Yooralla

Yooralla Employee Reviews

Found 19 reviews matching the search See all 20 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to with great team
Disability Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Melbourne Northern Suburbs VIC26 March 2019
Great team to work with and the company have put in place many great thing to help the worker and the client , and a lot of training in place regardless of your knowledge.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would never work for Yooralla again
Disability Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Melbourne Eastern Suburbs VIC16 September 2018
Rampart bullying occurs, the parents of clients bully the support workers to an excess and management do nothing about it and dont support the workers
Pros
It was a pro when my shift finished
Cons
The organisation culture is toxic
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yoralla Work Placement student
Student Placement (Former Employee) –  flinders st25 June 2018
Great place to work if you enjoy assisting and empowering people with disabilities, all work collegues know their job and we work well together. On site the main managment is supportive but unfortionatly my manager was not so much and was discouraging to work there due to work politics. I got happy from knowing that i have done the best i could possible for the people with disabilities and clients. I had a client write me a letter telling me i changed her life for the positive.
Pros
work with beautiful clients
Cons
micro manager and work politics had no flexibility
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"heart of gold" work team environment
Customer service and sales (Former Employee) –  Benalla VIC21 December 2017
loved working here - hands down the best team and work environment I've had the pleasure to be apart of.
all the regulars that work there are open minded and very welcoming. I was comfortable here yet busy.
Pros
flexible and well paced
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team work
Disability Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Noble Park VIC3 September 2017
Only did 120 hours of work placement, enjoyed every bit of my working with disabled people. Great team work, and good management. All staff are very supportive and kind.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
DSW (Former Employee) –  Ferntree Gully VIC28 August 2017
great place to work at
professional
fun
great staff
great rates
lots of opportunities to develop your exixting skills further
plenty of work to suit all hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization and people
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Drouin VIC31 May 2017
My experience at Yooralla was very rewarding with supporting the clients through various programs to encourage greater independence and achieve their goals.
Pros
location
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive environment that fosters growth!
Leisure Access Worker (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC30 January 2017
Yooralla has such a great work environment with great employees. I have always felt able to grow and be supported in using my skills to do well at my job.
Pros
Being out doing recreational activities
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a good place to begin the carrier.
Disability Support Worker (Current Employee) –  South Melbourne VIC16 January 2017
I learnt more on complex behaviour and how handle them in the community.
Understand the different communication style.
Co-workers are very friendly and easy to work as a team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
as a disability worker
Disability Support Worker, Leisure Access Worker (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC29 January 2016
No one day is the same. you could be working in the north and then the south. at the end of the day you know you have made a difference in someone's life. that's the best part.
Pros
meet different people
Cons
nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and satifying job.
Disablity services worker (Current Employee) –  Bairnsdale, VIC7 November 2015
Great place to work, all work collegues know their job and we work well together. On site managment is very supportive.
Every day presents new challenges as would be expected of working with people with disablilites.
I get my sadisfaction from knowing that i have done the best i can possible for the people i care for.
Pros
20 minute drive from home
Cons
long hours on a 24hour shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible work hours
Disability Support Officer (Former Employee) –  Melbourne7 September 2015
A typical day at work

going to client's place and providing service as directed by mangement that included;
1. Assisting client at home with personal care, medication, cooking light meals,
2. Taking clients to doctors, shopping or intertment venues e.g. cinema, bowling,

I learned that everybody need to enjoy life and to be respected.

Communication with my co-workers was very important in order to provide consistant best care for our clients.

The hardest part of the job;
Sometime it was very emotional especially when dealling with clients with severe dissabilities and pains.

The most enjoyable part of the job
seeing a smile on client's face.
Pros
flexiable work hours
Cons
dealing with difficult client or their carers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Same jobs day after day. Bullying management. Low pay, long hours, tedious duties.
Disability support worker. (Former Employee) –  Western suburbs Melbourne.4 September 2015
Worked for them for over 10 years, experienced a culture of bullying by management. Casual workers were frowned upon. A culture of smokers verses non smokers.
Pros
Making clients happy.
Cons
Low pay, long hours. Incompetent pay office.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ib am in a casual role and do two shifts with Yooralla. Two as Activity Support worker
DISABILITY ACTIVITIES OFFICER (Current Employee) –  Berwick and Morwell17 December 2014
One shift is every two weeks ,one on one with a Down Syndrome client.
The other shift is with three men whom I take Bowling every 2 weeks.
Pros
mileage from using own vehicle
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working as a team
Permanent employee (Current Employee) –  brookfield melbourne31 January 2014
picking clients up from day services taking them to there residential home in Brookfield , doing personal care feeding medication and taking them to bed
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working with the physio-therapist and the dis-abled clients
Equipment Development Officer (Former Employee) –  Two schools in Melbourne15 December 2013
Work sheets with instruction on what was required to repair, modify or manufacture
Learnt the intricate equipment for the dis-able clients and the purpose
Management had been there for a long time and had people they trusted. I didn't appreciate management trying to get me to work under an unqualified contract cleaner.
Co-worker eager for quality work and the safety of the clients
The hardest part of the job was been interrupted by the cleaner.
The most enjoyable part was working with the Physio-Therapist and the clients
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Suppotive and encouraging Staff
Disability Support Worker (Current Employee) –  Melbourne20 March 2013
A typical day is assisting the clients with daily activities such as Meal assistance and toileting. Taking them out into the community and teaching them to make a meaningful contribution. The management is very supportive and willing to listen to their staff and suggestions. My co-workers are also friendly and supportive. The hardest part of the job is understanding what some of the clients are trying to say. The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing the smile on the clients faces when I have helped them either make a decision or a contribution to the community.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work!
Support Worker (Former Employee) –  Melbourne, Australia12 December 2012
Mostly relaxed at times. Hard working co-workers.

The hardest part of the job is managing complex and challenging behaviours.

The most enjoyable part of the job is knowing the clients
Pros
free lunches
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report

See more Yooralla reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Yooralla. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 20 reviews
56
48
34
21
11

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.7Culture