XL Catlin Employee Reviews

Showing all 93 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning phase
DOcumentum Admin (Current Employee) –  Gurgaon, Haryana2 March 2017
Work Culture at TCS with XL Catlin client was challenging and enjoyable.
I plyed the role of a DOcumentum Admin specialist and was supporting around 100 Servers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Corporate Social Responsibility Coordinator (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London20 February 2017
I enjoy working in XL Catlin. they offer great benefits to colleagues and the culture is great.

As a coordinator, my day to day job entails communicating with UK NGOs and partners. Also processing matching gifts and funds globally.
Pros
Lunch allowance provided
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
XL Catlin - A company to grow with
VP & Sr Mngr BCM Program Americas and Bermuda (Former Employee) –  Hartford, CT8 February 2017
I had the great honor to work with this company for 5 and 1/2 years in a position that enabled me to grow in my area of professional interest and personally as a leader. The really encourages collaboration, open sharing of ideas and communication. You hear this from other companies, but this one really has it. If you find a good opportunity and there is a solid fit, I cannot stress the value of applying. This company has a bright future in one of the most challening business environments ever. innovation, trust, execution and compassion are the hallmark of the leadership team and the organization.
Pros
Communications, compassion, training, leadership, listening and of course comp
Cons
Complex organization that really can be difficult to navigate
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture change
Executive Assistant (Current Employee) –  Hartford, CT7 February 2017
Was a great company as XL but has changeD since becoming XLCatlin; all about their bottom line with limited regard to individual employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sophisticated, innovative company
Actuarial Analyst (Current Employee) –  Stamford, CT4 February 2017
—Fantastic benefits (great 401(k), in particular)
—Comftorable, modern work environments
—Challenging work
—Global footprint
—Respected brand name

However, can be easy to get stuck in a dead-end position with no growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wspaniała atmosfera
Syndicate Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Wrocław, dolnośląskie3 January 2017
Firma o bardzo wysokiej kultorze organizacyjnej, dająca duże możliwości rozwoju osobistego.
Pros
Dodatkowe pieniądze na lunch
Cons
Brak ścieżek kariery
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Senior Consultant - Reinsurance Accounting (Former Employee) –  India19 December 2016
Great Company with excellent growth and learning opportunities. It invests in its employees. Excellent HR policies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working with my colleagues and received full support of my company
Global Head of Claims Continuous Improvement (Former Employee) –  Scottsdale, AZ16 December 2016
Built better quality program than ever before. I gained valuable experience in process through collaboration with colleagues to customize the quality program for various business lines and locations to secure buy-in and acceptance.
Pros
Great People and Company was supportive of my program.
Cons
Many changes following XL Group's acquisition of Catlin
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to initiate a career
Process Specialist (Current Employee) –  Gurgaon, Haryana9 December 2016
The work environment is open. There is quite transparency at all level.Even new people are given the chance to have a say in decision making and overall activities of the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with great colleagues
Property Claims Specialist (Current Employee) –  New York, NY11 November 2016
- Standard hours with availability to work remotely
- Great management with years of experience
- Office culture can be more interactive but co-workers are all friendly
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable, hard working atmosphere
Internship (Former Employee) –  London25 October 2016
Throughout my time at Catlin, I gained many valuable skills. I was able to work with actuaries as well as brokers and underwriters. This really gave me a large insight into how the insurance industry functions on a day to day basis. I felt as though there was no problem that wasn't met with full enthusiasm from my work colleagues, something I was pleasantly surprised about. I noticed that I was given an excellent opportunity to converse with individuals from all walks of life, which was my most enjoyable part of the job.
Pros
Lunch was commissioned.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job work-life balance
HR Finance/Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Stamford, CT18 October 2016
I enjoyed working at XL Catlin.
In a course of almost 6 years I've learned a lot about HR team, its polocies and procedures, as well as Corporate Finance.

Left due to a long commute.
Pros
Great people
Cons
A bit tought time through acquisition
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good work place
Insurance Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York City15 September 2016
I feel that this is one of the best place that I have ever worked.
You get lots of job training and flexibility to add new ideas to your
current position. Very good Lunch and learn programs. and a balance work load.
Pros
free coffee and Jym discounts
Cons
out sourcing jobs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good local colleagues
Operation Assistant (Former Employee) –  Raffles14 September 2016
Pro:
- Helpful local colleagues who are willing to go the extra mile to help new comers

Con:
- Penny wise, pound foolish. Management is emphasizing on cost cutting and yet they are flying the top managment across offices
- Poor job prospect. Very few locals beyond executive level
- Service level of India Shared Services have lots of room to improve
- Management is still trying to find a clear direction to move towards
Pros
Good work environment
Cons
Will take some time to integrate the acquisition
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Salary and Shift Timing
Senior Process Specialist (Current Employee) –  Bangalore, Karnataka23 August 2016
- About Managing work in time
- Learned a lot in Excel, Powerpoint presentations and working Tools
- Extended time for process betterment
- Management and Team mates are not as cordinating
- Enjoyed Team outings, gatherings
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Senior Analyst (Current Employee) –  New Delhi, Delhi15 August 2016
Good place to work. I am a part of reporting team. As part of the team I was involved in reporting Premium numbers to internal stakeholders.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy/non stop but learning different aspects of the job in a fun environment
Facilities Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NY13 July 2016
* met with various vendors for multiple projects.
*greet and meet clients
*learned how to communicate well with others and satisfy their needs.
*worked with various event planners for various corporate events.
*great and enthusiastic and professional relationships with all co-workers.
*have always considered myself a hard worker and a perfectionist.
*Assisted the Director of Facilities will all required projects, from accounting to maintenance, event planning and job recruitment.
Pros
Net worked and advanced within the company.
Cons
some say i was too much of a hard worker.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Corporate Development Intern (Current Employee) –  Stamford, CT8 July 2016
Great workplace and great team depending on your function. I had an awesome time with my team, and glad to have such an experience. Would definitely recommend applying here, as they have completed a huge turnaround with Catlin.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Organisation with good culture
Sr Specialist-Investments (Current Employee) –  Gurgaon, Haryana18 April 2016
1) Undertaken lots of project related initiatives by myself.
2) Supported well during cruch time & tight deadlines
3) Good work life balance
4) Co-workers are supportive enough.
Pros
Nice culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience
Vice President, Global Head of Talent Acquisition (Current Employee) –  Stamford, CT7 March 2016
Interesting people and responsibilities. Excellent global opportunities and wonderful colleagues. Busy environment, ever changing and challenging work. Great location.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at XL Catlin. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 93 reviews
531
440
314
25
13

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
4.1Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture