Virgin Australia Airlines Employee Reviews in Sydney NSW

Found 9 reviews matching the search See all 61 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has good/bad times
Baggage Handler (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW12 May 2019
on a typical day at the airport of course its busy an never can go to plan as you choose its unstable environment as you don't expect your day to go to plan.

I learnt you have to be always on your fit an looking out for yourself.

management isn't the greatest around the workers an looking out or trying support as there pretty rude an don't help when they would be needed most.
Pros
discounted flights
Cons
short/long
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An excellent work environment
Guest Service Representative (Current Employee) –  New South Wales Sydney9 April 2019
A busy airport with many destinations and passenger types. A fun and interesting job.

Shift rotation roster. 3 early, 3 late, 3 OFF days.

A good balance in duties and responsibilities.

A supportive management system.
Pros
hours, friendships, pay
Cons
fatigue
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great culture
Business Class Long Haul Cabin Crew (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW10 March 2019
Super fun environment with great people and great culture. Meeting different people everyday and the experience of travelling to new destinations makes this a great job
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Culture
Inflight Trainer (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW8 February 2018
Loved the experience.
Great Culture
Great Benefits
Fantastic Work life balance
Great CEO - JB always made time for the crew to come down and ask us what Management could do to better the company.
Pros
Flight discounts and Staff Travel/Work life balance
Cons
Boeing 4 sector days and negative effects on the body eg fatigue and dehydration
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun fast paced environment
Cargo/warehouse Flight operator agent (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW16 January 2018
Provided ongoing service to customers to ensure a JIT cargo was meet with a stringent Moi's
I enjoyed the culture and found looking after the animals to be very rewarding
Pros
Allowed to use your own initiative
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always Changing and Challenging Role
Cabin Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW10 January 2016
A typical day at work can vary when you are on an aeroplane.
Hardest part of the job is doing our usual day with weather disturbances.
Enjoyable part is the crew and day to day activities its an overall fun job.
after 14 years I still learn different things.
I was classed as management in a supervisor role. but worked in the office with Management I have no concerns there.
Pros
Travel
Cons
Disruptions ie stuck in a port from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and busy with travel benefits
Flight Attendant (Former Employee) –  Sydney, NSW23 December 2013
There was no such thing as a typical day at work. My shifts were at all different times in all different cities around Australia.
I learned to work with all types of personalities and worked well in high stress environments within strict time frames.
I had little to do with management except for the daily managers on board the flights. I had good report with my base manager and was nominated for a service excellence award Australia-wide.
The hardest part of the job was definitely the time zone changes and variety in shifts. With good preparation, it was easily managed.
The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting all the crew and passengers which made it a fun working environment.
Pros
Travel
Cons
Alternating shift hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but serious work place with a Table Tennis Table
Pit Crew (Current Employee) –  Mascot, Sydney8 June 2012
Once you have been assigned your team for the shift, you have the option to drive and coordinate over radio between the bagroom and the Whisky (Team Leader) to make sure that the aircraft is turned around efficiently and ontime.
I have learned about airport operations and how one delay anywhere can potentially be catestrophic.
The hardest part of the job would have to be the pay!, However the most enjoyable part of the job is the Staff Travel.
Pros
staff travel benifits
Cons
put in alot of hours for little pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport

See more Virgin Australia Airlines reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Virgin Australia Airlines. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 61 reviews
523
428
36
24
10

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.9Culture

Virgin Australia Airlines Reviews by Location