WE Communications Employee Reviews

Showing all 29 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Atmosphere
Operations Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Austin, TX17 June 2019
Great company to work for, I loved that it is woman owned. Benefits package was great. Company made a point to engage employees in activities as a whole and on the smaller office level. Management was always respectful and helpful to me.
Pros
kitchen stocked with snacks and drinks
Cons
location of office-ease of parking/transit
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and varied
ACCOUNT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  London24 September 2018
WE Communications is a large global agency and my large client accounts often benefited from this network. The hardest part of the job was ensuring multiple agencies were aligned in messaging and processes. It was always enjoyable to bring a large Europe-wide product launch together for a client with great results.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture, environment and location
Employee (Current Employee) –  Portland, OR26 August 2018
Great culture, environment and location in downtown Portland, Oregon. Wonderful work life balance at a women founded, owned and managed PR Agency - highly recommended!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but you'll never become leadership unless you're in Seattle or SF
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin, TX30 July 2018
WE Communications was a great place to work for the majority of my time there. The work was fast-paced, and I was surrounded by ambitious, smart people. WE claims to put people first but it just depends what team you're on. For the first 4.5 years I was there, my team was amazing. Leadership challenged us, but they always put people first and emphasized how important it was for teams to bond and work well together. When leadership changed, this dramatically changed. I then felt like I was just a number and not valued as an individual. Also, culturally WE is run out of Northwest and in that first 4.5 years, working out of Texas was never a problem. Felt just as valid and impactful as a colleague in Seattle. Then that changed when leadership changed. Now, if you want to get ahead in the company you HAVE to be in Seattle, and there is far less remote work and remote teams.

Overall, really loved WE Communications. But it was sad to see the company have less emphasis on people as it grew and changed, caring more about revenue and prestige than its people.
Pros
great benefits, interesting clients/work, smart colleagues, global agency
Cons
must be in Seattle to get promotions/company visibility, lower pay than other agencies, more focus on revenue than talent
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people who seem get it in their own way
Senior Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WA12 April 2018
WE is full of smart and talented people who work hard to deliver great work across the board. The benefits are pretty good (though long-tenured folks will tell you they aren't a great as they used to be). And they really do value their people. There are tons of cool learning programs, opportunities to work in international offices and paid volunteer time.

Constant internal battles and inability to stick to a vision for the company means that the agency jumps from one bright shiny thing to another. And it seems like advancing your career is about the number of hours that you work, meaning people (especially those at junior level) are expected to work long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Bellevue, WA7 November 2017
Cool company to work for on paper. Success highly tied to assigned team. Cut throat and caddie. Corporate culture is a blend between tech and advertising.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Project Management Department Lead (Former Employee) –  Bellevue, WA10 October 2017
Great place to work. Fun environment. Opportunity for advancement. Really stuck to the work/life balance. After 7 years of employment they offer a paid 1 month sabbatical.
Pros
Culture, Work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work life balance, good career start
Account Executive, Microsoft Account (Current Employee) –  Bellevue, WA18 September 2017
The people at WE are friends for life, the work culture and benefits are what keep people around. I learned a lot working on their biggest account (Microsoft).
Cons
Compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Data Analyst (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Portland, OR15 September 2017
Good place to work, a little disorganized. The senior staff does not really have a good data plan in place. They use an old model of qualitative analysis.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be thoughtful on the role you choose
Insights and Analytics Strategist (Current Employee) –  Bellevue, WA30 August 2017
Working at WE can be rewarding if placed in the right team and doing the work you love. Unfortunately, every employee is subject to client needs and budgets. Therefore, certain aspects of any person's current role may never come to fruition. In addition to lack of diversity. The company desperately needs diversity in their US offices.
Pros
Community events
Cons
little vacation time. Work Life Balance is non existent.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent agency with growth vision
Account Manager, Social Innovation (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WA19 May 2017
WE operates like most global communications agencies while retaining the autonomy that many of the holding company shops lack.

