Yellow Cab Company Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awsome company
HR truck driver (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD10 April 2018
It was great opputunity working with yellow cabs , great and flexible pay rates ,lovely customers to deal with with smile on my face , always welcome
Pros
pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly enviornment and lots of things to learn
Driver (Former Employee) –  Woolloongabba QLD9 January 2018
the environment was very positive and friendly. co workers very co operative. have learned a lot. paid well and on time. discount for employees . very hygienic workplace
Pros
discounted food
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its very good company for work
Cab Driver (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD11 July 2017
good to work enhance your communication skill, best opportunity to earn good income, you have chance to explore new area around the city and a chance to meet different type of personalities.
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Taxi Driver (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD16 June 2017
Very nice working environment
Supportive staff
Nice wages
Learned a lot of new things working there
Flexible working with shifts
Made a lot of new friends
Pros
Free tea, coffe
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job to have for the right type of person
Cab Driver (Current Employee) –  Rockhampton QLD15 January 2017
A typical night shift on weekends involves a 12 hour shift for very little return.
You need to be very open minded and not easily offended. I personally love cab driving for the variety of people that I meet. I also love being available to help people, especially the younger ones. It's very satisfying knowing that I have helped a young person in times of distress.
The hardest part of the job is coping with somebody who has had their drink spiked.
It would be my ideal job if the bottom hadn't fallen out of the industry.
The biggest lesson that I have learned through the job is that the world is full of so many different types of weird and wonderful people.
Pros
Meeting and helping people, flexible shifts, freedom
Cons
Long hours, below minimum wage, have to pay your own taxes and super
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
driver
Taxi Driver (Former Employee) –  Driver NT16 December 2016
had fun met lots of people worked days I wanted and got on well with owners and taxi base and he was helpful if you needed any help and never had problems with any body
Pros
met good people
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours limited income
Taxi Driver (Former Employee) –  Driver15 November 2016
Would not recommend to anyone as I feel this is a job for semi retired or part time employment only.Twelve hour days with a lot of down time.Drivers are working against each other to improve personal income.
Pros
meeting new people
Cons
long hours low income
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extra cash on weekends
Taxi Driver (Former Employee) –  Toowoomba QLD1 November 2016
I did Taxi driving for 5 months before moving into a Security role running the Taxi Rank. I enjoyed both jobs and got to meet a lot of interesting people.
Pros
Every customer has a story
Cons
the pay is only commision based and you have to do your own tax.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A pretty viscious industry at times with competition and such.
Taxi Driver (Former Employee) –  Rockhampton19 October 2016
A great job for flexibility and work/life balance. I worked for really good, honest, and fair owners who made the job a treat.
Pros
great flexibility
Cons
long hours for little in return
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company with sound work practices good pay and conditions and friendly staff
mini bus driver (Current Employee) –  adelaide30 July 2016
A typical day at the moment is driving a mini bus and doing the morning and afternoon school run picking up 7 primary school children from their homes to school and return in the afternoon
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant people to work with and for
Maxi Taxi Driver (Former Employee) –  Toowoomba17 September 2015
Management contacted drivers fairly regularly to see how they were going if they hadn't heard from you for a while ie. days not minutes. The management made it easy to want to turn up for work. We were one big happy family, no one really talked bad of anyone else.
Pros
you can go anywhere you like.
Cons
long hours/little pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours for a standard pay
Driver (Former Employee) –  Brisbane, QLD18 August 2015
On a normal day, begin work at 4pm, drive people around. Refuel vehicle at 3:30am. Clean car do paperwork, pass car to next driver finish at 4:00.
Cons
standard shift - 12hrs; longer shift -16hrs
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
taxi driver all upto driver to make his own money very longers hours
Taxi Driver (Former Employee) –  adelaide3 August 2015
Yellows computer system is always getting changed and having errors
can spend hours waiting for a job
long hours.
not much money
to many cabs not enough work
Pros
great to meet people, own boss
Cons
commison, average $9 hr, gst, to much competition
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment to work in but enjoyable
Call Centre Representative (Former Employee) –  Buranda24 November 2014
Was a great place to work and pay rate at the time was great, the hours were not great but that was one of the cons for being in the industry that never slept. I enjoyed the diverse range of people that I dealt with on the phone and how their requests and needs were constantly different.
Pros
Above award pay
Cons
24/7 roster
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job, but increasing expenses which are unjustified
Taxi lessee/owner (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD14 July 2014
I always loved driving a taxi. The rapport I have had with thousands of passengers over many years has been exceptional. I am also good at running the cab. However, some things have occured which are a huge deterrent. Since 2008, the Taxi Industry has fallen, through no fault of mine. The annual CTP/Registration of a Taxi is ridiculously expensive. It has be come close to unaffordable. The lease fees for my taxi license are automatically increased every year. This is in spite of a shrunken market. Because of these imbalances, I wish to be in a position where I do not have to renew my next taxi Lease. I am an extremely capable person, but are at the mercy of powers greater than myself. Please assist, as I would leave no employer with any regrets.
Pros
Spare time while drivers worked for me
Cons
Getting woken up in the middle of the night, expensive registration of cabs, lease fee increases every year
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Driving cab is fun:)
Cab Driver (Former Employee) –  Melbourne, VIC29 April 2014
I believe when your interest becomes your job you live your life everyday!
I'm a fun loving person, always loves being on the move, meeting new people, and visiting different places so I feel that driving cab is exactly my cup of tea.
Taxi driving helps you learning courtesy, discipline, patience, assistance, and self control.
Working long hours may be quite hectic sometimes but it's totally fine as long as you earn extra money:)

Cheers
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working and less productive
DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Brisbane, QLD27 March 2014
Some time is very hard to tackle with drunk people.
I learned how to handle hostile situations during job
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Driver (Current Employee) –  Brisbane, QLD25 March 2014
I found that driving a cab was very diverse with the different people we transported from all walks of life
Pros
nil
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trouble shooting electronics on a daily basis
Auto electical and Security Camera Technician (Current Employee) –  Brisbane, QLD14 March 2014
Good hours, great teamates, Installation of new (MTData) computer and dispatch equipment
·Security Camera Installation, (Certified Security Licence).
·Auto electronics work – general.



mmm, need new challenge.
Pros
input into R&D, cold beer on a Friday after work.
Cons
Hot working enviro, vehicle fumes, asbestos on site.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
have written everything can think of just read it.
Taxi Driver (Current Employee) –  Driver, Brisbane city & suburbs6 December 2013
have always enjoyed driving, so when I arrived in Australia from
New Zealand and found a taxi driving job available, I went for it.
Drove for a private owner for the first 7yrs, then leased a licence
bought my own car which I successfully ran for 3.5yrs, the widow
of the man I leased the licence from got a good offer on the licence
and sold it, there were no licences available to lease to replace that
one, so Yellow Cabs bought my car paying off the debt across it in
the process, and have been driving for commission ever since.
Am now 59yrs old have no saving or super, so need a new job that
will give me some kind of financial future.
Pros
Your selfemployed and choose your work days, and the owner you drive for.
Cons
You drive 12hr shifts, sometimes for only 4.95per hr. you risk getting assaulted, or even killed, So low pay, and the general public to deal with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 7Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Yellow Cab Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 494 reviews
5135
4122
3133
252
152

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
2.7Salary/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.1Culture