University of Technology Sydney Employee Reviews

Showing all 18 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administration assistant
Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  SYDNEY13 February 2019
A fantastic place to work, progression and support from staff and management.

Always busy and something to do - I have learnt a lot from working within a university
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Student Caller Representative (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW23 July 2018
Good experience. will work again. good people. good environment. Student experience was good. met a lot of new people. made friends. learnt communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
amazing place to work
Events and Outreach Officer (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW1 May 2018
UTS is such a great environment to work in, the skills and work ethic i gained is because of the great team i worked within. Also very easy to get to work being in the heart of public transport
Pros
location
Cons
construction
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant Professor (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW2 April 2018
Great place to work. In downtown of Sydney, very convenient location. Get paid well, and the colleagues are friendly. A young University with very modern equipment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer
Research Development Manager (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW30 December 2017
The University of Technology, Sydney is a great employer. Though the salary package isn't as attractive as the University of Sydney, it also offers work life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a visiting fellow
Visiting Fellow (Former Employee) –  Sydney, NSW25 July 2017
I was a visiting fellow just very short time. It was great to make balance with my life and work. They prepared everything what I needed to do before I came to UTS. In addition, co-researchers were so nice.
Pros
Flexible working time
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Student Support Officer (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW9 March 2017
A typical day included working with clients on issues that may or may not affect their progression within their chosen areas of study. It also involved assidting them with any adminstration issues they may have. The workplace was very friendly, supportive and professional
Pros
very supportive and offered career advancement opportunities
Cons
nil
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with friendly staff
Student Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW7 March 2017
Engaging with colleagues and facilitating learning with students. I learned how to problem solve, become independent, take initiative and work as part of a team. The coordinator would send staff to different areas in accordance to availability of individuals and suitability. Work was very relaxed however there are times when individuals need to take charge and focus. I found this quite challenging as we had to cater to so many people however with the support other staff and my teammates everything was able to run smoothly. The most enjoyable part would have to be traveling around NSW to different areas getting to know the students and inspiring them and hopefully making a difference in their lives.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Research fellow (Former Employee) –  Sydney5 March 2017
Discovery, problem-solving, critical thinking and creativity are features shared by great research and inspiring learning environments. At UTS, we integrate our approach to research and learning, so not only are our students engaged with the research our academics are undertaking, but also with inquiry-based approaches to research. As a result, our students graduate with knowledge of cutting edge practice informed by the future needs of our industry and community partners.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, flexible university in central location
Student (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW1 March 2017
The best thing about UTS is that it provides a very hands-on approach to learning. Journalism was very much about being thrown into the deep end and learning the tricks of the trade from day 1 and encouraging and equipping students to find industry experience as soon as possible. I feel confident continuing my studies while entering the workforce in the media industry.

All the new buildings mean that there are comfortable new facilities within which to study. The staff are always excellent and helpful and there to help me learn.
Pros
Central location, close to train station, beautiful new buildings
Cons
Not as much 'campus culture', although I think the great facilities are changing this!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW23 February 2017
UTS is a first class university with a first class teaching and learning experience. Amazing university and people, highly recommend working there. Good location.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Forward looking technology university
Professor (Former Employee) –  Sydney, Australia3 February 2017
Has undergone transformation to become a more attractive city university. There has been a big increase in increasing research which has resulted in lots of long-term employees leaving.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, limited training and development opportunities or administrative staff..
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sydney28 December 2016
I spent 9 years at UTS. There were limited development opportunities for administrative staff.

During this time there were three restructures causijg undue stress for staff.

It was a good place to work overall but the many changes, long and drawn out restructure was stressfu
Pros
Inflexible start and finish hours
Cons
Easily accessible via public transport.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Working Environment
UTS U:PASS Leader (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW22 November 2016
Casual position provides good payment, colleagues are all friendly and helpful, boss is easier to approach. There is food area in the office providing space for personal mug, fridge and microwave.
Pros
good payment
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a great place to work
Administrative Officer (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW31 May 2016
Has a great work/family balance policy and this allows employees to juggle conflicting commitments whilst working. Staff development and flexible work practices are a great incentive to positive staff morale.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fabulous place to work with many opportunities
Customer Service / I.T. Administration (Former Employee) –  Sydney, NSW3 December 2015
customer service
to be patient and work with all ages
Management were open and helpful
Co-workers were all inclined to assist one another
Hardest part of the job was the late night travelling home
Assisting students in the labs
Pros
Learning experience
Cons
Late night travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Straightforward and time focus.
Casual Tutor (Former Employee) –  Sydney, NSW22 September 2015
Very time contained and deadline oriented. I worked very well and closely with all lecturers and staff who are very friendly and patronising towards me.
Pros
Studied in this university before
Cons
Casual arrangement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at University of Technology Sydney. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.7
Based on 18 reviews
512
46
30
20
10

Ratings by category

4.6Work/Life Balance
4.2Salary/Benefits
4.3Job Security/Advancement
4.2Management
4.3Culture

University of Technology Sydney Reviews by Location