The University of Western Australia Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent working conditions
Office Clerk (Former Employee) –  Perth WA29 April 2018
UWA was a fun place to work filled with great experiences of meeting all different kinds of people. beautiful gardens and great work colleagues. I started working as an inexperienced 15 year old and was taught all aspects of running an office.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Coordonnatrice marketing (Former Employee) –  Western Australia14 April 2018
bonne ambiance, bonne condition de travail et belle expérience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It has a very good workplace culture and productive
Visiting Scientist Visitor Number V (Former Employee) –  Western Australia12 February 2018
This is one of the top eight universities in Australia. It has strong working facilities to conduct scientific experiments. Scientiests from different countries work here and it is a very chance to share new ideas and technologies.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A pleasant work environment
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Nedlands WA6 February 2018
The staff were all very helpful and friendly and the environment was conducive of professional development. It was hard because their sessional contracts were very short (5 weeks from memory) and one never knew if there was going to be work after each contract. As I needed something more reliable, I went back to my old employer.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
short sessional contracts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Perth WA16 January 2018
University of Western Australia is an excellent place to work for! The work is very challenging. However the work life balance and workplace culture are great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Patient Care Assistant (Former Employee) –  Crawley WA11 January 2018
The University of Western Australia is a prestigious research institution that provides a relaxed environment for university study. It has up-to-date facilities adequate enough for most students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ótima
Estágio extracurricular (Former Employee) –  Perth - Austrália15 November 2017
Estágio proveitoso no Centre for Marine Futures, com projeto utilizado para apresentação de TCC para Bacharelado em Biologia. Estágio com duração de 6,5 meses, em uma instituição de alto nível, com ótima infraestrutura para pesquisa. Ótima supervisão. Equipe bem integrada, sempre focada em resultados.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace
Analyst / Programmer (Former Employee) –  Perth WA12 September 2017
1) Helpful staff.
2) Friendly staff.
3) Flexibility hours.
4) Staff parking.
5) 5 weeks annual leaves.
6) Good superannuation package.
7) Can work from home.
Pros
Excellent workplace
Cons
Too many staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and enjoyable
Security Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Crawley-Nedlands WA28 August 2017
Things could get challenging at times with many different situations to over come but always an enjoyable place to be. Everyone is treated equally with respect.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A university, through and through
Research Associate (Former Employee) –  Perth WA13 June 2017
Just another big university really....limited team work, most people stick to themselves. This is true for the business school anyway, might be different in other departments.
Pros
flexible work times, clear career path
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Casual
House Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Crawley WA1 March 2017
Work around campus give you flexibilty, in particular for student who seek part time job. However, you need get the job done and in a appropriate times.
Pros
near from housing
Cons
sometimes meet with friend
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I recommend anyone to join this university.
Research Associate (Current Employee) –  Perth, Western Australia22 January 2017
School of electrical and electronics engineering in the university of Western Australia has wide range of semiconductor fabrication facilities and faculty working here are friendly and helpful for the betterment of the individual who works under their supervision.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment
System Support Officer (Current Employee) –  Perth WA18 October 2016
Enjoyable and fun work experience.
Beautiful landscape and nice architecture.
It has nice restaurants and shops. Work colleagues are good people so you could build long life friendship.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No job security even after almost 14 years of working there
Administrative Officer (Former Employee) –  Crawley-Nedlands WA18 May 2016
Old fashioned management
No job security
IT System outdated
Great campus
Lovely students
Easily accessible by public transport
Parking very expensive
Great gym
Pros
Great salary and super
Cons
No appreciation for extra effort
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co workers enjoyed coming to work
Functions officer (Former Employee) –  Perth WA16 May 2016
Day to day operations were enjoyable you had a good mix of very busy times and down times.
You were afforded a good working home life balance.
My co workers were a pleasure to work with , and still maintain contact.
Pros
supervisors were easy to work with
Cons
management needed to be more proactive
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
UWA a great place to do reseach
PhD Student (Former Employee) –  Crawley-Nedlands WA26 April 2016
Working at UWA was great for me. I had the opportunity to use many Mass Spectrometry equipment of high quality, and had access to one of the best plant-growth facility in Australia.

UWA also has a nice campus and a great location, just by the Black Swan River, a really nice area.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mostly enjoyable place to work
Laboratory Manager (Former Employee) –  Nedlands WA24 April 2016
I spent 23 years at UWA, most of which were enjoyable and I found it quite a good place to work, so much so that I did not want to leave, but my job was deemed redundant, so I was left with no choice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best opportunity to learn and share my passion for business analytics
Tutor Business Intelligence (Current Employee) –  Perth, WA29 September 2015
I am my own manager. I create content according to my Lecturer objectives, but form then on, my job is to create content that will appeal to our postgraduate students.
What I enjoy the most is mixing my previous business experience with state of the art business intelligence tools.
The most difficult part of the job is keeping up to date with new releases on all the software tools I teach.
The most rewarding part of the job is watching how students grow through the semester. I specifically focus on developing their critical and analytical skills.
Pros
I know how to use many business intelligence tools.
Cons
Sometimes I am asked to changed Lab material overnight.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Expérience enrichissante et instructive
Stagiaire (Former Employee) –  Perth, Western Australia18 July 2015
Les journées de travails pouvaient être de différents types. Je pouvais soit travailler sur mon projet principal soit aider mes collègues dans leurs expériences ou participer à des expériences de terrain. J'ai ainsi acquis de nombreuses compétences annexes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Workplace
Academic Tutor (Former Employee) –  Perth, WA14 March 2015
Easy communication, good management style. The management knows whats most important which is the students. So much emhpasis on students. Good workplace environment also.
Pros
Good advancement
Cons
Slow processing of pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at The University of Western Australia. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 27 reviews
513
410
34
20
10

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
4.2Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.8Culture

The University of Western Australia Reviews by Location