United States Department Of Defense Employee Reviews

Found 19 reviews matching the search See all 4,058 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly secretive work in the Australian Defence Force
Signals Analys (Former Employee) –  Canberra ACT23 February 2018
Work was highly classified. The work included non-confidential duties such as administration & supervision, a typical work day required a high level of attention to detail and situational awareness..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 years service in the Australian Army
Project Training Manager (Former Employee) –  Perth WA4 May 2017
Project Training Manager to 100 personnel - 8 supervisors, 16 training instructors
Provide team leadership and career management for supervisors
Develop and maintain policy and standards for numerous high risk activity programs
Department Health & Safety representative, responsible for operational management of H&S.
Pros
Highly challenging position with continous improvement
Cons
Long and continuous periods away from home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outdated Management
Warehouse Operations Manager (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD19 March 2017
Although the Department of Defence has the benefits of providing excellent work/life balance opportunities and a stable career, management styles are still very outdated, producing a high staff turnover. There seems to be no differentiation between normal daily outine and when soldiering is required, making it hard to find a centered work style and routine.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Lack of management training.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job for someone without family. Good pay and Benefits
Electronics Technician (Current Employee) –  Cairns QLD12 March 2017
Good Pay and Benefits
Good on the job training and career advancement
Difficult to manage work/life especially if you have kids and a family
Suits a young person find their feet if they don't know what they want to do with their life.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional working environment
Assistant Director (Former Employee) –  Canberra ACT5 March 2017
Work colleagues maintained high standards of professional conduct.
Well resourced programs and office environments.
Flexible work-life balance arrangements.
Attractive remuneration packages.
Excellent on-the-job training opportunities.
Pros
Flexible working environment
Cons
Bureaucratic processes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Department of Defence
Senior Property (Estate) Planning Officer (APS6) (Former Employee) –  Canberra ACT24 February 2017
I worked in the is department for 4years. Although there was little room for advancement there were some unique and innovative ways that they management their business
Pros
Good structured environment
Cons
Little of no room for advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great leaders, great fun, a way to get aheD
Manager - F111 Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Amberley QLD15 January 2017
My Defence career was great fun and very rewarding, full of challenges and successes. I would encourage all young people to consider a term in Defence to get a great grounding into work life, to learn a trade
Pros
life experience
Cons
uniform can go to people's head and they have power trips
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A life changing experience
Student Work Placement (Former Employee) –  Broadmeadows VIC12 January 2017
I loved completing my work experience with the defence force, it truly is an experience I won't forget!
Doing work experience with the ADF has broadened my mindset and helped me to decide on any future careers.
I would recommend doing your work placement with the ADF to anyone who is unsure of what they want to do when they're older but also have an interest in a challenge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplacese
Assistant Personnel Officer (Former Employee) –  Sydney Central Business District NSW4 January 2017
typical was processing payroll
learned a great deal from different computer systems to APS policies sand procedures
management was good, always willing to guide career progression
workmates were great to work with
the hardest part and the most enjoyable part of the job was working to the payroll cutoff deadline, high volume paperwork
Pros
great salary
Cons
department moved
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place, great people great work ethics.
Leopard Tank Transmission Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Bandianna16 December 2016
Persoally I was given nearly all the opportunities given to military personnel. I enjoyed my time employed by the department and the comradeship that I experienced.
Pros
comradeship
Cons
slow parts delivery to complete tasks.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Satisfying work, very good team environment, encouraged to make decisions without the need to seek direction, guaranteed resourcing.
Infrastructure Manager (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW27 October 2016
very satisfying work due to clear directions on tasking, availability of resources and autonomy. Security of tenure allowed for responsible risk taking during program/ project delivery. Workloads limit personal time away from workplace.

Plenty of variety in relation to projects-you must be flexible and have a broad experience and skills base. Emotional intelligence is essential to gain the best from your teams as teams work very close and for long periods together.
Pros
Teamwork, clear task directions, access to senior managers
Cons
Poor life/ work balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent working environment and career opportunities
Geospatial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Bendigo VIC17 October 2016
Strong professional, ethical and hardworking 'can-do' culture. Good stepping stone for young graduates with opportunities to travel domestically and overseas.
Great federal public service conditions - flexible hours, industry competitive salaries, great super and health benefits.
Pros
Very professional and rewarding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Product Asset Manager (Former Employee) –  Rockingham WA31 August 2016
Good working conditions
Good co workers
Professional attitude
Good work life balance
Excellent management
A good variety of work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience and deployment opportunities
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW6 July 2016
Great career to travel and see the world, was able to be promoted and gain the experience and knowledge to supervise and manage subordinates and train the future leaders of the Army.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good co-workers
Groundskeeper (Former Employee) –  Point Cook, VIC1 November 2015
Cleaning of toilets ,collecting of recycled cardboard,street sweeping,
mowing of lawns,tree trimming,weed control of garden area and nature strips,fix fences and clean houses.
Pros
bbq on friday
Cons
nil
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn and grow
Alternate Communications Security Custodian (Former Employee) –  HMAS Harman, Canberra, ACT5 February 2015
Great Job with good job security. Enjoyable work environment and good workmates. Great work conditions and remuneration.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life Ballance
SMS (Former Employee) –  Everywhere2 June 2014
I would advise a single man to join.
But if you have a family, the military will suck your life away from them.
Pros
Deployment
Cons
Life sucking
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My basic review so far
Auditing and Billing (Former Employee) –  Mitchell ACT 29146 November 2012
I have been employed to work in many different roles from retail to Government positions my role was made redundant inn October 12 and I am relocated from Canberra to Salamander Bay I am happy to take on any role and I am a fast learner.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more United States Department Of Defense reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at United States Department Of Defense. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 4,058 reviews
52.1K
41.2K
3578
298
171

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
4.3Salary/Benefits
4.1Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture

United States Department Of Defense Reviews by Job Title

United States Department Of Defense Reviews by Location