The University of Queensland Employee Reviews

Found 78 reviews matching the search See all 83 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect working environment
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD19 February 2019
Productive and fun when there are many different researchers with different backgrounds working together in the same environment, sharing funny stories everyday in leisure time.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Producive and organized workplace
Doctoral Researcher (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD8 February 2019
A very good place to work. Very organized. I learned a lot, worked with very new laboratory machines that I've never thought I'll work. I learned more about different cultures and respect. The workplace used to be calm and friendly. The tearoom used to be a place to eat our lunch and make friends. The hardest part of the job was the beginning, just to be in use with the routine, safety inductions and all rules. And the most enjoyable job part was seeing my research developing, was really exciting!!
Pros
Always a friendly atmosphere
Cons
work by myself sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My opinion of this position was one of favour. I enjoyed a great salary, and workplace conditions. I advanced to Senior Security Officer/Supervisor .
Senior Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD17 January 2019
The shifts comprised a 24/7 rotating roster.
Each shift involved mobile patrols, foot patrols and comms room operations.
Management were very diligent and all about workplace health and safety.
I made some very good friends as well as work colleagues during my time.
The downside to this position was the shift rotations and very little down time between shift changes.
I enjoyed a working with some great people.
Pros
Great work colleagues and salary
Cons
Shift changes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Postdoctoral Research Fellow (Former Employee) –  St Lucia QLD13 January 2019
I had the great opportunity to research literary studies and share my knowledge at the national and international conferences with like-minded scholars.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great colleagues and supportive environment
Student Peer Tutor (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD29 December 2018
The University of Queensland was both a fun and challenging place to work. Sometimes there were pizza evenings as a treat. Everyone got along well. The hardest part of the job was the statistics content and the most enjoyable part was working alongside friendly people.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
VOLUNTEER (Former Employee) –  St Lucia QLD11 November 2018
It is my pleasure to be a volunteer and work for HASS Crew and UQ Volunteering. I have learned so many things from the work, such as communication skills, networks, and the way working in efficiency. In the meantime, I had a great time working with other volunteers. I have also learned so many things from these volunteers and their cultures. It was an enjoyable experience.
Pros
free food
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Student Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD6 November 2018
Great place to work. Excellent coworkers. Really enjoyed my time there. Great atmosphere. Pay was good for a casual position. Work was relaxed. Really enjoyed
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Administration Officer (Former Employee) –  St Lucia QLD27 October 2018
I am a former student and employee. Both my student time and my employment there was an awful experience. There was no work-life balance, the benefits were good, no opportunity for advancement as a professional staffer, management was terrible and so was the job culture (seemed the bullies got rewarded).
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gatton QLD12 September 2018
Excellent place to increase your research and development network and skills. A place to build self-confidence and teamwork during your scientific research with an amazing infrastructure and library
Pros
great campuses
Cons
expensive
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best workplace ever
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD29 August 2018
You get well-equipped for the tasks, have a lot of responsibility, you get to more or less choose your own hours, and the pay rate is super high for the work done. I really enjoyed my time there.
Pros
Salary, hours, tasks
Cons
Sometimes we needed to skip lunch during whole day pracs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly place
Volunteer Work (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD29 July 2018
I have developed my knowledge in the field of advanced drug delivery systems and analytical chemistry using UHPLC. I have learnt to prepare liposomes using supercritical fluid technology alongside the conventional Bangham Method and solid-state peptide synthesis.
Pros
Supportive environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Research Assistant (Casual) (Former Employee) –  St Lucia QLD29 July 2018
Low to Medium Workload.
Friendly supervisors
Well-paid
Great work-life balance
Flexible working hours
Great workplace atmosphere and low pressure
High tolerance to errors and willingness to train the new staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Casual Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD11 July 2018
I never visited or worked at the UQ campuses (I worked at a different location, but still under UQ). This means that I can not give UQ an accurate review, although my time there was great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ability to explore ideas and potential.
RESEARCH ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Pinjarra Hills QLD25 June 2018
Good, relaxed and autonomous work. Ability to explore ideas and potential.

I run experiments to determine key data for industry members. My work will be used for the development of a new type of engineer that runs on methanol.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was studying there
Student (Former Employee) –  QLD3 June 2018
The university of Queensland was a great university to study master of energy studies and great opportunity for me to be part of that. I am so happy about where I was studying.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for students looking to gain experience and pocket money
Chemistry Peer Assisted Study Leader (Former Employee) –  University Of Queensland QLD16 May 2018
I definitely recommend working as a tutor at UQ. You get to experience working while you're studying. It pays well and doesn't take up too much of your time. However, competition for tutoring positions are strong and you definitely need to be exceptional to keep getting the job every semester. Good Luck :)
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun loving in research sector
Key Undertakings and Achievements (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD12 May 2018
great culture and great people. it is a wonderful place to work. Excellent academic and research environment and world class research facilities. it is vey beautiful campus.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best paying internship you will find
Intern and Equine Medicine and Surgery (Former Employee) –  Gatton, Qld5 March 2018
Great mentors and great facility. Best paying internship you will find. Hard work and long hours. Could do with more HR type management but still a good team.
Pros
Good pay and benefits
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UQ Review
Animal Attendant (Former Employee) –  Gatton QLD29 January 2018
The University of Queensland is a great place to work. They always paid me on time and they have awesome pay rates. However I really struggled to get a separation certificate from them
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD23 January 2018
It is a good place to work in, helped me grew my skills and knowledge. Gave me opportunity to experience teaching and international internship during my PhD
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The University of Queensland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 83 reviews
548
420
310
21
14

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
4.1Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture