours to avoid giving me a paid break. Apart from that, good environment.
Pros
Good pay.
Cons
Awful shift times.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best experience
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Wagga Wagga NSW23 February 2018
Fast paced and consumer orientated.
Store teams are expected to work miracles.
No recognition for hard work.
Poor management.
Workplace culture is great - no discrimination

Would highly recommend The Reject Shop as a starting point in a retail career.
Pros
Friendly staff, flexible hours, high pay rate
Cons
Heavy workload, not enough wages for staff, long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace for people new to the workforce
TEAM MEMBER (Current Employee) –  Dandenong VIC21 February 2018
The Reject Shop has very knowledgeable managers that can help develop customer service skills and problem solving skills.
The rate of pay is very good.
The workload is reasonable therefore no stress issues.
Pros
Good rates
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Cleveland QLD19 February 2018
I enjoyed working there it was pretty laidback. The team i worked with were really fun and cool to be around and were always helping me if i needed assistance
Pros
Lunch breaks
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very bad to work for.
TEAM MEMBER (Former Employee) –  Dalby QLD19 February 2018
The manager was harassing me and i got bullied so i couldn't take it any longer, she personally victimised me and make me feel horrible and it made me not want to come to work and do my job. No matter what i did i always got picked on by the store manager, wasn't a good environment to work in in that case. The people i worked with weren't very inviting and friendly either, making it hard to come to work and be happy there.
Pros
hours
Cons
manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working Customer Service
CUSTOMER SERVICE OPERATOR (Current Employee) –  Canberra ACT15 February 2018
Woking at the Reject Shop is an rewarding experience. I have learned many valuable skills and responsibilities that will help me throughout my professional and personal career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun high paced environment
Retail Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Brisbane Central Business District QLD12 February 2018
Worked for TRS for 4 years. Mostly enjoyed the role although as the company updated it's business model, i found the stock targets to be a bit unreasonable. However it is a very fun environment with a good rate of pay. It's a hard working job but the benefits make it worth it.
Pros
High Pay, Hard work but easy work, Fun environment
Cons
poor hours outside of seasonal hours, unreasonable workloads, drama
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Reject Shop
Manager (Former Employee) –  Adelaide SA12 February 2018
You don't get paid for any overtime but are required to work it every week. There's a huge lack of support from management and HR. You have unrealistic expectations put on you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Gladstone and Noosa QLD - 2IC Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Gladstone QLD Noosa QLD Currimundi QLD12 February 2018
Loved working at the Reject shop, very friendly and easy going but professional team. Very Good consistent training and education opportunities. Fair wages for all positions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Reject Shop. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 320 reviews
595
4105
387
218
115

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture