University of New South Wales Employee Reviews

Found 69 reviews matching the search See all 75 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Applicable
Azure Integration Architect (Former Employee) –  Kensington NSW17 January 2019
I cannot give a valid opinion on this work site as I haven't been there long enough to create a valid perspective of the place itself. For the short time I was there however, it seemed like a good place to work at.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Conducive for learning, friendly colleagues
Research Intern (Former Employee) –  Kensington NSW2 January 2019
Typical day consisted of western blotting, cell culturing, pipetting, updating lab book.

After results collected, typical day spent on literature research and working on presentation of results
Pros
Good experience
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very comfortable working environment
Student Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW21 November 2018
Management of an event is usually quite concise outlining clearly for the volunteer what they are required to do and be responsible for. Volunteers and event managers strive to make events fun for both guests and volunteers in order to create an enjoyable experience for all.
Pros
Volunteering at your own discretion
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great casual demonstrator work if you can land it
CASUAL TUTOR (Former Employee) –  Kensington NSW14 November 2018
I definitely recommend trying to become a demonstrator at UNSW. You have flexibility to plan your lessons and as long as you do your due diligence you'll have a great time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Infrastructure Architect (Current Employee) –  Randwick NSW8 November 2018
A great place to work, fantastic people, sensational work life balance.

The only bad thing about working at UNSW is that it difficult to get to and parking is a pain
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Advanced for a university
Data and Information Management Officer (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW7 November 2018
Effective goal oriented management and advanced IT systems compared to most universities. Willing to spend money to ensure staff are upskilled. Great place to learn new things.
Pros
Training, learning
Cons
Hard place to get to
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some great people held back by too much workplace change
Anon (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW31 October 2018
Too much wrangling for senior IT director positions has driven weaker results. Too much change continually. Senior Leadership is too immature to be able to achieve too much in IT improvements.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very vibrant
Marketing and Events Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW31 October 2018
Need to restructure the management and create a great work ambience.
Work life balance is great. It is a quiet place to work, depends on what you prefer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Transformation underway
Manager - Management Reporting & Analysis (MR&A) (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW26 October 2018
UNSW is going through an exciting journey of transformation to achieve the 2025 strategic objectives; the campus environment is fantastic and management is very flexible with working arrangements.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning, networking and productive
Project Officer (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW15 October 2018
Great place to work, where individuals come together with different sets of background, presents ideas, discuss, build agreement and present outcomes. Learnings was overwhelming.
Pros
Approachable and mentoring supervisors
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good research environment
Reserach Assistant (Former Employee) –  Randwick NSW16 September 2018
It has been more than 30 years since I worked at UNSW. It was my first job after graduation and I was a scientific research assistant. I remember it as a modern institution where management was good to work with and academic and non-academic staff worked well together. As a researcher the hardest part of the job was getting good results. The best part of the job was when the research went well and your results were published in journals.
Pros
Great environment to do research
Cons
Non-permanent contracts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Fun workplace
Professional Development Programme Intern (Former Employee) –  Kensington15 August 2018
I was there for a brief time as a student intern. It was a great experience. I learnt a lot about how programmes and projects are managed by the university.
Pros
great suppportive colleagues
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice and encourage atmosphere and encouraging people to work with
Financial Control Accountant (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW13 August 2018
I started 8 month ago at the UNSW and since then I learn every day. Professional work colleagues, managers, etc. Multicultural enviroment. I totally recomend to everyone working at the University. I love it!
Pros
Morning teas, b-day cakes, almost every week. It is a beautiful moment to have a chat with your work colleagues.
Cons
More permanent positions and less internal contractors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't plan on a long term job in the current climate
Senior Building Facilities Manager (Current Employee) –  Kensington NSW26 July 2018
I enjoyed the faculties I worked with but the change process was daunting. The reorganization has disposed of internal knowledge in the idea that it will be replaced with terabytes with systems that are years away from being effective.
Cons
Restructure is detrimental
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate, scholary university
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW8 July 2018
Working as a casual academic teacher, fellow colleagues were friendly and approachable. Teachers are often recruited based on industry experience. Great autonomy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly flexible and reputable working place
Ph.D. Candidate & Tutor (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW15 May 2018
UNSW is amongst the best universities in the world to work and study, and so it is in terms of facilities. Accessibility and flexibility is high and culturally engaging.
Pros
Gym access, cafes and restaurants, facilities, flexibility
Cons
Low wage salaries, expensive area to live
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with young enthusiastic personel
Swim Instructor (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW10 April 2018
Since my completion of working at the UNSW they have upgraded some of the facility making it a better environment for members.

I loved working with the children and helping them to swim and grow confident around the water.

I found the management to be a little bit absent from what was going on and needed them to be more present in the environment.

My income was less of what less experienced staff were earning. This was not fair.

However, I was made to study and learn more about the campas I found this very beneficial.
Pros
none
Cons
Over worked under paid
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and place of ample opportunities
Clinical Fellow of Obstetrics & Gynaecologist (Former Employee) –  New South Wales22 February 2018
Its a place where multicultural people work. You make friends with people from all over the world and learn from them.
Knowledge and hard work is respected and appreciated.
Pros
health insurance, working culture
Cons
Work load huge, limited labour
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unsw
Business Society Philanthropy Portfolio Member (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW12 February 2018
Great place to study
Competitive environment
Freebies everywhere
Friednly culture, besides some societies
Extracurricular Events are everywhere
Good place
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, fun environment
Art and Design Open Day Event Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW9 February 2018
- Fun, fast paced environment
- Lots of experience to gain from team communication to customer service
- Great management
- Very supportive workplace
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of New South Wales. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 75 reviews
536
429
37
22
11

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.1Culture

University of New South Wales Reviews by Location