Woolworths Supermarket Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work/life balance
Service Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Mossman QLD8 October 2018
Great work/life balance. easy to get along with staff and management. Opportunities to advance within company are good if you work hard and show promise and commitment.
Pros
work/life balance
Cons
team working with varies
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy going to work at Woolworths Underwood as the atmosphere is pleasant to work in. We all work as a team even the manager, every one feels equal.
Role - Retail Assistant (Current Employee) –  Underwood QLD20 September 2018
I enjoy going to work at Woolworths Underwood as the atmosphere is pleasant to work in. We all work as a team even the manager, every one feels equal. I know when I go to work I will have a laugh as the staff are very friendly and enjoyable to work with.
Pros
You feel like a big family
Cons
Working at nights
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and welcoming workplace
Shelving, Packing products (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW18 September 2018
I learned about Was the Brest way to stock goods on the shelves. The workplace culture was diverce and the other employees were very nice and welcoming. I think the hardest part of the job was standing up the whole time, other than that the job was manageable.
Cons
Standing up the whole time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Place Enviroment
Produce Team Member (Current Employee) –  Matraville NSW17 September 2018
To many under skilled individuals with no leadership Qualities as far as employment, the only thing that really seems to matter within this company is the bottom line and they put no time in to maintaining good quality personnel. there is a very high turn over culture of employees who are either passing through on the way to something else. I found working for Woolworths unconhesive.
Pros
yay! You've got a job
Cons
just a job filler whilst on the way to somewhere else!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexable
Cashier (Casual) (Former Employee) –  Victoria Point QLD12 September 2018
Working at Woolworths gives many people the opportunity to be flexible in their hours and days. This is very important to Uni and school students, this flexibility lets students work and study and still have a social life as they can pick their hours and days.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work in a team
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW11 September 2018
If your keen to work in a team environment Woolies is great. The work timeframes can be tough, but a strong sense of achievement when tasks are complete and the store is well presented.
Pros
great people
Cons
long hours / workload
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Woolworths is amazing
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Wollongong NSW9 September 2018
This was very easy to use Woolworths was a great place to meet you always have a great day because the people at Woolworths are so kind caring nice..
I loved working at woolworths
Pros
I would like long hour's
Cons
I like long hour's
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
treated horribly
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Gympie QLD6 September 2018
working at woolworths south was interesting, with pros like having 15 mins tea breaks and half and hour/1hour breaks which was great but there is more cons then pros. this includes being treated horribly constantly if you are not in like a ‘click’ of the managers golden circle. all the managers take advantage of smoke breaks, i believe something should be sorted out because their smoke breaks isn’t included in their actual breaks. for example if it gets really busy the manager isn’t even there to help because they are their ‘smoke break’ for who knows how long 10-50 mins.
Pros
breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good job.
Deli assistant (Former Employee) –  Noosa QLD3 September 2018
This review isn't working it keeps saying there is innoproparate language and there isn't im very sorry but i cant fill this out properly as it will not let me.
Pros
Lunch was an hour
Cons
the way it ended
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Night Filling Experience - Woolworths
Night Filler (Current Employee) –  Top Ryde NSW2 September 2018
At this job, I was taught well on how to stock the shelves. It was an easy job, but if you were rostered for a certain amount of hours you're pushed to finish a certain section within that time frame.
Pros
Good pay & easy
Cons
Rushed job, some managers aren't great team players.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report

Want to know more about Woolworths Supermarket?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for your first job but not for long term
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Queensland1 September 2018
Working here at the first year was great, talking to the customers was fun until it became a mindless job where you get a handful of rude customers who put their anger and stress out on you. Even if you are the kindest and friendlist cashier, you will still get those people who get angry at you so don't expect much.

Management is decent, they tend to over work certain people and ask you to stay back for longer, so be careful you're not working too many shifts because it can become stressful. Roster changes are abrupt and I have had my shifts changed so many times without being informed at all. Management was decent, pay is great!

Standing 8 hours in a tiny as station is VERY debilitating, especially if you aren't lifting or bending down properly to carry things. ALWAYS take your time to ensure you are doing your job safely. You WILL regret it in the long run if you don't.

All in all, it's a GREAT job for young people who want to gain customer service skills and gain confidence in communicating. But anything long term can have an affect on your physical and mental health. So be smart :)
Pros
Free lunch, friendly staff
Cons
Long hours, people cancel shifts a lot, abrupt roster changes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, harse, rude
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Plainland QLD30 August 2018
a lot of the team members are rude to other team members, hours reduced a lot if you wouldn't work a shift you were given. there wasn't enough lockers for all the staff.
Pros
15 minute tea breaks
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Churchill VIC30 August 2018
A typical day at Woolworths involves interacting with customers frequently, and providing excellent customer service. when not serving customers there are a plethora of jobs that also need doing such at stock replenishment and face checking.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Simple job for decent salary and flexible hours
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW29 August 2018
Simple engagement in job. Difficult management team that are not very understanding at time. Gain customer service and cash handling skills. Make new friends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company who look after their staff well
Bakery Assistant (Former Employee) –  Maddington WA29 August 2018
Woolworths is a very good place to work. Lots of variety areas to choose from and good chance for promotion if wanted.
Also in bakehouse there was opportunity for extra hours on occasions which was nice if looking for extra money
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD27 August 2018
Woolworths is a very fast paced environment majority of the time and how they take their time to train you in every aspect is what makes it such a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC24 August 2018
it is a grate place to work they treat everyone well and the same you have lots of laughs and giggles and it has to be one of the greatest places to work at
Pros
free breakfest and lunch
Cons
really good hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work, while studying or at school
Team member- Deli (Current Employee) –  Pakenham VIC24 August 2018
Working at Woolworth's you will learn a great new set of skills, whilst being challenged. This is a great first job- you will meet new people and learn to think on your feet.
Pros
Friends, the skills learnt
Cons
Can be long hours, low wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team work
Team Member - Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Wagga northWagga Wagga NSW23 August 2018
Woolies was a great place to work and make lots of friends. The training programs and advancements are there if that’s what you want lots of variety in the workplace
Pros
Wages were good
Cons
Work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall enjoyed working there.
Crew member (Former Employee) –  Bass Hill NSW23 August 2018
I would have to come in to work with a white top and black pants, after that workers would spread out and do what the manager assigned us to do, such as stacking, fixing shelves, going to the back and crushing boxes. Honestly didn’t learn much in a week that I didn’t already know. I enjoyed not staying in one spot for too long. Nothing about the job was hard.
Pros
Good environment
Cons
Not enough break time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Woolworths Supermarket. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 1,178 reviews
5390
4401
3254
285
148

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture