Voyages Indigenous Tourism Australia Employee Reviews

Found 13 reviews matching the search See all 16 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardly any support from HR
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Yulara NT10 July 2019
Biggest pro is meeting and making lifelong friends! Hardly received any support from HR. Especially as you are relocating to the middle of nowhere. Job pay is very average good to save money unless you drink or smoke. Very small town (2 min drive around it all) very remote.
Pros
People you meet!
Cons
Pay rate is average, hardly any support for staff out of work, remote
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolutely amazing
Waiter and Bartender (Former Employee) –  Yulara NT23 February 2019
Working For voyages is a great opportunity for anyone looking to escape the big city life for a change of lifestyle, working in yulara with the team is an amazing experience.
Pros
Free lunches, good pay
Cons
The heat
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling and challenging
General Manager - Retail Operations (Former Employee) –  Yulara NT3 February 2019
Loved my time with Voyages they were brilliant to work for.
Housing at my level was really comfortable and the job was very challenging, I had a great team.
Pros
Working in an Iconic part of Australia
Cons
remoteness
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible attitude from HR, ZERO support from senior management.
Security Officer and Crowd Controller (Former Employee) –  Ayers Rock Resort.15 December 2018
Sadly, relocated to Ayers Rock Resort from NSW in 2012 as a Security Officer. Having worked in a vast field of the industry upon arriving and seeing what the security control room was like I knew it wasn’t going to be an easy adjustment. They lacked to provide the necessary equipment in order for us to do our role effectively, I was there in winter and we didn’t even have jumpers/jackets given to us where on occasion can easily get into the minuses at night.

The primary role just like any in the industry is to protect people and property though without having management and HR backing us was a real let down.

We were instructed to what we had to do, abiding by NT legislation though when we enforced the rules HR and alike 9/10 revoked the punishment and let everyone get away with murder, (not in the literal sense)

Having the Police in Yulara would make you think it’s going to be reasonably safe working and living there, absolutely not. Back then most residents didn’t call the police in an emergency but instead us as we had a much quicker response time. During my 6 months, I attended, first on the scene violent assaults, domestic abuse cases and brutal sexual assaults. None of this reaches the media either.



I highly doubt things have changed.
Pros
Friends I made
Cons
No support from management, Hr, Security Manager. Everyone hates Security.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
To hot
Hospitality Worker (Former Employee) –  Uluru National Park NT14 October 2018
Pretty hot out at yalara every day theres about 200 flies on your face, everyday it feels like 100 degrees Celsius but good experience overall met good local people
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Progressed from towns electrician to hotels maintenance supervisor
Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Ayers Rock Resort9 October 2018
Like all small towns it had it's problems, but I enjoyed working there.
Worked in Tech services as an electrician and then was promoted to being hotels supervisor for the 5 star hotel as there was 5 hotels there which different star ratings.

Was a great bunch of people and I enjoyed going to the staff pub for a meal and competition darts.

There was plenty to do from going to the gym and pools to events that were organised to do.
Pros
People
Cons
Long way away from the nearest city
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to gain experience
People and Culture Administrator (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW11 July 2018
Good company to gain experience, not to have professional growth. No support from management. Can make good friends. The culture is not very good and lots of turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good woking place
Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Yulara NT19 July 2017
loved working there but just to far from family members and partner.

just always wanted to come home loved work with the people I worked with, and also and friends I made in my traineeship.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
positive workplace
FOOD AND BEVERAGE ATTENDANT (Former Employee) –  Yulara NT20 April 2017
great training and opportunities
relocation available to work at voyages different locations
equal opportunities for gender and race
always on rotation with shifts never the same shift or days off
opportunities to move around and try different sections of the workplace.
Pros
free meal on duty
Cons
sometimes overtime and early mornings
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice workplace and nice people. Management: a bit weird.
Credit Controller (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW24 February 2017
Typical day at work: temporary assignment has been easy for me.
Learned: new operating systems.
Management: her behaviors are still a mystery.
Workplace culture: good.
Hardest: no hardest, plenty of time with no work.
Most enjoyable: when I could learn something.
Pros
nice and central workplace
Cons
manager not talking at all
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place, good team of people
Retail Attendant (Current Employee) –  Yulara, NT24 September 2015
A normal day is serving customers, cleaning register areas, returning stock to shelves, returning baskets.
I have learned better people skills and retail skills.
Co-workers are very nice people, easy to work and get along with.
The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with tourists and other residents
Pros
Good working environment
Cons
Late hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perfect
Human Resources Administrator (Current Employee) –  Yulara, NT13 March 2015
I absolutely love Voyages and Yulara, it's because of this company that I have been able to explore alternative career options.

My manager not only holds so much knowledge of the industry but he allows me to advance myself professionally by providing me with the training I will need to progress further in my career.

The town itself is like a home away from home, everyone is friendly and welcoming at the start and you really make life long friends by living in such a small community.
Pros
Staff lunch, opportunity to find yourself
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 11Report

See more Voyages Indigenous Tourism Australia reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Voyages Indigenous Tourism Australia. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 16 reviews
58
42
33
21
12

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.8Culture

Voyages Indigenous Tourism Australia Reviews by Location