University of Sydney Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is the most reputed University in Australia
Chief investigator (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW25 April 2018
I am on University of Sydney International Scholarship for my PhD. It is a fine place to work. I am conducting field studies at Narrabri research station for my PhD. Before coming to Narrabri, I was a chief investigator for a radiation project.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
LECTURER (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW23 April 2018
Great workplace, best university to work for in Australia.
Would recommend anyone who would like to advance their academic career to work at University of Sydney
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
English Instructor at Centre for English Teaching (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW16 April 2018
Professional staff who are highly qualified in the field, excellent atmosphere to work in with plenty of resource material that can be accessed for teachers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment with learning environment regarding the genes
volunteer (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW3 April 2018
The work was quite good and i learned lot of scientific stuff. And the supervisor is very dedicated towards his research. And i am very proud of working over their.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place
Associate Director (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW7 March 2018
An exciting and ever changing place to work.
nothing bad I can say about my 10 years working at the Uni.

I was fortunate enough to work with, for and manage some truely amazing people.
Pros
Work life balance
Cons
Nothing really
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Miserable monotonous moil
Warehouse Assistant (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW1 March 2018
Wake up early to compress your spine in a many varied situation of unsafe heavy lifting, have all your duties done in the first hour of work and twiddle your thumbs until the clock burns out.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people Nice job
Tutor (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW30 January 2018
1. Likeminded people
2. Not stressful
3. Good Pay
4. I learned how to teach students and how to help them understand complex technical ideas.
5. The hardest part is when a student asks you a question that you don't really have the answer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
University of Sydney is an excellent place to study
Student (Current Employee) –  Camperdown NSW18 January 2018
It's a great university, what can I say? Top notch lecturers as well as tutors and it'll help you to achieve your career goal.

I have tons of fond memories there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
PROJECT COORDINATOR (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW3 January 2018
Really fun and relaxed place to work, great atmosphere. A typical day at work would be busy. The management is great, always giving you oportunities to grow and involve more with the university.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Business and Research Development Manager (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW30 December 2017
The University of Sydney is a great employer who provide work life balance. Their salary package is very general more attractive compared to other higher education providers in NSW.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent University to work for
Clinical Facilitator (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW28 November 2017
I have worked for USyd for over 5 years now and find the placements excellent for my work and life balance.

The staff are great and very friendly.
Pros
Money, job satifaction
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours
Peer Mentor (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW2 October 2017
It is a volunteer program which allows students to help those new to the school. Great working environment and team work. Full training is provided which enables us to familiarize with the process.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good way to end your uni life
Econometrics and Economics Tutor (Former Employee) –  New South Wales14 September 2017
The job opportunity is provided to PhD and honours students. It was a good way to end my uni life. The job provided an opportunity to engage with first and second year students, feeding into the student support culture at Sydney Uni.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and learn
Research Assistant - part time (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW7 September 2017
The University of Sydney is a wonderful place to work and learn. Professional and encouraging staff members. Great location. Close to transport and amenities
Pros
working with highly intelligent people
Cons
no enough staff parking available
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive study environment
Volunteering and Extra-curricular Activities (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW20 August 2017
Usually gets quite busy; convenient transportation; great staff members. I'm proud of being a student from the University of Sydney. It was easy to make friends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching Assisstant
Teaching Assistant & Laboratory Demonstrator (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW14 August 2017
Nice opportunity to work for the University of Sydney. Really luck to join the tutor team. The working environment is excellent and the payment is good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place with international friendly people.
Internship (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW3 August 2017
I worked on microscopes, like Optical microscope and SEM after preparing samples. I learnt how to prepare them and use machines for the preparation.
It was a Research project, so the hardest was to interprete or find results which were reliable.
Cons
Managed my time as I wanted to
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Staff and working terms and conditions.
Administration Officer (Former Employee) –  Burwood NSW28 June 2017
The position entailed working as Administrative Officer, working with blood specimens and sorting blood specimens.

The position, also experience in Medical Records, reading and liaisons Honourary Pysicians and Medical Officers as well as Patients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work and good rewards.
Workshop Developer and Assistant (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW11 April 2017
Teaching at university of Sydney is a pleasure. The only concern is the contractual nature of employment as casuals. Need to have more job security and it will be best.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great university
Tutor/Lab demonstrator (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW22 February 2017
A great university. Very comfortable for the working environment, friendly staffs. You get trained before you attend any job duties. Most enjoyable part is to talk with those young fellows
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Sydney. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 58 reviews
526
421
39
22
10

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.0Culture

University of Sydney Reviews by Location