Trafigura Employee Reviews

Showing all 43 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Muy buen equipo de trabajo
Marketing and Risk Analyst Senior (Former Employee) –  Departamento de Montevideo29 May 2019
En el sector de deal desk, un dia normal involucra mucha presión y contacto directo con operadores, traders y la bolsa de metales e Londres.
Fue una experiencia que me enseño mucho sobre el funcionamiento del mercado y como trabajar con la bolsa y las diferentes técnicas de mitigacion de riesgos.
La cultura laboral es bastante competitiva y de mucho trabajo. Pero es un ambiente joven y divertido donde hay mucho por aprender.
Pros
Aprendizaje, remuneracion
Cons
horas extra
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good at hire & fire
Senior Executive (Former Employee) –  Mumbai, Maharashtra27 November 2018
Good Bonus
Work location & facilities (Transport, food etc.)

No work life balance
Shrewd management
A worst internal software system (with the management's decision to move from one to another bad software system lots of data is lost or mismatch - which has to be reconciled manually, which leads to long working hours and useless work)
Most of the profiles are no brain and only data entry type work, that means even if you stay longer you won't learn much.

Management believes in hire & fire policy, during my tenor of 5 - 6 years with the company I have witnessed that almost 200 employees were asked to leave.
Pros
Work location & facilities (Transport, food etc.)
Cons
Very long hours with useless work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
ACCOUNTS PAYABLE AND PURCHASING CLERK (Former Employee) –  Corpus Christi, TX26 November 2018
We were in the construction phase and start up. We were switching software while setting up new accounts and vendor packets along with purchase orders and banking information for accounts payable and receivable. It was interesting and fun to watch the development of the site.
Pros
learning the process of all of the different construction phases
Cons
needed better policies and procedures in place.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and enjoyable
Settlements Analyst (Former Employee) –  Houston, TX18 October 2018
I typical day in the office was reviewing sales from the day before and then invoicing to the clients. While working at Trafigura I was able to strengthen my skills in creating and updating Macros and formulas for Excel. I appreciated all the training that management gave to me when I started for the company so I could efficiently do my work. I also was very impressed with how quickly they would help me if I had any issues come up. The biggest challenge of my day to day work was fixing the kinks in the Excel formulas. Even though having to update the macros and formulas in Excel were challenging, I did enjoy the work. It allowed me to sharpen my skills and also make my future work for efficient.
Pros
Always had overtime available and occasionally some free meals.
Cons
I lived really far from the office.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working In Trafigura
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Mumbai, Maharashtra14 September 2018
Was part of the initial set up and had an amazing experience.

Alot fo exposure interms of performance and growth in terms of both, career and salary

Pay's the best and wants the best so you need to give your 200% everyday at work
Pros
Still growing company
Cons
Little bit of hire & fire policy
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not recommended
Derivative trader (Former Employee) –  Kanton Genf7 August 2018
good salary but huge stress; no work life balance for sure
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chacun pour soi
F&B (Former Employee) –  Genève 1, GE3 March 2018
Quand on a comme responsable une personne fourbe, le travail n'est pas simple.
Pros
Le salaire
Cons
Le caractère d'un responsable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging workplace
Derivatives Analyst (Specialist) (Current Employee) –  Mumbai31 December 2017
Trafigura is one of the world’s leading independent commodity trading and logistics houses.They are at the heart of the global economy. Every day and around the world, they are advancing trade – reliably, efficiently and responsibly. They see global trade as a positive force and we go further to make trade work better
Pros
Free Lunch, great Bonus
Cons
Flat hierarchy
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to learn & work
Traffic Operator (Current Employee) –  Mumbai19 November 2017
Very dynamic, high pressure full of learning place.
Gives immense exposure to the trade business work across functions
amzing place to be. but challenging
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's kind of fun working together
Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Oretha caslte Haley9 November 2017
Sometimes as we work In the back off the bike shop the bike shop has some busy days do you really have to pay attention to what you are doing.
I learned about different bikes parts
Pros
Free snacks
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Compliance Executive (Former Employee) –  Mumbai, Maharashtra4 October 2017
Work life balance is maintained. Enjoyed working , good exposure. Ergonomically designed structures. People concerns are heard. Great opportunities to learn explore and implement knowledge.
Pros
Good place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worst colleagues ever met
Slaker (Former Employee) –  London, UK19 June 2017
Workplace is awful, a total lack of interest.
Colleagues are untrustable - this is the worst experience ever. I was getting paid the highest rate I never had before but was working may be 1h a day after a while as the job was so appalling.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in Change and Release Management
Senior Analyst (Former Employee) –  Mumbai, Maharashtra2 March 2017
I worked for this company for more than 2 years. I was working in change and release management for the production environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 10Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Increíble experiencia
Asesor (Former Employee) –  Bogotá, Cundinamarca31 January 2017
En el desarrollo de alianzas publico privadas y proyección internacional es una gran sitio para trabajar.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive
Oil & Gas Summer Analyst (Former Employee) –  Genève, GE9 January 2017
Everyday was different and exciting. Co-workers were very motivated about their work. driven and disciplined. The most enjoyable part of the work was interacting with people frm diverse cultures and learning from them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
trade finance officer (Former Employee) –  London17 November 2016
the work was fun and relaxed, people are friendly and well behaved.
i have only stayed for a year because i needed to go back to school overwise a good place of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not worth the money
Oils Deals Desk and market analyst (Former Employee) –  south america uruguay6 November 2016
We changed supervisor every 3 months, everyone would quite, super stressful, extra hours are mandatory, great pay, but its not worth it.
Pros
good salary
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gran ambiente laboral y cocina para refrigerios y comida
Administrador de IT (Former Employee) –  Ciudad de México, D. F.3 November 2016
gran experiencia y ambiente.
falta de contratacion directa con la empresa,
buenas instalaciones
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global and varied
IT Consultant (Current Employee) –  Johannesburg20 October 2016
Global reach of the commodity trading environment, the differentiation among the different countries. The differentiation is around language, culture and business operating environment.

Co-workers have wide interests, which enables good discussions on topics of mutual interests.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Metals Traffic Operator (Former Employee) –  Stamford, CT29 September 2016
This company offered excellent health benefits. My co-workers were very nice. Most were on the young side aside from Management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Trafigura. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 43 reviews
510
414
311
24
14

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.3Culture