Victorian Electoral Commission Employee Reviews

Showing all 16 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced environment with a long hour work day, but great pay
General Election Staff Member (Former Employee) –  Dandenong VIC9 December 2019
I was only with this organisation for the 2018 General Election in November, where I worked from 7am to 11pm with constant rotating duties.
The hours were long, and there were many busy periods, but there was also lots of peer support and a generous break with food provided.
I developed my sense of communication to people of all ages, how to push through long periods of work, and how to problem solve.
I enjoyed the job and would consider applying again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Electoral offical
Electoral Officer (Former Employee) –  Wodonga VIC2 July 2019
Job was electoral official, but I was mismanaged, and paid incorrectly, I will never work for VEC again. They forgot to appoint me, and gave me 3 split shifts then paid me incorrectly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual work but fun
Counting Officer (Former Employee) –  Bentleigh East VIC19 June 2019
Casual role with determined people who wanted to get the job done diligently and efficiently. Was opportunity for extra hours due to the closeness of the election results
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great and friendly enviroment
Full Time Casual (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC28 May 2019
Assisting in reception and the overflow of the
Election Help Desk
Assessing and processing Apparent Failure to Vote Notices, Infringement Notices and Penalty Reminder Notices in the Compulsory Voting Team
General Office Duties

Liaising with Election Managers and staff on various matters
Resolving pay related queries and referring some queries to the payroll department, and monitoring the outcome
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff were lovely, but it was incredibly stressful
Electoral Officer (Former Employee) –  Richmond VIC15 February 2019
While my coworkers were lovely, I found this role stressful due to the intense workload - it felt as though we were understaffed due to the massive number of early voters which was unprecedented.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, interactive, team based, hard working.
election official (Current Employee) –  Melbourne, VIC, AU11 December 2018
Showing the districts community how to vote, where to place the votes and assisting first time voters. Working with a hard working team, assisting them when needed, such as showing them what to do with the new system of electronic mark offs or when disruptive partisans cause disturbances, assisting fellow team members to deflate and calm the situation.
Pros
30 minute breaks across the day
Cons
12 hours to 10 hours to 8 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Early Voting Centre Officer (Former Employee) –  Melton VIC6 December 2018
Awesome place to work for. Brilliant atmosphere. Loved working with them for the 4 weeks from early voting to vote counting. Busy all day everyday. Large volumes of work from start to finish. Management were amazing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temperary job- General office and customer service position
Customer service/data entry (Former Employee) –  Melbourne30 September 2018
Arranged the missing files and enter the data, followed up the phone calls, verify and update the data, provide the assistance for the Australian citizen enquires, checking and tracking up the missing payments and balances
Pros
good pay job
Cons
temporary job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for casual election work
polling official (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC24 April 2018
I always enjoy my time working for the VEC, you get to meet kind people.
Early starts and late finishes but it is worth it in the end, dont mind the scruinteers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relatively easy & friendly environment
Count support officer (Former Employee) –  cranbourne11 March 2018
Tasks were straight forward and involved working together as a team. I learned the processes involved with collating votes and adding the ballots together.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great supportive company
Temporary contract Stellar (Former Employee) –  Prahran VIC17 October 2017
Management were very supportive. Great training. Flexible work hours. Facilities at the work place were in great condition and clean. Easy to get to via public transport
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Job
Electoral Officer (Former Employee) –  Bass VIC27 August 2017
I have worked with the Victorian and State Electoral Commission for over 15 years.
Though I am not employed on a full time basis I find working in this environment exiting and for filling,.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and relaxed atmosphere
POLLING OFFICER (Former Employee) –  Bayswater VIC12 January 2017
Most recently worked with them in a team to count votes for the local council election. Great place to work, very friendly management and got right down to it straightaway.
Pros
Good onsite parking, close cafe and coffee man
Cons
Not much variety in work tasks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Feeling of doing a valuable service
19th Nov to 28th. Nov Issuing Officer (Former Employee) –  Mt.Martha and Seaford19 May 2016
Flat chat but time goes quickly, and security and efficiency is paramount. Interesting co workers and well trained superiors.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Caring Environment with a focus on Excellence
Specialist Declaration Officer (Former Employee) –  Melbourne7 December 2014
Loved working here! Lots of pressure, deadlines and great accuracy a must! Very rewarding and satisfying work, all-be-it too short a term. Management led by example and were very caring and appreciative of all staff regardless of their position!

I would highly recommend working for the VEC if you are not afraid of hard work, are a quick learner, and are willing to slot into any role to get the job done! - A very fast and furious, hands on job - just loved it!
Pros
Excellent Management
Cons
Long and Unpredictable hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Victorian Electoral Commission. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 16 reviews
510
43
32
20
11

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.1Culture

Victorian Electoral Commission Reviews by Location