Strong talent, ambitious leadership, and the opportunity to work on blue-chip clients abound.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work culture with really talented, intelligent leadership
Assistant Account Executive (Current Employee) –  Boston, MA9 May 2017
WE is a great place to start a career. Compensation could be a bit better but there are really cool perks like a good health insurance program, wellness massages twice a year, office happy hours and a summer outing, 401K etc. There can definitely be stressful times but overall the company does put resources in place to facilitate a better work-life balance. There is also a heavy focus on learning and development which is cool.
Pros
Catered lunches, snacks, good health plan, wine on Fridays, flexible work from home options
Cons
high stress, fast paced, low compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  London3 May 2017
Great understanding of the PR industry and what's needed to drive forward the future of brands in communications. Very supportive leadership team. Great work-life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, great pay, great work
Assistant Account Executive (Current Employee) –  Boston, MA12 April 2017
Everyone hear wants you to succeed. Working at agencies in the past, I never felt truly valued or able to voice my ideas or insight into conversation. WE Communications breaks the mold of the typical agency lifestyle. Everyone works in a lateral manner and provide truly smart ideas to conversations.
Pros
Pay, People
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place for career enhancement
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Bangalore, Karnataka24 May 2016
WE Communications has had a very good work culture which helped balance my work and personal life. The learning process at WE has been remarkable. A typical day at work includes work and fun.
It has been a great experience working and learning from WE Communications.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, but the company needs to do more to keep them
Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Portland, Oregon22 January 2014
The company seems to be going downhill and doesn't know how to keep the good people. You see young people start at the company, use it as a learning opportunity, then move on to companies that have more opportunity and better pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people almost make it bearable
Grunt (Former Employee) –  Bellevue, Lake Oswego4 November 2013
Unless you work your way up from the internship program, you're not valued. It is a good first job though you will not receive media relations training as entry-level employees only do coverage reporting.
Pros
Interesting work, big-budget accounts, paid internships, multiple office locations, mobile data and home Internet reimbursment
Cons
Health plan, lack of managemet transparency, uncecessarily competitive/non-supportive team leads, external hires treated as entry-level, if not the "Waggener way" ideas not considered, 80% female, little agency identity outside Microsoft, long hours/poor work|life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment with great people
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bellevue, WA21 October 2013
This company has been great to work for with fun and dynamic people. Very relaxed environment and flexible schedules make it very appealing to work there. Competitive benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 9Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Woman based company with a global outreach
EA and PA to CFO (Former Employee) –  New York, NY24 September 2013
- Provided strategic support to Executive’s direct reports and leadership team
- Independently acted as a liaison between Executive leads, agency resources and outside consultants
- Heavy calendar management
- Organized teleconferences using MOC/LiveMeeting or RoundTable where possible.
- Coordinate travel for Executive both domestically and internationally along with transfers, hotels, visas, etc
- Processed Executive’s complex expense reports
- Created and format documents electronically including letters, memos, trip reports, itineraries, status reports, presentations (PowerPoint), spreadsheets (Excel), scorecards/dashboards and other related documents
- Managed logistics for business planning/strategic planning efforts and workshops/meetings
- Supported Executive in managing contributions to non-profits and funding from the Agency’s general account.
Pros
kind people
Cons
not enough work to challenge me, 80% women
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 14Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay, interesting work, awful culture.
Assistant Account Executive (Former Employee) –  Bellevue, WA16 September 2013
Most accounts are extremely well-funded (a benefit of working for Microsoft), so the work is varied and has a lot of open-endedness to it. There won't ever be a 'boring' day there, unless you find technology as a whole less than exciting.

The culture, on the other hand, is a complete mess. 'Work life balance' is a term everyone throws out there, but no one lives. You're expected to be available to the client 24/7, and 10 of those hours each day are expected to be in office. Heaven help you if you 'put your foot down' and start leaving at 6pm... The usual political BS you see at agency is magnified here, and if you don't play the game well, you'll be out of a job in a year.

The pay is higher than you'd see at other agencies in the area exactly because the leadership knows exactly what it's paying for: 60 hour weeks and absolute devotion to toeing the company line.

Would not recommend.
Pros
High pay relative to the rest of the industry
Cons
Soul-crushing hours, impersonal environment, terrible culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at WE Communications. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 29 reviews
57
410
35
25
12

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.5Culture