The Salvation Army Employee Reviews

Found 572 reviews matching the search See all 11,220 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Supportive Team with Compassion
Assessment Intake Worker (Current Employee) –  Auburn NSW23 June 2019
A wonderful and rewarding organization to work for, to bring so much hope, and support to the community who is in deep need. A very supportive environment, great flexibility and lots of perks including salary packaging.
Pros
Lots of breaks and supervision
Cons
Too far from home.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible - South Nowra
Driver/Labourer (Former Employee) –  South Nowra Nsw13 June 2019
Volunteers are treated badly by a stupid uncaring manager and his few little staff member girls. Female staff members there thing that they are god, disrespectful and just plain rude to volunteers. Salvation Army thinks it is a real Army in it's mentality. Understaffed and under pay and bullying by other staff members such as a stupid idiot from the Unanderra branch that has a mental problem along with a big mouth and small brain. Never again.
Pros
Lovely dealing with the public.
Cons
Stuid gay manager who is out of touch with reality.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
slow workplace
Front-of-house volunteering (Current Employee) –  Chatswood NSW10 June 2019
very slow workplace. Mostly old people work there it is voluntary but you meet some people your age that does volunteering. Gets boring sometimes but everyone is friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful place to volunteer
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Hobart TAS31 May 2019
A wonderful, welcoming place to be involved in. I love the feeling volunteering there brings me. The Salvation Army is an amazing orginasation, that doesn't get enough credit for the work that they do
Pros
Kind people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to volunteer
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Parramatta NSW26 May 2019
Great place to start volunteer and helping the people who need help. Great people to work with also and feel accomplished to give back to society. Positive outcome.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average workforce
MR Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Adelaide SA23 May 2019
A typical day at work for the salvation army is thus,

Managers complain alot and get what they want every time, no matter what. Even if they havent followed rules.

The donors are sometimes rude to you for not taking their rubbish and expect you to take it for free but then force the salvation army to pay to dump their rubbish.
Pros
Go home whenever you finish the run
Cons
Bad attitudes from donors and store managers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good rewarding experience
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Campsie NSW21 May 2019
It was pretty fun and i got a lot of enjoyment out of it. Job was volunteer but i managed to learn a lot about face to face interactions and also contribute to the community.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun easy going different fun to learn tasks enjoyable Enviro ment
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bunbury WA18 May 2019
Great relaxed people so many different people you get to meet each day a d remember familiar customers it feels just as if it were a family business and your treated kindly and respectfully
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment for meeting all kinds of people and working with a wide range of products
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Perth WA16 May 2019
i worked as a volunteer the work was enjoyable and all the interactions between customers and other staff. learned the basics of retail and customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really good
Work Experience Student (Former Employee) –  Dapto NSW13 May 2019
it is a great place to send students to do work experience at you can learn a lot from the team there really enjoyed doing it, and hope more people get great fun out of it as I did.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to contribute to community and help people.
Volunteer Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gosnells WA9 May 2019
a day at work was fun, and meeting new people was great especially helping and giving back. I felt great when i helped and did something for other people rather than myself. Working made me help people, and that in it self was rewarding even if it meant no pay.
Pros
making friends, helping less fortunate people
Cons
nothing bad to say because it was all in good spirit.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and active work with good staff
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Coolum Beach QLD3 May 2019
my overall experience working at the Salvation Army was highly enjoyed and I gained grea retail experience, I learned register and and clothes cataloging experience.
Pros
good staff
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Cleveland QLD3 May 2019
Great place to start leaning how to work the cash register and build up your peoples skills. It is also good to get some retail experience if your looking for a job in that work force.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Retail Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD1 May 2019
As I am a volunteer, it’s a great place to work for experience in the retail sector. If you’re eager to learn, you will get taught everything. Try it.
Pros
Learning
Cons
No advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cashier at Salvation Army
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Sinnamon Park QLD30 April 2019
I work cashier at salvation army, put out stock, sort stock, clothes, help customers, move furniture, answer phone calls. I learned customer service skills. The hardest part is moving furniture. The most enjoyable part is the range of people you meet.
Pros
Nice People.
Cons
Don't get paid.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The environment and people were great.
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Salisbury SA15 April 2019
I enjoyed my coworkers and managers, it was a great environment to work in. I was a volunteer so I wasn't paid a salary but those that were seemed happy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job Course
Student (Former Employee) –  Surry Hills NSW11 April 2019
I did a youth job course. It was a great opportunity and very rewarding. The course is very stress free and a fun place to learn to for young people to find a job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Café Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wollongong NSW7 April 2019
not there anymore i have left the job
i have learned to make coffee
long hours
always busy
or sometimes not busy at all
it was fun working there through
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2 small breaks in a day
E-Bay Assistant (Current Employee) –  Noble Park VIC28 March 2019
Good work life balance, morning and afternoon tea breaks, not enough staff to provide extra support, friendly workplace culture, the hardest part of job is always bending down alot, wish they would provide table length support, poor OHS.
Pros
taking breaks
Cons
Poor OHS
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Gepps Cross SA25 March 2019
It was a good work environment and taught me how to be a relible and good . i would reccomend working there for experince and a stepping stone into the work force
Pros
good team work
Cons
long days sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The Salvation Army. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 11,220 reviews
54.8K
43.1K
32.1K
2638
1632

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture