Travelex Employee Reviews

Found 20 reviews matching the search See all 555 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learnt a lot on my own, my trainer was very good, partial work culture within specific nationalities, poor management while resolving issues.
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Melbourne Airport VIC11 March 2019
It’s good in terms of salary and benefit due to airport location, but more of partial culture while it comes to allocating duties or resolving issues. I have learnt a lot due to busy and ongoing - incoming crowd of visitors from worldwide. It was very fast paced environment and helped me build the skills to work under pressure. I loved my duties and sincerely served the needs of company and customers. Unfortunately many of us of staff had to face similar issues due to the dominance of old staff and partial treatment of managers, as they lost many of the good staff due to favouritism. But I do respect my work I was allocated with because it made me learn a lot and deal with hard situations remaining calm and work smoothly to achieve professional growth.
Pros
Learn from dealing with all types of customers from all over the world
Cons
Full of Favouritism culture, managers incompetent
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not recommend
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC10 July 2018
- No life/work balance as you are manipulated to pick up shifts
- Bonuses only are given to full time emplyees
- Working alone
- Stressful being accountable for a lot of currencies
- Poor management structure as managers don't care about you... only if you reach targets
- Very little room for career progression, but kind of possible
- Low pay for the work you are doing
- Can't adjust exchange rate/commissions which result in rude customers
- Very little security in store for off-airport stores
- no acknowledgement for effort
- High employee turnover, always hiring
- Receive full-funded banking accreditation after 6 months
- They hire anyone, EVEN if you have no experience. They just don't want stores unattended.
- Targets are unachievable and unrealistic
Pros
Job security, staff discount, banking accreditation
Cons
Long hours, bad management structure, stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would Not Recommend
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Melbourne Airport VIC5 July 2018
Ive been working with TravelEx, for roughly 6 months. Would not recommend to work here, poor management. Really dont care about their workers. Do not apply.
Pros
Good money
Cons
Management is not good
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
assisting travellers with money transactions for travelling
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Ballarat VIC12 June 2018
Serving customers wanting to exchange money for overseas & or wanting to use a Travel card for safety & ease. Balancing over 50 different currencies. Self taught - new online programs. High stress...in speed & precise accuracy. Pure joy in meeting lovely customers...& providing excellent service.
Pros
sometimes...bonuses
Cons
Long hours...
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no essentials for staff
Customer Service Officer (Former Employee) –  Figtree NSW19 December 2017
I worked alone,I found there was a lack of support as management would never answer the phone when needed.Apart from that,staff in other stores were quite helpfull.
Pros
customer contact and learnt alot about foreign currency and travel destinations
Cons
lack of support
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly workplace
Sales Consultant under Retail (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW2 July 2017
Retail based sector. great way of communicating as this is customer service based role. well organised team management. Very helpful with training facilities.
Pros
Training Facilities
Cons
Shift working and roster duty
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding Company to work for!
Retail Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW19 April 2017
Department heads working together as a Team, brings out the success of a great organisation.
A very strong Learning and Development Team.
A fun team culture.
Pros
Workplace culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work
Risk Assurance Manager Asia Pacific (Former Employee) –  Gold Coast QLD7 March 2017
Each day is different, opportunity for advancement if you put yourself forward. Great colleagues. Remuneration could be better along with communication for upper management as to advise business of what is happening
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
SWIFT Operations Officer (Former Employee) –  Sydney, Australia5 March 2017
Processing all international funds transfers for Australian and NZ branches.
High volumes on a daily basis.
Daily contact with internal and external customers.
Great management and team environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just ok, if you are in Uni and looking for part time work
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Sydney Kingsford Smith Airport NSW1 November 2016
Team leaders can be very strict. Good to be working at the airport, lots of people to meet. Good to be familiar with diff currencies.Early starts, early finished too.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun job
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Cairns QLD9 October 2016
Loved meeting new people• Opening & closing of store
• Customer service
• Bulk AUD & Foreign currency Cash handing
• Product information and Sales
• Referral Targets
• Crediting company’s client accounts
• Making crediting client’s money change orders
• Store targets and KPI’s
• International bank transfers
Pros
meeting different people
Cons
not good if u have kids
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at Travelex Sydney Airport
Foreign Exchange Consultant (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW15 July 2016
A typical work day for me begins early in morning at 4:30 am
Usually its a busy day, with lots customer interactions, phone calls and foreign exchange transactions.
I have learned to upsell foreign currency and related products to a variety of international customers.
I am constantly interacting and collaborating with my colleagues and management to solve issues and matters arising from my daily activities.
The most difficult part of the job is when there is a slow influx of customers and the revenue is affected.
One of the pleasant part of my job is when the customers are satisfied and leave the store with a smile.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and highly energetic team to work with
Sales Advisor (Current Employee) –  Perth WA28 June 2016
Working at the International airport, each day is different. Put together with the amazing staff employed by Travelex and the management team the work environment is amazing to work in.

The hardest part is conversing in different languages with different people from all over the world and that is also one of the most enjoy exciting parts of the job. The downside is the growth within the company and the reimbursement packages are fairly low.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and higly customer focued.
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Sydney Airport30 March 2016
I have gained vast knowledge about sales and customer service. the most enjoyable part of my job is dealing with different customer in different day.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
International Payments
Corporate FX Settlements Clerk (Former Employee) –  Sydney, NSW1 June 2015
The company and staff were very welcoming, professional and a pleasure to work for. It was good to liaise with both traders and customers in order to help them meet their business requirements and it was a wholly positive experience.
Pros
Location in Sydney
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive workplace
Customer Service / Cash Handler (Former Employee) –  Mascot, NSW19 April 2015
Very productive workplace, very demanding very customer service driven must be fast and hard working must be able to speak english clearly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Foreign Exchange Consultant (Former Employee) –  sydney29 July 2014
 Sales consultant/ Staff Trainer
 Provide superior customer services
 Using foreign and local currencies
 Responsible for opening and closing premises
 Familiar with over 40 foreign and local currencies
 Reconciling accounts
 Constructing weekly figures and statistics
 Using customer services and cleaning duties
 General maintenance and cleaning duties
 Telephone enquires
 Updating rates
 The top 10 sales consultants Australia wide YTD 2007/2008
Pros
fun place
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
customer
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Perth, WA25 November 2013
In my current position at Travelex as Sales Consultant, I continually demonstrate these skills by liaising with staff and customers at all working levels and professional expertise, as well as large corporations on a regular basis to provide and assist with currency exchange. I have demonstrated a high-level numeracy and accuracy skills, whilst working in a time constraint environment that requires initiative and working autonomously, safekeeping of sensitive data of customers and the company, to maximise sales and KPIs.

I am a sound problem solver who works well in a team environment as well as independently. I am flexible in my approach to work and prepared for a challenging new career. I have excellent keyboard skills and experience in using a personal computer, as I have been using it for over 20 years in all aspect of my life, including good knowledge of the MS office suite, such as Outlook, Word, Excel and PowerPoint.
Pros
30mins
Cons
45hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 30Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Train clients to sell FX
Sales Development Manager (Former Employee) –  Sydney20 June 2013
Train clients to sell FX and travel extensively in NSW, Canberra
Pros
Freedom to arrange schedule
Cons
Badly managed organisation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Travelex reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Travelex. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 555 reviews
5149
4149
3141
253
163

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture