WesTrac Employee Reviews

Found 33 reviews matching the search See all 38 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boom and bust
Apprentice (Former Employee) –  Perth WA6 March 2019
My year counted 120+ apprentices, wich made having time with tradies and learning on the job really hard since we were basically given all of the bad jobs and used as slave labor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Position of a Technology Operations Supervisor.
Technology Department Supervisor (Former Employee) –  South Guildford WA9 December 2018
Westrac are a professional, long established and trusted company.
Opportunities to advance or change direction in career within the business.
High pressure position I was in with more work than what we could handle due to aggressive sales approach of the business which meant over committing our resources.
The team or Planners, Schedulers and our Technology team of Supervisors and Technicians always seemed to still make it happen as promised to our customers however much under duress.
I believe the strain of the constant pressure due to over committing our resources weighed heavy on some of the team and this coursed a fairly high attrition rate.
Over all Management was sincere and the people I worked with were absolutely first class in their work and their personalities.
I cannot speak higher of our people especially the Area Manager who was like every bodies father and 100% committed to our team.
The company also has and expects very high safety standards in the industry.
Pros
The people and products.
Cons
Unrealistic sales team commitments and constant pressure.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
one team
Field Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Newman WA29 July 2018
driven
safety focused
top of the group
leaders
brother keeper
focused
relationships
family
one goal
duty of care
are you okay
do it once do it right
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place awesome people to work for
Qualified Boilermaker (Former Employee) –  Guildford WA3 March 2018
enjoyed working with a good group of people who are nothing but professional and are always too help you understand the job and what you need to know to proceed effectively in and around the work place
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, always busy
Logistics Officer (Current Employee) –  Kalgoorlie WA17 June 2017
Great place to work, busy and provides good benefits.
Gives you opportunities to move around regional sites and mine sites around Western Australia.
Lots of opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you are a number only
BOILERMAKER Boddington (Former Employee) –  Boddington WA17 February 2017
worked there for 23yrs. the last 6yrs at Bodd gold. the mine owners wanted to go owner operator so they said see you later Westrac then they said goodbye to me. no job offers nothing. i wouldn't recommend Westrac to anyone.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Westrac has been a great company
Heavy Diesel Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Newman WA11 July 2016
Over the past 5 years I have been doing fly in fly out for BHP iron ore as a heavy vehicle mechanic through Westrac. Before that I was primarily positioned in Perth while I was completing my apprenticeship. In that time I’ve gained knowledge and skills to help me become an excellent worker. I am a young energetic person and I believe I would be a very helpful member to any team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Plant Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Mt Thorley NSW2 June 2016
best employment of my life.
the men and women I worked with in my 7+ years in the employ of westrac were among the best and brightest I have ever known.
the training, advancement and respect shown me within the organisation were inspiring and unforgettable.

this is the employer of choice in my opinion and I am sorry I ever left there employ.

the experience and qualities that were emplaced within my working career are with me today.
Pros
great pay, conditions and advancment opertunitys.
Cons
challenging and demanding working environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well equipped ,Nice place to work & Good camp.
Mobile plant mechanic (Former Employee) –  New Crest - Telfer, Gold Mine26 April 2016
The day working other than drills is a typical working day for me.
I learnt lot about haul trucks,Wheel loader,Diggers,Gradres,Dozers etc.

Management is safety concerned and very co operative. Organised lots of skill upgrades for their employees.

Most of the Co workers supportive and encouraging & Sharing knowledge ,Team work.

The hardest part i found is that organising right parts for the job.

Major trouble shooting on hydraulic and pneumatic systems.
Pros
Get together, Bbq, Sports.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great employer not enough work
Mechanical tradesman Rebuilds (Current Employee) –  Tomago NSW29 February 2016
Employer has a very structured workplace with good flow of work and good online support for the companies various products
Not enough work for casual employees
Management is different form workshop to workshop
Pros
good roster
Cons
Not enough work for casuals
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Credit Clerk Officer / Admin Officer (Former Employee) –  Guildford WA19 January 2016
when I first started at WesTrac my manager was great to work for.
I was left to work alone or as a member of the team as was seen fit by the manager
The entire staff in the credit department were great and we all worked well as a team and we would socialise when we had a chance
Pros
enjoyed my job
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of job opportunities at Westrac
Planner Scheduler (Former Employee) –  South Guildford WA21 November 2015
Lots of job opportunities at Westrac.
I started 20yrs ago as a boilermaker/welder and did the fly in fly out, then I was based in Welshpool fabricating trays, then Guildford when I moved into the Planning and Scheduling department. Learnt lots of skills along the way.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, stressful, un rewarding, poor morale
Parts Sales Coordinator/Interpreter & Expeditor (Current Employee) –  South Guildford WA5 November 2015
Do a lot of work for little reward. Have many varied roles and responsibilities but my personal achievements aren't recognised. Very male dominated industry so difficult to progress further with my career even though I have the training and skill set.
Pros
Free parking
Cons
Low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
delivering to customers demands
Fitter/ Contracting (Former Employee) –  beresfield newcastle area31 May 2015
12 hour days
short time frames
cannot be complacent
working as a team
short turn arounds
having parts to complete job
teaching personal
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 10Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Technical Trainer (Former Employee) –  Sydney and Newcastle19 April 2015
Very Good and highly professional

Westrac is the Main Cat Dealership in Australia

The Management was good and proffessional

My work mates were very friendly

Very good training for all workers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and edicational experiance
labourer/ trade assistant (Former Employee) –  Singleton, NSW2 April 2015
A typical day and night at Westrac Mount Thorley was based on servicing and reluging bull dozer tracks and shoes anywhere from Cat D11bull dozers to D9 bull dozers.

This trade assistant job was a fun and great learning experience I had the pleasure to do straight out of school, I learnt how to operate machinery from a 100T brake press to an overhead Crain, I learnt how to work in the mining industry with a great mining team.

The management and the co workers at Westrac Mount Thorley where great in getting you up to speed in the safety and procedures of the site.

the hardest part of what I did was the long hours and the heat of the day.

The most enjoyable part working at Westrac was the friendships and experience I made whilst I was there.
Pros
great pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
ware house assistant (Former Employee) –  australia3 March 2015
friedly work staff and mangement , provide you assistance with anything and everything, decent woking hours. good money
Pros
good food
Cons
not sure
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok job
PLANT MECHANIC (Former Employee) –  Singleton, NSW30 November 2014
OK job, . Pay was ok. Work mates were Great .. Night work was the hardest part of the job. Best part of the job was learning more about Machines. Management was unfair.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Football and music reading
Diesel and Heavy Duty Mechanic (Current Employee) –  perth17 July 2014
I long for to work for the company as it is the most number one Safety mining I have ever seen and above all Team work Fantastic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 8Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
Heavy Diesel Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Guildford, WA17 June 2014
vgaswufgasdfgalkdhlkhbvdfb oihgbvlahdbvldibviudv sloifhzlifhlkdfhglkdfvbljfhvzdfbvlkjzxbvkzdlbv
Pros
.
Cons
.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at WesTrac. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 38 reviews
513
413
38
23
11

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture