Tree of Life Employee Reviews

Found 18 reviews matching the search See all 134 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing people
RETAIL ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Byron Bay NSW10 December 2018
beautiful clothes, besides being a worker there, I also was a very good customer. Lovely people


thank you to all the staff working there
I had a nice time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and young team culture, poor renumeration and development opportunities
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD27 March 2018
It was an enjoyable place to work day to day, with lovely customers and co-workers. The overall ethos of the company in terms of their product is quiet ethical, and the culture is fun, festival, boho.

Unfortunately, the salary benefits were quiet low compared to the expectations of the role. There also really isn't a culture of career progression and development, at least from the store level.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was always fun with working with team members.
Head office/Warehouse Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW26 March 2018
Worked a lot about distribution and warehouse management, time management skills and role of a team member in a team. There was always equal opportunity for every member for further career progression and mentorship was good enough to learn new thing and ideas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful staff and culture but underlying management issues
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Sydney, Australia1 March 2018
I worked for this company for many years, I loved parts of it especially the beautiful caring team of women i was surrounded by everyday. The major drawbacks however are in the core management at HO. As a family run business there are deep political issues which have not been resolved because of this reason and these filter through to all aspects of the company. The entire company has slowly been moving away from its core values and ethics as a wonderful and strange mystical hippie store into a large commercial money making institution such as free people. Everything is becoming standardised in the business and it is losing it's originality and sole customer base to focus on fast fashion trends disguised as 'bohemian fair'.
Pros
50% off clothing, wonderful team members
Cons
No stability, constant negative changes in how business is run
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small Business working Environment
Retail Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Highpoint Shopping Centre VIC25 February 2018
Exposed to many varying types of people, having a diverse customer base. Within the retail industry it is more transparent of a business and not as pretentious. Requires a lot of commitment with chances of receiving a promotion, however pays minimum wage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with beautiful owners
Casual Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Campbelltown NSW 256023 January 2018
I've worked at Tree of Life for 1.5 years as a casual and as a relieving assistant manager. The company is great to work for, plenty of people to contact when needed, communication is pretty good between stores and head office, flexible hours (as a casual), and the stores are filled with good vibes and beautiful products. The owners are also really wonderful people that appreciate their staff.
Pros
Good management and work environment
Cons
Management doesn't visit some stores very often
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great overall work experience
Webshop Pick & Pack (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW16 January 2018
Highly organised company with sensible work structure and procedures. Leave work concerns at workplace and enjoy assisting in fulfilling webshop duties. Chill environment and co-workers very friendly as well!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job culture
Personal Stylist (Current Employee) –  Castle Hill NSW7 January 2018
this job has shaped who i am as a person and has given me so much confidence in who i am. i have also met wonderful girls who have remained friends of mine for a very long time
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We are passionate about giving “The Refugee Experience” a genuine and empathic face
Actor (Former Employee) –  Miller NSW18 December 2017
Welcome to Treehouse Theatre
The Treehouse Family are passionate about giving “The Refugee Experience” a genuine and empathic face.

The Treehouse Theatre mentoring program, provides a platform for young refugees to share their life stories. Through group story telling in a live public theatre performance, young refugees share their personal stories with friends, family and the wider community.

Proud winner of the 2012 NSW Humanitarian Award for service to Education.
Pros
Experinence in acting
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing workplace vibe
Manager (Current Employee) –  Robina28 August 2017
Tree of Life is a beautiful and encouraging workplace, it is different to any other retail environment I have worked in. The staff and customers of our store make work such an enjoyable experience for everyone involved. The company is small and family owned which means some aspects are still being figured out along the way but that is the beauty of it- head office are helpful and enthusiastic as well as the girls in store always creating the best in store vibe possible.
This store will teach you great management skills as there are many products in store that are always changing - you will learn alot of useful product knowledge too, not just about clothing but how leather is made, crystals, silver jewellery and visual merchandising.
Product perks are the best!! Dressing like a bohemian goddess every day is one of my favourite things about my job. I am blessed and very grateful to be a part of the Tree of Life tribe and I encourage any free spirited/fashion loving people out there to go for it!! You won't regret it. Xxx
Pros
Environment, discounts, customer experience
Cons
Alot of things to stay on top of
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual sales asst. and Asst. Manager jobs
Asst. Manager sales (Former Employee) –  Tree of Life Warringah mall11 June 2017
The work space was very safe and pretty with gift items and clothes. Management at the time were particular on cleanliness and sales enthusiasm. the store had a high turnover of clothes and many small items so it was challenging to keep it all tidy and took a rota system for casual staff to do the required jobs. Very exhausting as piles of clothes to tidy up. company benefits made up for that with allowances to purchase clothes and a fun environment with good breaks and self care.
Pros
Free clothes allowance
Cons
cleaning jobs never ending.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gold Coast QLD5 May 2017
A great and friendly place to work. Both staff and customers are lovely so makes a happy environment. Great discounts for all items. Would recommend to work here
Pros
Friendly
Cons
Not many shifts available
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and fun working environment
Shop Assistant (Current Employee) –  Wollongong NSW5 February 2017
Everyone around you is super lovely with amazing energy. Left every shift in a better mood and headspace.
The clothing and jewellery is amazing quality.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a highly positive environment with many fascinated customers
Retail store assistant (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC23 December 2016
Fun and vibrant environment with positive and happy vibes from all workers and customers. A lively environment keeping the customers happy with their purchases and experiences, and easy to get along with all co workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tree Of Life
Sales Consultant (Former Employee) –  Erina Fair, NSW10 January 2016
Day to day was always fun and productive, constantly dealing with customers and doing the stock take was actually more fun than i anticipated. I learned how to organise the stock, ticking off what was there and then re-fill the hangers of clothing/homewares/accessories etc. The management of the store was fair and equal which i liked because in the work place or anywhere else should be equal no matter what rank you have from casual to 1IC (manager). The hardest part of the job would have been the occasional fussy customer or ones that complained about stuff i was un able to deal with so i asked for the help of my manager or 2IC. The co-workers were very nice with a bubbly personality, always helped when i asked for it, and always helped others if they either asked for it or i saw they were struggling i offered in case. And the most enjoyable part of the job was just working there, going in and starting to leaving even thought i didn't want to leave.

Tree Of Life would be a shop i'd love to work at again if given the chance.
Pros
Reasonable breaks, helpful co-workers, 0 tolerance for any form of abuse
Cons
Leaving due to end of christmas casual contract.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment, poor managment
Acting Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Castle Hill1 April 2015
A typical day at work included cleaning the store. providing exceptional customer service visual merchandising the store.
Pros
Beautiful products and loving co-workers
Cons
Bad communication within management and head office
Was this review helpful?Yes 43No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun & friendly
Christmas Casual (Current Employee) –  Shellharbour NSW12 January 2015
High pased everyday, with always something to do.
I learnt computer skills & customer service skills.
The management was amazing, very friendly.
My co-workers were great to work with, they made every day exciting & were always willing to help.
The hardest part of the job was processing so much information & juggling a lot of customers at the one time.
I enjoyed every part of the job, meeting new people, learning new things & gaining experience.
Pros
My co-workers
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 45No 3Report

See more Tree of Life reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Tree of Life. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 134 reviews
550
444
327
26
17

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture