Universal Store Employee Reviews

Found 17 reviews matching the search See all 19 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workout environment
SALES ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Pacific Fair Shopping Centre QLD6 February 2019
Great company culture. Amazing product training and incentives.
Good work/life balance. Great team and management. Fun work environment. Expert denim fit.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best working environment
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Rockingham WA7 January 2019
good working environment
great pay
plenty of breaks
fun team
good management
encourage staff to perform well and sell
nice customers
good place to make friends
Pros
40% employee only discount
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Shop Assistant (Former Employee) –  Joondalup WA12 July 2018
It is expected of you to arrive early, if you are not early. You are late. However, from this job I learned how to be punctual and learned a lot of things about customer service and correct store procedures. The training however was very limited and there were not many incentives.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
universal store
Casual Employee (Current Employee) –  Newcastle NSW14 February 2018
Universal Store is a good Christmas casual job.
a typical day at work includes checking the stock, tagging stock, customer service and cash handling skills.
i had learnt extensive retail while being there.
the hardest part of the job is that it is over staffed and there isnt enough hours to share with everyone.
the most enjoyable part of the job is making customers happy with their choices and work functions.
Pros
make friends and good benefits
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management
Casual Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  New South Wales23 September 2017
Management only care about making as much money as they can. The company do not respect nor care for their customers or employees. Especially casuals.
If it was a quiet day and store was not busy its the casuals fault.
If a customer only came to browse and you failed to pressure them into buying two items then you're in trouble.
I found in my particular store my manager was extremely racist and would often tell me to 'keep a close eye' on any dark skinned shoppers.
Shifts were inconsistent and would depend on your ability to pressure pre teens into buying trash. If you were lucky enough to be rostered on you will be notified only a day or two before..
Would not recommend.
Pros
40% discount (not on sale items). Friendly other casuals
Cons
Poor management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No culture in this place
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC30 July 2017
Found this company had little culture involved. Higher management would come in looking down at staff and are consistently negative. Very hard to find motivation.
Not recommend.
Pros
40% discount
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Mackay QLD1 June 2017
Really great people to work with with a great, chill, but hardworking culture
Shifts were often not organised in advanced
Roster was never out until the day before
Manager didn't seem to be trained
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at for a retail store
Christmas Casual (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW24 April 2017
Had the friendliest staff members, manager was very nice and encouraging. Never had a terrible customer to me, everyone was always so nice. It was always a busy day, never boring! Hardest part of the job was refilling but every time I did it, I got better and better. Enjoyable part of the job is the staff. They are very down to earth and kind.
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Adelaide SA27 March 2017
Love working in a team. I learned a lot of things. I loved Australian culture and people. I enjoyed working in multi-cultural environment. This was my first job in Australia.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former manager cairns
Manager (Former Employee) –  Cairns City QLD2 March 2017
Great store to work at i was pregnant while working for company and they were incredibly understanding and supportive. Great work environment and fantastic leadership from area manager and ceo. I had a fantastic experience would highly recommend.
Pros
Great bonus scheme positive working environment
Cons
Staff not turning up on time for shifts or calling in sick.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life balance wasn't there
Retail Sales Person (Former Employee) –  Brisbane Northside QLD5 February 2017
Sales techniques were confrontational and standover tactics by management to achieve targets.

Learnt stock control , cash handling , and varied customer encounters.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company worth working hard for!
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Queensland11 January 2017
Universal Store is the best company I have ever worked for! The COO is a one of a kind and she really cares about the people who work for the company, she is honestly the backbone for the company.

The toughest challenge is balancing tough sales targets with a strong workload, you have to constantly know what everyone is doing.
Pros
Upper Upper Management
Cons
Micro Management from Direct Upper Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great store to work at
Retail Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cairns City QLD10 January 2017
i had a great time with all the staff and bosses and learnt heaps about retail while working there. i liked the staff discount and i found that my hours were quite regular which helped alot.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly motivating and team playing work place
Sales & Merchandise (Current Employee) –  Adelaide SA28 July 2016
Whilst working in retail is about hitting daily targets it's also about building a relationship with your customer. I have learnt to respect my customers wants and needs, their time and money to ensure they have a good experience not only with me but in the store.
Pros
Free lunch hours
Cons
Boring at times
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and energetic workplace
Retail Assistant (Current Employee) –  Chadstone, VIC8 July 2015
I loved working here because of the energetic, fun and motivating workplace. The staff worked together as a family and we could all rely and trust each other on the tasks and goals set each day to be carried out.
Pros
Good pay, amazing staff and management, fun to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive, Happy, Helping
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Kawana Shopping World26 October 2014
Management is very helping,its a very happy workplace, we have happy loyal long term customers, great customer service. Would recommend to work for Universal Store and to go into any shop for fantastic retail experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 3Report

See more Universal Store reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Universal Store. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 19 reviews
58
44
32
22
13

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.9Culture