TRU Simulation + Training, Inc. Employee Reviews

Showing all 15 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supply chain managment
Senior Project Manger (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC5 December 2018
i didn't have learn there
the management is family and no one can get the right position
workplace culture is awfully bad
as new employees have no experience they have just relation and references.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent career
Simcert Technician (Current Employee) –  McGuire AFB, NJ16 November 2018
This was a union job, so with that came a significant salary which, of course, is always a welcome benefit.

The job was challenging, and like all aspects of flight simulator work, involved learning a vast array of skills since it was impossible to guess what one might be tasked to do on a given workday.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A relaxed, friendly, enjoyable work environment.
BE300 instructor (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FL9 November 2018
A relaxed yet professional place to work. Friendly, and accommodating to your personal life. I was given the tools to teach, the equipment is first rate with a friendly, supportive staff.
Pros
Flexible work schedules
Cons
Too busy, and a bit short handed
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career Minded.
C-17 Flight Simulator Tech III Lead (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SC23 October 2018
Excellent Company to work for. Proactive with career advancement. Promoted continuing education opportunities as well an attractive health benefit package.
Would certainly recommend as a top notch corporation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Subject Matter Expert C17 Avionics (Former Employee) –  Charleston AFB, SC25 September 2018
Tru-Simulation was a great job after the Air Force. I would love to go back if the opportunity arises again. I can say that a great group of people are there and the work environment is simply awesome!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Open to creative people such as myself.
Senior Mechanical Design Engineer (Former Employee) –  Goose Creek, SC19 September 2018
I have had the opportunity to have over 600,000 aircraft parts in my hands and make them work in the training devices. I searches through thousands of flight line manuals and determined what it takes to educate our boys on the flight line. I can simulate and stimulate subsystems of any aircraft.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TRU Simulation + Training
Sales Representative (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FL3 May 2018
I worked for TRU before being transferred internally. Wonderful corporate culture and would recommend working for them. Big emphasis on talent development and growing their leadership from within.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Simulator Technician II (Current Employee) –  Tennessee1 February 2018
Good company to work for. No issues. Treated well. Good pay and benefits. Work as a subcontractor on an AF system. Benefit package was Union driven so no issues at all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Electronic Lab Assembler (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC8 December 2017
Very good. Amazing people, good teamwork and work environment. I have gained a lot of experience from other team member and I really enjoy working here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My program is terrific, corporate and higher up cause some issues
Software Engineer 2 (Current Employee) –  Abilene, TX9 July 2017
My program is at a smaller location with great culture and a talented and passionate group of employees. Quality is is emphasized. There is a good deal of documentation, and projects progress slowly because of this and other limitations, but this makes the environment very low stress.
Pros
Culture, low stress
Cons
Documentation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of growth, interesting products
Project Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC24 April 2017
In a growth mode, a lot of challenges, a lot of room for movement. Interesting products to work on. People are easy to approach. a lot of new things to learn.
Pros
Interesting products to work on, in a speeded growth
Cons
Not that stable, get acquired a few times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interesting job, good work mates, poor management, poor salary
Simulation Engineer (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC16 March 2016
Learned a lot from the interesting projects on multiple aircrafts.
A group of very friendly and energetic engineers.
Poor communication and management.
Unpaid overtime.
Pros
very challenging project, nice people around
Cons
poor payment, poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun, a lot to learn
Quality Assurance Technician (Current Employee) –  dorval21 October 2015
Good place to start after graduating. Not a good place long term as they underpay engineers. Management is okay, a lot of manager pass on their stress to their workers which makes everyone inefficient. A lot of work to be done, not enough people.
Pros
Hours are flexible. A lot of room to learn.
Cons
Poor pay, poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
TRU Simulation
Aero/Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FL28 March 2015
TRU is a great company for developing skills and engineering knowledge. Typical days are very busy, intense, and sometime long. The engineering department asks a lot of their engineers and does more with less. Work environment is relatively good, but has been worsening under the leadership of Textron. Long hours are frequently worked with no added compensation.
Pros
Great for learning skills
Cons
Poor compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at TRU Simulation + Training, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 15 reviews
57
43
34
20
11

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.4Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.6Culture