The University of Queensland

The University of Queensland Pay & Benefits reviews

Found 14 reviews matching the search See all 98 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My opinion of this position was one of favour. I enjoyed a great salary, and workplace conditions. I advanced to Senior Security Officer/Supervisor .
Senior Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD17 January 2019
The shifts comprised a 24/7 rotating roster.
Each shift involved mobile patrols, foot patrols and comms room operations.
Management were very diligent and all about workplace health and safety.
I made some very good friends as well as work colleagues during my time.
The downside to this position was the shift rotations and very little down time between shift changes.
I enjoyed a working with some great people.
Pros
Great work colleagues and salary
Cons
Shift changes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Administration Officer (Former Employee) –  St Lucia QLD27 October 2018
I am a former student and employee. Both my student time and my employment there was an awful experience. There was no work-life balance, the benefits were good, no opportunity for advancement as a professional staffer, management was terrible and so was the job culture (seemed the bullies got rewarded).
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best workplace ever
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD29 August 2018
You get well-equipped for the tasks, have a lot of responsibility, you get to more or less choose your own hours, and the pay rate is super high for the work done. I really enjoyed my time there.
Pros
Salary, hours, tasks
Cons
Sometimes we needed to skip lunch during whole day pracs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best paying internship you will find
Intern and Equine Medicine and Surgery (Former Employee) –  Gatton, Qld5 March 2018
Great mentors and great facility. Best paying internship you will find. Hard work and long hours. Could do with more HR type management but still a good team.
Pros
Good pay and benefits
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UQ Review
Animal Attendant (Former Employee) –  Gatton QLD29 January 2018
The University of Queensland is a great place to work. They always paid me on time and they have awesome pay rates. However I really struggled to get a separation certificate from them
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work for Knowledgeable Students
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD3 January 2018
As long as you thoroughly understand the subject and are able to communicate with students to understand their difficulties, you will excel in the position. The pay is good and can the hours can fit in to a uni timetable well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work environment
Pacific Islander Peer Researcher (Current Employee) –  Herston QLD10 July 2017
Even though it's a couple hours a week I always enjoy working!! I love the atmosphere and the colleagues I work with including my bosses. I enjoying workin here because it allows me to contribute to the community.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
I work only 2/3hours per week
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent colleagues, ruthless senior managers, toxic work culture
Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  St Lucia QLD3 July 2017
Lovely campus. Good colleagues. Stimulating and challenging work. But toxic work culture, incredibly conservative, corporate, damaging. I would not recommend it, even if the salary is good and the job looks fantastic in paper. Crushing place, particularly for younger professionals who will be used and abused in a difficult environment for older and seasoned colleagues.
Pros
good salary
Cons
crushing toxic culture, bullying galore
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student at PhD
Researcher (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD6 November 2016
It was a nice time at UQ. The university is equipped with state of the art equipment for research . However, salary paid to the PhD researchers is much less than their daily needs.
Pros
lab facilities
Cons
less payment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Human Resources Officer (Current Employee) –  Herston11 February 2016
UQ is a great place to work at. There are lots of great people and great culture. You will be able to have a good work/life balance and great employee benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company is culturally diversity and has respect with each other.
kitchen hand and cleanner. (Current Employee) –  Brisbane Central Business District, QLD28 December 2013
Actually, custom house restaurant is fully occupied with different people from different country relating the cultural diversity. All the staff members do respect with each oher and is without domination.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Canteen Assistant (Former Employee) –  St Lucia, QLD27 October 2013
busy right from the word go. learnt good customer skills. learnt how
to look after my section ,cleanliness. had good co workers, we
worked as a team. To be constantly on the go. Satisfaction after a
hard days work.
Pros
free morning tea or lunch, depending on your hours.
Cons
long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with great people
Delivery Driver/Cleaner (Former Employee) –  UQ St Lucia / UQ Gatton25 April 2012
The company supplied parking and security on site at all times. Partime hours were not enough and no room for advancement. The position outcomes were more than achievable. Overall a good place to work.
Pros
hourly rate
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report

See more The University of Queensland reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The University of Queensland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 98 reviews
557
425
311
21
14

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
4.1Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.0Culture